We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 264: English reviews
Madison Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon check in found that they are in the middle of a major renovation. This would be ok if guests were told this in advance. Property full of dust and workers, not able to relax. Carpet in bedroom had black sticky messy gummy black material on it. Got feet black. Was able to work with it by putting a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pat m
Redwood City, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where to start... Let's see, had to sign a 'No Smoking' waiver, which was fine, except that the room (108) oozed and reeked of decades of smoking. All the furniture, carpets, painted walls and popcorn ceilings need to be replaced. Mattress needs replacing; like two pieces of cardboard with marshmallow in the middle. All lights are on timers which caused...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I2388QZEM
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to read about your experience. There should not be any smoking at all in that room. We wish you had mentioned this to our team, we would have switched your rooms to ensure you had a pleasant stay with us. Please know that we will be surveying these rooms again to ensure this...

Buena Park, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cockroaches, hair dryer did not work, only one TV controller for two TVs in separate rooms, short sheeted bed, all linens thread bare, office hostess who could DO NOTHING about our complaints, refused to refund the price of our room. Could not check out soon enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999mmb
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this review

I'm shocked to hear about your experience with us. This is not the usual comment we receive from guests. But we have looked into this issue to ensure this does not happen again. Our staff should have sent someone to look into this right away and should have fixed this issue or given you another room to ensure you had...

Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 426petrj
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this review

Clovis, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the price the rooms are good, the location was perfect for us but the surrounding area is a bit shady. We stayed for a few days and the individuals (@ different times) we very nice and hospitable. They offer a basic continental breakfast (oj, coffee, cereals, muffins, oatmeal and fruit) so don't expect a full hot breakfast as some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this review

Hi Martha, thank you so much for such a thorough review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Our aim is to provide comfortable stay with great amenities to all our guests, so I am glad we achieved our goal on your visit. We hope this means that you will stay with...

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

BEWARE!!! READ REVIEWS BEFORE BOOKING! This is the WORST place I've ever stayed at! Adverstises kitchen, however there was NOTHING but a stove and fridge. No pots, pans, silverware, etc...literally every drawer and cabinet was empty. What a complete joke, since this was the main reason why I selected this hotel. Not only did the hotel falsify their amenities, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We try very hard to make our guests stays as pleasant as possible and it is always a disappointment when we learn one of them has left with a less than first-rate experience. On all our hotel booking websites, we advertise Kitchen Rooms but we state that hotel does not...

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I paid for a room for four and got a room for two with no kitchenette.Property owners said you sent wrong reservation but I had the print out you sent me. Someone owes me the difference.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shellwhisper777
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this review

Hi there, sorry for the confusion. Booking was made through a 3rd party website and booking did show up as a standard room in our system, because of this our front desk team could not assign you different room. Since the booking was made through 3rd party website, we could not issue any refund. We are always here to help....

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Great location and nice suite to have with 2 active children. Pool area need to be cleaned, hosed down, very dirty area for the children. Carpet needed cleaning and feet were dirty from it. Otherwise, a nice family place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this review

Hi Sally, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are delighted that you and your lovely family enjoyed your stay with us overall. But, I am disappointed to read that we dropped the ball on number of items. Our service team generally does a great job making sure all facilities and room are cleaned and maintained well. So it is...

Melbourne
Reviewed 11 October 2016

It's a place to lay your head down at night. Out-dated furnishings and atmosphere. "Free wifi" is terrible and never worked for us. The free continental breakfast was not very presentable and nothing more than a couple cereal choices and snack pastries. The wall unit A/C was ineffective as it only cooled the immediate area. The A/C did not circulate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shannon C
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this review

Shannon, we pride ourselves on being a quality, affordable option for people who are staying in the area, and we are sorry that we did not meet that goal during your stay. It sounds like we dropped the ball on a number of things for you. We are very sorry, and we hope that it did not spoil your trip...

West Covina, California
Reviewed 11 October 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cynthiae174
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU, responded to this review

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
0.9 km away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#4 of 8 in La Mesa
766 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
4.6 km away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
16.1 km away
Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Days Inn & Suites located on El Cajon Blvd. La Mesa San Diego Ca 92142 near SDSU. Its the only hotel in the area with all rooms suites having a living room & a bed room. Few rooms also have Kichenettes with 4 Burner Flat Top Cooking range & oven,2 door refrigirator & Microwave.All other rooms has a refrigirator & microwave.Something unique about our hotel: 2 TV in each rooms.(one in the living room & second in the bedroom).Our hotel offer free continental breakfast served from 6.30 am to 9.30 am.Our hotel offers free wifi in all rooms and more then 65 TV channel including HBO, TNT. ESPN and many more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU

Address: 7475 El Cajon Blvd, La Mesa, CA 91942-7401
Region: United States > California > La Mesa
Price Range: $76 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn La Mesa Suites - San Diego Hotel La Mesa
La Mesa Days Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms are quieter but do hear noise from the car shop behind them if window is open”
 of 5 bubbles 823marthab, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for two tv's in your room that way you can watch both locations”
 of 5 bubbles freedomrings79, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“In front of the office bottom floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 352casildad, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“king suites are awesome for a party of three, couch opens to a bed as well ;)”
 of 5 bubbles wespino, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Always ask for an upgrade and they will not disappoint.”
  • Comfy 2 double bed room
 of 5 bubbles KVeerM, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay