We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stagecoach Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Stagecoach Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Medford, Oregon
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We needed a reasonably priced motel to stay in for a family event. This one was not reasonable! It was over $100 for one of the worst places we have ever stayed. The beds were concave, the furniture was broken, the lamp did not work, and the flushing handle on the toilet was missing. The "fix" was duct tape over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
Old Station, California
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Warning Will Robertson....Warning....So I submitted a review a week ago but "TRIP ADVISOR" said it was not admitted. So I am toning it down, please read between the lines of text! I book the room over the net....looked at the reviews and thought" It can't be that bad"....WRONG! Before I go any farther I must admit that the manager asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
South Lake Tahoe, California
Reviewed 10 September 2016

It has taken me a week to think about writing a review as I liked Nett the manager. However, I have decided to write this as I feel the owners either don't get it or don't care. I've been staying in hotels and motels for decades and this has to be the worst place I have stayed, ever. Period! First,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff S
Fulton, Ca
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I stayed at this motel last April and found it to be lacking in amenities and maintenance* (see below) but the room was clean and comfortable enough that I made another reservation several days ago for this Labor Day weekend. The manager, “Nett,” had been friendly in April and had appeared eager to please guests. But I was concerned that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alice S
Lynette P, Manager at Stagecoach Motel, responded to this review

I as the Manager here @ Stagecoach Motel take Great Pride in customer service & happy guests. I am blessed to see our repeat customer's often since I've been here over the past 2 years. Thank you for your loyalty & confidence in our service in providing a well rested & enjoyed visit to our Motel... Unfortunately I realize that...

Tracy, California
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Expedia, what a total dive, I wouldn't let my dogs stay there. The room smelled like smoke, tiled floor, old bedding, the room didn't even look clean. We walked by a room as the other guests were entering and it smelled like pot. I gave it a 1 because the manager authorized my refund with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank megjess22
Lynette P, Manager at Stagecoach Motel, responded to this review

Review from guest on 7/8/16 is from the same guest dated 7/2/16. Sorry to hear your drop in was not what you had hoped for. My only concern, is that you had not even gone in any of our rooms. Best wishes to you & yours in your travels.....

uk
Reviewed 2 July 2016

After some 50 years of travelling to various parts of the world, I can honestly say that this is by far the worst accomodation I have ever come across. I only stayed long enough to get my booking fee returned from a very understanding lady in the office.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Battyhouse
Chico
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during the Grass Valley Draft Horse Classic because it was close to the venue. The motel is in a nice setting in the woods. The rooms are dated and shabby, but the price and service were excellent. The manager couldn't have been any nicer or more attentive. I recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Discusdoc
Grass Valley, California
Reviewed 6 October 2015

I see the bad rap for this motel and for obvious reasons. It's old and a bit rundown. However they do make it up in price and spirit. Nett the new manager (we were there in mid July 2015) was very helpful and was trying to live down the bad rap the place has gotten over the past few years....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karl E
Reviewed 2 December 2014

If you really must stay in Grass Valley and you can't find another motel and you don't mind spartan surroundings and price is no object then give it a go. The manager is actually quite accommodating and trying very hard to make up for a very lackluster facility.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norm H
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This Motel is so nasty, it should be shut down. Nothing but Meth heads running around...stained sheets, gross showers, old furniture, air conditioning unit that didn't work, hard bed and scratchy sheets, flat pillows, no bulb in the lamp, no outlet for the desk and no light there either. No coffee machine, and the third day the maid didn't even...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank 184Travelingman101

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
327 reviews
0.8 km away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
211 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
122 reviews
6.3 km away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
89 reviews
6.6 km away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Stagecoach Motel

Address: 405 S Auburn St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-7225
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Price Range: $119 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stagecoach Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Stagecoach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Motel Grass Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stagecoach Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't believe the pictures of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JeffS404, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't mention bad reviews or you might be turned away.”
 of 5 bubbles AliceS787, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The car park in front would be more comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Battyhouse, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Top floor is always my choice”
 of 5 bubbles 138karle, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Get upstairs if you can. Anyone above you may be walking around up there and you'll know it.”
 of 5 bubbles NormH_13, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay