Tomales Bay Resort & Marina

Tomales Bay Resort & Marina

12938 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, Point Reyes National Seashore, CA 94937-9706
                                    Left, Bayside Rooms, Right Driftwood Rooms Buidling
Traveller (176)
                                    Bayside rooms facing Tomales Bay
Room & Suite (62)
Breakfast Bag
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 3 hotels in Inverness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
See why so many travelers make Tomales Bay Resort their hotel of choice when visiting Inverness. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Rooms at Tomales Bay Resort offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. A pool and on-site beach access will also help to make your stay even more special. Tomales Bay Resort is home to Fog's Kitchen, a charming restaurant that offers seafood and other delicious options. Don't forget to check out their many offerings of local wines and beers. During your visit, be sure to check out First Valley Inverness (0.9 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the hotel. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Tomales Bay Resort as you experience all of the things Inverness has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Canoeing
Hiking
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
235Reviews1Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 99
  • 43
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brenda B wrote a review Apr 2021
Ogden, Utah406 contributions117 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Tombahina rooms have two outside sitting areas. I liked the private table in the front surrounded by shrubbery. You can see the bay if it's high tide from the other side of the room, but the deck is shared with two other guest rooms. Good for two or three families. But for me, the thin walls were really unpleasant because of the screaming kid in the room next door. Also, charging $50 if a plate isn't washed is excessive.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NationalParkHiker wrote a review Jan 2020
Central, South Carolina872 contributions410 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas night here when we visited Point Reyes National Seashore.
The young man at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. He even called some restaurants in town to see what might be open for dinner. We appreciated his kindness!

Our room had two double beds, TV, microwave, frig, coffee maker, and hairdryer. There was a table with two chairs and a back patio. It was possible to enter and exit the room from both the front and the back. We had a bit of trouble with the front door key.

The bathroom was adequate in size although the sink was very close to the wall. There was no flat surface for personal toiletries. The shower was large with plenty of places to put shampoo, soap, etc.. There was a placard stating that towels would not be replaced if hung up, but ours were changed in spite of the fact that we followed instructions. It’s really disheartening to find that your accommodation is not working to conserve water.

Cost for two nights was @$310.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohnElliottTBR, General Manager at Tomales Bay Resort & Marina
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest over the holidays! We always do our best to make our guests comfortable and navigate the parks and our small towns. I am sorry that the standard policy in terms of the towel replacement was not followed. I will remind housekeeping to follow that so we can all do our part towards conservation. I hope that we can welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ttiottn1 wrote a review Oct 2021
Ohio356 contributions362 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We got a room for 2 nights here. Everything was clean and worked. They even provided an extra luggage stand delivered to the room when I asked. The room was a good size and plenty for 2 adults. The bed and linens were comfortable. They also had a large table with 2 chairs for dining which we greatly appreciated. The microwave, coffee maker and fridge were all excellent. The bathroom was an ok size with not much room for toiletries but we managed. It was cool during our stay, highs only in the 70s and lows in the 50s so we had to use the heat; it worked great though it did take some trial and error with the knob to get the temp just right. One downside of the room is the walls are thin so we could hear our neighbors; luckily they did not stay up late and did not get up early. It’s on the bay and we got to see jellyfish in the bay but that was it. Unfortunately the onsite restaurant was closed. All in all at $154/night including all taxes & fees a great stay and we highly recommend the place!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindadiana H wrote a review Sep 2021
Duncan, Canada88 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Whether you are planning to kayak or not, this is THE BEST place to stay in Tomales Bay for anyone on any budget who loves nature. I was in the lowest price room and still had the beach steps from my door, a stunning view of the bay from my window, a comfortable bed, fast wifi, and a microwave and fridge so that I wasn't depending on the overpriced restaurants for every meal. Outside the room there is a lovely pool, several places to launch kayaks, a boat launch, picnic tables, lots of places to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet - including a pier that goes way out into the bay close to the pelicans, cormorants, gulls and kingfishers that are all around. Point Reyes National Seashore has endless places to go hiking, kayaking and wild-life viewing. I stayed for a whole week and wish I was there for a month!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms for every price range - just ask when you phone to make your reservation.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GeeBee wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This casual motel has just reopened with relaxation of Marin County's Covid-19 restrictions. And just in time for great autumn weather, my favorite season here. The rooms are exceptionally clean and guests receive great service from managers John and Ryan. I felt very safe staying here and will do so again as soon as possible. It's the idea location for hiking or kayaking around Tomales Bay -- in addition to a small beach just outside the rooms, a kayak rental company is adjacent to the property.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you want to go upscale, ask about the rooms in the two-story annex...all have views of the Bay...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KAB wrote a review Jun 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I visit the Point Reyes/Bolinas area every summer. We were late to book a place to stay this year and felt lucky to find a room at Tomales Bay Resort as nothing else was available. I was not 100% sure about staying here but I read plenty of good reviews So I felt hopeful. Upon entering our room, I could tell immediately I had made a mistake.

I can’t even begin to understand how this place has so many positive reviews. I’m not sure our room had even been cleaned. After cleaning dust from our headboards and wiping down surfaces with Lysol wipes and cleaning hair off the bathroom walls, we finally settled in for the night. My husband found a spider in our bed which jumped and ran under the bed prompting us to pull up the bedskirt. The floors were filthy under both beds- food crumbs, a candy wrapper and a used cup plus several other spiders crawling around. The one box spring had cobwebs all over it.

I called the manager who was very nice and helpful. He agreed to let us check out first thing in the morning instead of staying the extra night we had paid for. For this I am appreciative.

The room was awful. Extremely dirty and run down. Perhaps we got the only bad room in the resort?! I don’t know but some attention to detail and a good clean would be nice.

I write this review as a warning for those who care about the environment and space you stay in. This is not the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CarlChristoffer wrote a review Apr 2023
Fairfax, California59 contributions61 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve been coming to the Tomales Bay Resort for many years now. It changed owners a few years ago and we were hoping that the chronic problems in the resort might get fixed. It’s been a few years, but that doesn’t seem to have happened. The good points of the resort are its spectacular location and lovely grounds. However, the resort has been tired and rundown for many years, A number of years ago the restaurant associated with the resort closed. Because there is a great scarcity of restaurants in the area, particularly during the middle of the week when the several close, the restaurant was not only a boon, but very necessary.

In addition, when the restaurant was operating, the resort provided a continental breakfast there. It no longer does so and very few of the rooms has a kitchen facility. So those people who don’t have those few rooms need to drive into Point Reyes Station, over 6 miles to get any breakfast.

I held off giving a review of the resort for a number of years in the hopes that this situation would be remedied. However, it seems as though the owners have other priorities. Even after a number of years standing empty, the restaurant is still not operational. The rooms have continued to deteriorate. And even when the rooms have not deteriorated, the decor and furnishings are old and tired. The kitchen unit in the room we were just in over the weekend appears to be at least 50 years old and desperately needs replacing. Meanwhile, the only work that seems to be in progress is around the pool, which very few people used, even in the past when the resort was crowded.

This lack of care and investment is beginning to show quite obviously in the drop off in patronage. Even though the resort is only an hour and a half from San Francisco, this Easter weekend, there were only a few cars on the premises. It seems as though fewer than 20% of the rooms were rented. It’s really sad to see a beautiful property like this existing so far below its potential.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sarah4nil wrote a review Oct 2022
Raleigh, NC90 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay in room 36, which had a kitchenette, a sliding patio door that led directly to the pool and a front porch with a direct view of the serene Bay. The room was charming, had a small gas fireplace, vaulted ceiling, huge windows with shutters that can fully open giving an unobstructed Bay view from the inside when it is too cold to sit on the porch. The room had a binder with info on things to see and description of various hikes, which I found useful. Parking was plentiful mid week.

The resort is a great base for exploring Point Reyes for hiking, beaches and visiting the lighthouse. It is also a very peaceful retreat to just unwind and relax and do nothing but gaze at the beautiful bay. There are not many dining choices nearby especially during mid week when many restaurants are closed. The IP Market 3.5 miles away makes deli and grilled sandwiches to go and the Tap Room has seated dining although serving similar sandwiches as the market. Cafe Reyes 5 miles away has very good wood fired pizza. There is also the Palace Market in Point Reyes Station where we got some breakfast items for the 2nd morning of our stay.

We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Point Reyes.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tomspix wrote a review May 2021
Sacramento, California6 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely time at Tomales Bay Resort for 4 nights in Room 11. It is a bungalow room with a view of the marina and bay. The room has a small kitchenette with a table right at the window to view the water. We didn't cook but it was very nice to bring back food from restaurants and the delis because most of the restaurants had only outside dining and limited hours because of Covid. We will be back again soon. Looking forward to the restaurant being open.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JESSICA T wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here for several year, and in all of the many types of accommodations. You are always just steps from the private beach and pier where you can picnic or enjoy a cup of coffee or a glass of wine. Fog restaurant and bar on site never disappoints. The view of the bay and surroundings is unsurpassed. Bring the family or come for a romantic and peaceful getaway. Kayaking is also available. The managers are always available and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We love # 28 and that section: fireplace, full view, on the beach, very comfy bed and pillows.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tomales Bay Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Tomales Bay Resort & Marina
Responded May 28, 2021
Jessica, thanks very much for your kind words! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessie E asked a question Oct 2019
Minneapolis, Minnesota35 contributions9 helpful votes
Can someone tell me if the restaurant has closed?
Answer from JohnElliottTBR
Inverness, California
I am so sorry to have missed this message! Unfortunately, yes, the restaurant is closed. We have a couple of great prospects for new operators, but nothing firmly set yet. We hope to have it up and running by the spring. Please accept my apology for the very late response. I hope that we can welcome you and show off a great new restaurant!
TravelJohn092 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Phoenix, Arizona314 contributions185 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This Resort is on Sir Francis Drake Blvd so if your heading to the National Seashore, no problem getting there."
Read full review
cboyke wrote a tip Dec 2022
Alameda, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hotel has EV chargers!"
Read full review
Lindadiana H wrote a tip Sep 2021
Duncan, Canada88 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms for every price range - just ask when you phone to make your reservation."
Read full review
Brian G wrote a tip May 2021
San Anselmo, California26 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 14 & 13 look to be the best rooms."
Read full review
JESSICA T wrote a tip May 2021
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We love # 28 and that section: fireplace, full view, on the beach, very comfy bed and pillows."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Inverness area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
tomales bay hotel inverness, golden hinde inverness
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tomales Bay Resort
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMarin CountyPoint Reyes National SeashoreInverness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Tomales Bay Resort & Marina: Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Tomales Bay Resort & Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Tomales Bay Resort & Marina?
Nearby attractions include Tule Elk Preserve (4.8 km), Tomales Bay State Park (4.0 km), and Heart's Desire Beach (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tomales Bay Resort & Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Tomales Bay Resort & Marina?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Tomales Bay Resort & Marina?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tomales Bay Resort & Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hog Island Oyster Company, The Marshall Store, and Inverness Park Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tomales Bay Resort & Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Tomales Bay Resort & Marina located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Inverness.
Are pets allowed at Tomales Bay Resort & Marina?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Tomales Bay Resort & Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Tomales Bay Resort & Marina?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Marconi RCA Wireless Stations (6.5 km).
Does Tomales Bay Resort & Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Inverness HotelsInverness Hotel DealsHotels near Tomales Bay Resort & Marina
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars