We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kimpton Goodland

Show Prices
#6 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kimpton Goodland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Goodland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 342: English reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Best thing about this hotel is the staff and the bartenders. Friendly and welcoming they were the jewel of the stay. The styling is fun and the beds comfortable. With so much going for it, it was a shame the restaurant was not as good. The food had great style in concept but the flavors never hit a home run....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo V
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Eduardo V, Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland and we couldn't agree more the staff is outstanding. Sorry to hear about the restaurant, we have forwarded your comments to the team to address. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

They almost defy description. Yes, this is a redone old motel and yet don't let that stop you. Quirky. Artsy. Tasteful. Pool and firepits. Turntable in each room, yes, TURNTABLES! Old albums too. Also you can pick out ones from their "library" of records. They have TWO bars with signature cocktails and really amazing food. I think tonight is "s'more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Barbara B, Thank you for the amazing review from your visit to the Goodland and we are different in a good way. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team as they love to hear how they are doing. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Danville, California
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Fun Kimpton hotel near UCSB. Love to stay here for mother/daughter weekends because it's so close to campus, yet you feel worlds away. Because it is a converted motel, the rooms can be a little noisy, but it's never been a problem. The funky decor, dj at the pool, late-night firepits and delicious food make it all worthwhile!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Paula K, Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and we couldn't agree more the location is great for UCSB. We will be sure to share your kind words with the Outpost team about the delicious food. We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Corona del mar
Reviewed 1 March 2017

If you have a group event to book, DO NOT consider this property. We have stayed at this hotel and it has met our needs in the past, but the group sales department is outrageously unprofessional, immature, petty and not customer focused! I was trying to rebook our group for an upcoming date. Group sales for this property was non-responsive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irie42
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Irie42, Thank you for the review of the Goodland sales process and sorry to hear of frustration you had. We have received numerous accommodations for our sales team professional demeanor and willingness to go above and beyond for clients. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at the number or email below to discuss the situation further. Thank...

Reviewed 23 February 2017

Awesome people and service and cute decor! Kind staff all around, and pretty good restaurant good. The build quality is very much like a quick flip house and I didn't feel comfortable with my groundfloor door leading directly outside or the quality of my room. Pool was under construction when we were there. Sheets were itchy. Basically amazing service, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stormie S
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Stormie S, Thank you for the review from your recent visit and we agree the hotel is cute. Sorry about the pool being re-plastered during your visit but we have finished the work and it looks amazing. We have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping department about the sheet to see what happened. We will be sure to share your...

Los Gatos, California
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This is our third visit to the Goodland Hotel by Kimpton. We love the vibe of this hotel from the Airstream Trailer and Woody parked out front to the communal lobby area. The wine hour from 5-6 is a great way to meet other travelers. The restaurant offers a nice selection of meals. We had the special Ramen Bowl and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Debbie M, Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland and we couldn't agree more the vibe is great. We will be sure to share your comments with the staff and we look forward to seeing you back soon. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Henderson, Nevada
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I'm not a big fan of Kimpton hotels. A little too trendy and hipster for my tastes. Also, under full disclosure I didn't pay for this visit; it was a business trip. If I had paid for it, I wouldn't be happy, because I'm sure the rooms aren't cheap. The Goodland obviously was a seedy motel in a previous life....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BJKilleen
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

BJKilleen, Thank you for the review from your recent stay at the Goodland and sorry to hear it didn't live up to expectations. We will be sure to share your comments with our department heads to address the issues you brought up. However we do here from many guest how they love the showers and how comfortable the beds are....

Reviewed 12 February 2017

Sigh. We had such high hopes for this place but it was a huge let down. Upon arriving they told us the pool is under construction and cannot be used.. this was never disclosed to us when we booked it and was a huge reason we chose it. They also said construction would be starting everyday at 9am so no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte C
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

Charlotte C, Thank you for the review from your recent visit and sorry to hear the stay didn't live up to expectation. We will be sure to share your comments with our departments heads so we can address the service shortfalls. Rest assured we will get these corrected and hope you give us another chance. Thank You Robert Cole General...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 4 February 2017

It's remarkable how the Goodland Hotel has taken a very recognizable motel-style property and turned it into a truly Californian surf resort. I felt the wink of childhood vacations at motor lodges with my parents but with a trendy and mature twist. The beach decor, gardens, and staff were all fantastic with great cocktails in the lounge. We didn't end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iancarney2006
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

iancarney2006, Thank you for the review from your recent visit at the Goodland and couldn't agree more that we are a Cali Surf Resort. We hope to see you back in the future when you can spend a little more time with us. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

Germany
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

I didn't know what to expect at this hotel-- but it was such a fun throwback experience. It was like being in the 1970 movies, with all new stuff. I enjoyed the little details that made the lobby and hotel feel like the past, but kept a new and fresh feel. I'm not a huge fan of pets in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C-Lo_Anna
GM_TheGoodlandHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Goodland, responded to this review

C-Lo_Anna, Thank you for the review from your recent visit to the Goodland and we are a fun throwback experience. We look forward to seeing you back at the Goodland. Thank You Robert Cole General Manager

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
11.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
995 reviews
12.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,258 reviews
0.8 km away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
248 reviews
14.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,278 reviews
16.7 km away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kimpton Goodland Hotel is a boutique surf hotel in Santa Barbara's sister city Goleta. This new beach chic hot spot features an outdoor pool, on-site spa, fitness center offering daily classes, restaurant and lobby bar. Brand new fresh carpet and wood flooring. Evenings are filled with live music, movie nights in the courtyard and more entertainment. The Goodland is conveniently located near UCSB, Goleta's business district and downtown Santa Barbara. It's all good at the Goodland: Book Now. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kimpton Goodland

Address: 5650 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117 (Formerly The Goodland, a Kimpton Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Price Range: $222 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Goodland 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Goodland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Santa Barbara - Goleta Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Goleta
#6 Business Hotel in Goleta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kimpton Goodland staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Kimpton Goodland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room on the 2nd floor with a Courtyard View. You can see the mountains and slightly are removed from the pool noise.”
jtg80, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room overlooking the pool rether than the car parking areas”
LeeT858, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“choose the other Kimpton hotel”
lcfb, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Facing the pool but opposite bar area.”
906eduardov, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request upstairs room.”
525stormies, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5