We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Official SiteUS$225*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
See the most recent reviews
Showing 494: English reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Booked our room on the 13th August for 3 nights, arrived on the 14th August. Turned up around 1pm, was told to go away and come back at 2pm and room would be ready? Returned at 2pm to be shown room, which smelt of urine, had a pubic hair in sink and had no towels??? Told girl there were no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review

Check in is 3 p.m. and I hope the front desk staff did not tell you " to go away" but said what they have been trained to say we would be happy to store your luggage and you are welcome to relax in the garden or library den with a cup of coffee, a cold soda, and some cookies...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The room was filthy with stains on the sheets. The bathroom was dirty with strong pee smell! When we asked the receptionist Carla to clean the room and the bathroom she said that the cleaning lady was gone for a day. We were not offered a better replacement. We asked to return our money with a hope to reserve another...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
marvelme_7, Guest Relations Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review

Your concerns are totally understandable and have been dealt with and thank you for bringing it to our attention. The sheet and coverlets are washed after each guest vacates a guest room, and if staying longer than 3 days, the linens are automatically changed, or if a guest request a change of linen during their stay, we are happy to...

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Stayed there for three nights over the weekend. My wife and I really were looking forward to this B&B after all the great reviews we had read. I'm not sure if we caught them on a bad weekend ( I don't think so) Here are the problems 1) VERY under staffed ( one person handling all the guests). 2) that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie S
marvelme_7, Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review

We are very concerned that your experience was so disappointing. No one on our staff is new and most have been there for 6 months to two years or more, so there is no excuse for the type of service you are describing. There is no "owner" ( it is a corporation ) and the on site manager is there...

Meriden, Connecticut
Reviewed 17 August 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a few days in early August, 2016. Our room was perfect. Clean, comfortable and bright and airy. Quiet. Breakfasts were gourmet quality - very creative and delicious. (Mary is the chef and she's just wonderful.) Breakfast can be enjoyed in the nicely shaded atrium. This place is a short walk to the beach....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sssster
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to let our viewers know about our B&B. Next time you visit be sure to ask the front desk staff for assistance with your bags. We are always eager to help. Hope to host you again in the future.

Orange County, California
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Accidentally booked the night before I was planning to stay. Showed up the next day and they very very graciously honored my reservation and special rate.! They were over the top accommodating. The Inn is outstanding, just as charming as a B&B could be. The location is perfect for exploring La Jolla and all it has to offer. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommoid
Longboat Key, FL
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

A charming property with magical gardens, excellent chef, good staff, great location and unique rooms with different features. I chose a private courtyard balcony, next winter will be a fireplace. The breakfasts are delicious and nutritiously balanced with fresh fruit. I have enjoyed many b&bs in New England and Europe. So far, this is a favorite in the jewell of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amberbach
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I booked for one night for my wife's birthday and our anniversary. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were presented with mini bottles of champagne and chocolates which was very sweet of the staff. We had a cozy little room which was perfect for our needs. The breakfast was excellent. The inn is across from the Art Museum...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to add to your celebration of your wife's birthday and anniversary. Congratulations and best wishes.

surrey
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This review has taken me a while to write, but I promised I would..So Sorry to all of the lovely team there! We had a great stay at this beautiful Californian house. Jessica made us so welcome, and kindly upgraded us, which meant that we had a beautiful suite with a balcony, and it gave us the peace we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dasy W
Seal Beach, California
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We had an overnight stay in the Cove Room. Decent size, light and airy. Some have commented on the small size of the shower but it is adequate and larger than most European-style showers so definitely not an issue. Breakfast is served at two specific times, 8 am or 9 am so reserve early if you have a particular preference....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Y
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us during your stay in La Jolla. We hear you loud and clear and you are correct about it being time to replace the towels. They are on order. We would also like to remind our guests that there is also the option of parking in the " No Time Limit Zones" on the adjacent streets...

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Great location and fabulous breakfasts! Wine and cheese at 5 was nice touch. Avoid Kate Sessions room. Too small for two people! No place to put suitcases. Portable electric fireplace just took up space. Worthless. No television. Room was always too hot. Plumbing needs updating. In fact on our last night we could not get the water in tub to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and selecting us as your home away from home. Unfortunately you selected one of the Deluxe Queen rooms which are our least expensive rooms due to their size. We describe these rooms as Ideal for one and cozy for two. Square footage is also listed on the OTA's . This room is a bargain because...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (16)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.5 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
820 reviews
0.2 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
806 reviews
0.4 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,111 reviews
0.2 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
781 reviews
0.8 km away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover a Luxury San Diego Bed & Breakfast in the heart of La Jolla only a block from the ocean. Relax in our serene gardens or on the sunny deck. Some of the Deluxe rooms at our Inn in La Jolla feature fireplaces, some ocean views, fresh fruit, flowers, and robes for total comfort. Awaken to unforgettable breakfasts and the ideal location to explore beautiful beaches, shopping and dining and all that La Jolla and San Diego have to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Address: 7753 Draper Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4301
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Price Range: $283 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
The b&b Inn At La Jolla
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Pacific View room had a lovely view.”
Justonemoretrip11, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Windansea Room”
jacobd85, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We loved the Fiesta room. Private, very nice!”
R-KTrvlers, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Peacock Salon, and it was lovely!”
marysY4215KT, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Peeked in the empty rooms; all beautiful.”
725SoloTraveller101, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Site
US$225* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$225
Expedia.comUS$225
Orbitz.comUS$225
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates