We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Did not even say hello, did not state where the breakfast is or what time, did not explain wifi, did not say thanks, actually should not have that job. Other than that person the hotel was nice and the breakfast was ok.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 31MIK
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are sorry to hear that you felt slighted at our employee. We hire only the very best guest service hospitality professionals. If you had this problem it was an exception circumstance, its often that the front desk employee is handling many guests and phones at once, and possible didn't ignore you intentionally but was...

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Dog friendly and helpful staff. Stayed there a few times and will return again. Rooms clean and modern. We like BW hotels when traveling. Need to get reservations early during tourist season as these fill up first.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George F
HAMID K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time hear with us. Yes we gladly welcome pets as we are a puppy friendly property. And yes we do fill up fast especially on weekends and summer weekends its best to book your reservations several months in advance as we host a number of great event...

Reviewed 29 October 2016

Outdated rooms and the safety latch was not functional. Too much unsavory activity in the parking lot. Not for the older traveler. Breakfast was decent. I was uncomfortable enough to before the second night. It is place for out of town workers and they are cool. It is just not cool for the average traveler in my opinion.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carmen W
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. Wish you were more detailed with your complaint. Our parking lot is well lit and a staff member is on the premise 24 hrs, and we discourage any sort of "unsavory activity" and non guests from having any place on our property. I assure you whatever you saw that brought on this discomfort was not...

Dinuba
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Toilet did not work. No solution offered. Very unhelpful staff. All they did was complain about management and tell us to call him when we got home. Maids did not clean or make up room in between the two nights we stayed there.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger H
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Roger, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. However, our staff here did everything in our power to try and make you more satisfied. Your complaint about the toilet draining slow was met with an apologetic staff member who immediately sent maintenance to the room when they got on here the following morning. You were...

Sunnyvale, United States
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean, and comfortable. Internet is wireless and strong Breakfast is so so, but sufficient. The location is very central in town, also close to Nevada City and surroundings.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank George R
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I have stayed many times at the Best Western in Grass Valley on Sutton. The service has always been excellent; the room clean, the equipment functioning well. It was quiet each time!! And the staff has been cooperative, courteous, and helpful. This hotel is excellent value for anyone visiting or traveling through Grass Valley.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank john m
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response! We our glad to hear that you found our entire staff to be exceptional, as they take great pride in providing our guests with the most excellent stay possible. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Grass Valley!

Orangevale, United States
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I have been staying in this facility for the KVMR Celtic Festival for seventeen years. This year the counter staff screwed up my reservation and refused to provide me with one of the rooms they had promised. I have arthritis and was placed on the second floor which meant I was in pain the entire stay. The facility has no...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John K
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We understand that many guests have problems climbing a set of stairs so we do our very best to make sure that guests with special needs are able to get ground floor rooms. We absolutely recommend that when making reservations that you request anything special that...

novato
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Hotel is fine just bring your own pillow- hard and square staff easy to talk with and courteous .rooms are clean notice had a breakfast in lobby -didn't try it though close to a few stores if need anything small clean pool and hottub

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pink216d
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response! Its glad to here that you found our property and excellent staff up to par with your needs. We do our very best to make sure that we do everything possible to ensure that you have a pleasant stay. And please take advantage of our complimentary breakfast on your next stay, we get many compliments...

volcano, United States
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Very pleasant place and staff easy location on and off the road. We came to Grass Valley for a family wedding. Ted the front desk person was very helpful and very pleasant and even got us in a little earlier to our rooms so we could make the wedding in time. Thank you

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Its our pleasure to help in any way possible to make your stay easy and enjoyable. Thank you for your response. We hope to see you again on your next visit here in Grass Valley!

Oakland, California
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Lovely setting in the pines but access to city services. Excellent breakfast in quiet peaceful areas. Efficient and courteous service at check-in and check-out. Offered to call me when room was prepared as I was very early. Reasonable price accommodation in the Gold Country. You will enjoy

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jstepheng
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We're glad to here that you enjoyed your stay. We keep adding breakfast items for guest enjoyment and our excellent staff takes great pride in providing terrific customer service!

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
3.0 km away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
222 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
2.8 km away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
140 reviews
3.1 km away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
123 reviews
34.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Price Range: $144 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“second floor rooms are probably quieter, but we still heard freeway noise. The motel is right next to Hwy 20.”
 of 5 bubbles Longpier1, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dont end up in the detached building!”
 of 5 bubbles coyote77north, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't take a room at the far back of the property as it abuts the freeway and is a bit noisy. The remainder of the property seems quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Dejaceo, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Conveniently located next to the freeway and sits across from a Safeway with a Starbucks.”
 of 5 bubbles morganv226, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a clean room.”
 of 5 bubbles 807pams, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5