We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kimpton Goodland

Show Prices
#6 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kimpton Goodland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Goodland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 318: English reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017

While I was checking in, my husband walked around the lobby, came back to me and said "can we live here?" We loved this place, even with some flaws. They offered us local beer on arrival, and had this great "holiday survival kit" in our room - free of charge. The whole place has a great vibe and we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Melissa A, Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and we couldn't agree more the vibe is great. We will be sure to share your comments with the Outpost management team to ensure all meals are great. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We were in Santa Barbara for work and needed a place to sleep. I saw people posting pictures of this cute new hotel in Santa Barbara and decided to give it a try. I'm a dummy and didn't check the trip advisor hotel reviews in Goleta for this place before we went. Yes it looks fun from the outside. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jsilverheart77
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Jsilverheart77, Thank you for the review from your recent visit to Goodland and sorry to hear how the stay went. We will be sure to share your comments with our department heads to make corrections. Rest assured we will get these items corrected and hope to see you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 December 2016

The Goodland is really a motel. The rooms face unto an outside passageway. You must pull down the blinds to achieve any privacy. Some of the rooms have an updated shower, others don't; in those that do, when you turn on the shower, you will get wet due to the fixed glass half-wall. Funky Crosley vinyl record player in some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarshBruce
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

MarshBruce, Thank you for the review from your recent stay and sorry to hear of the issues you had. To answer your question in regards to the heating units we have not had an issues with the heating units. However we have increased our inspections of the units to ensure guest comfort in the rooms. We are happy to see...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

If a Howard Johnson's had a child with a Motel 6 and their kid turned out to be a hipster... The Good land is like a place that time forgot. The cleaning crew also forgot. Dusty, insecty, fungus on the bathroom ceiling, lime on the showerhead, and the added benefit of being to be able to hear your neighbors, make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neel M
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Neel M, Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland. Well we like to think we are a throwback to a more laid back time, cleanliness is still a prime focus. We will be sure to share your comments with our housekeeping department as what you described is well below the Kimpton standards. Rest assured we...

Simi Valley
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Easy freeway access. Plenty of parking, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The court yard rooms are the best. Otherwise you look out at the parking lot. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There is a pool but sadly no spa. The rooms are very quiet because the walls are concrete block. And you get a nice little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Staythurstymyfriends
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Staythurstymyfriends, Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland and we will be sure to share your comments with the team. Sorry to hear that the resort fee was not disclosed at the time of booking as it is posted on the website and displayed on third party sites. However we will be sure to double...

Lake Forest, California
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We rented a suite at the Goodland over the holiday weekend and were disappointed. We love staying at funky hotels, such as this Ace in Palm Springs, but the Goodland did not live up to expectations. Many of the their remodeling seems to have been done haphazardly when they were trying to change this motel into a hipster paradise. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pkashinsky
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

pkashinsky, Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland and sorry to hear about your stay. We will be sure to have our engineering team take a look at the heating unit in the room and get that repaired. Please feel free to contact me by the email address below or phone as we would love...

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We paid almost 275$ per night but disappointed !! This hotel should not be worth more than 150$ per night 25$ for "resort fee" - what resort ? All they have is a swimming pool with no hot tub even. The rooms are just a hyped up best western and they look so cheap from the outside. The neighborhood is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReluctantReviewer1
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

ReluctantReviewer1, Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland and we will be sure to share your kind words with the team. As for the decor of the hotel we receive numerous compliments about the style of the hotel however we understand that the design is not for everyone. Sorry to hear you didn't feel safe...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

I planned a trip along the California Coast with my girlfriend and dog. I've always liked staying at Kimpton's and decided to give the Goodland a try and was not disappointed. The location right off Highway 101 was very easy to find and made the rest of the Santa Barbara Coast easily accessible. We stayed 3 nights, originally booked 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WNY1976
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

WNY1976, Thank you for the review from your recent stay and we couldn't agree more the hotel is hip. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Goodland, really soon. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Lots to love about the vibe here, but as other reviews point out, at the end of the day this is any other roadside motel with lipstick and a better attitude. Pluses - friendly service, good food and nice outdoor spaces. Minuses - Sleep was impossible as the massive gap between our door and the frame kept the noise flowing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkbeecher
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

jkbeecher, Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland and we agree the vibe is great. We will be sure to share your comments with our team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Anaheim, California
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I've read all the bad reviews and I feel that they are talking about a different hotel. I've stayed at Kimpton Goodland for 2 nights with my husband and we LOVED it! This place is really beautiful and unique. I love how they decorated, it's so tasteful. The lobby has a beautiful fireplace, the restaurant is super nice and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana D
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Tatiana D, Thank you for the wonderful review from your recent stay we will be sure to share with the team. We look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
11.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
970 reviews
12.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,239 reviews
12.4 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
512 reviews
11.5 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,180 reviews
16.7 km away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kimpton Goodland Hotel is a boutique surf hotel in Santa Barbara's sister city Goleta. This new beach chic hot spot features an outdoor pool, on-site spa, fitness center offering daily classes, restaurant and lobby bar. Brand new fresh carpet and wood flooring. Evenings are filled with live music, movie nights in the courtyard and more entertainment. The Goodland is conveniently located near UCSB, Goleta's business district and downtown Santa Barbara. It's all good at the Goodland: Book Now. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kimpton Goodland

Address: 5650 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117 (Formerly The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Price Range: $263 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Goodland 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Goodland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara - Goleta Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Goleta
#6 Business Hotel in Goleta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kimpton Goodland staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kimpton Goodland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request upstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles 525stormies, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the courtyard are probably quieter than on the outside of the bldg., but also more expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles debbiemU9343MJ, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Poolside patio is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles iancarney2006, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't Come On A Cold Day”
 of 5 bubbles MarshBruce, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Court yard view is best. Otherwise you look at a parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles Staythurstymyfriends, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5