We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Expedia.comUS$209*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$209*
US$209*
US$209*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Start your review of The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
 Click to rate
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Chateau has a nice location on Lake La Quinta. However not all of the views were spectacular. Our room was discounted because of early booking, but we were shunted to a room by the road. We were not allowed to enjoy a glass of wine at a table on the veranda even though we were planning to order dinner,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaMG
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Chateau at La Quinta is special. It is a boutique hotel that had a major upgrade 2 years ago.The location next to the lake is just sublime. Being a boutique resort makes it feel intimate. Our accommodation was luxurious and had a balcony with such a beautiful view. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom almost perfect and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roamingwulff2016
Claremont, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, it is not a lake. It is a man-made body of water--perhaps 1/2 mile in circumference. The web site gives you the impression that you can walk around the lake, take hikes in the mountains, and enjoy a natural environment. the "chateau" is 1/2 block off a main street, in La Quinta. The lake is completely inaccessible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for three nights. First, I had changed my reservation once and so their system dropped it entirely. They were nice about it and they did find a room for me, which they said was an upgrade. It was a huge room, but I did not love it because on two sides it had sliding doors as windows....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BUsd
Regina, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here in Feb, 2017 and loved it, will come back! Started on a groundfloor room then upgraded to a second for room after three nights. Both good but upgrade was way better so worth asking. Breakfast at the restaurant was incredible, as was dinner! Do eat here lots if you are in the hotel! Really nice rooms, pool was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosann S
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Reviewed 15 March 2017

At $600 a night, one would expect to be able to phone home, but here, one cannot make long-distance phone calls! Ridiculous. How can one expect to do any business from here? Plus, upon entering our room, the smell of a sickeningly sweet air freshener was so strong as to make one gag...all night long. Yuck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
Soleil M, General Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review

Dear Becky, We are, as described in our conversation yesterday, apologetic for the technical issues that prevent our being able to account for and properly charge your room account for an international call from your guest room. We understand the frustration that was succinctly demonstrated during our conversation. It was obviously difficult. As always we'd appreciate an opportunity to make...

Ashland
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We attend the Indian Wells tennis tournament every year. This year we decided to splurge and stay at the Chateau. So we paid in advance and got a 20% discount. We had to pay the $25 "resort" fee even though we didn't use anything. They obviously send the early bird guests to the undesirable wing: we had to walk up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
Soleil M, General Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review

Linda G, So sorry to hear of your disappointment. We've reviewed your recent reservation and want to take a moment to assure you that you were assigned the type of guest room that was reserved. We offer the advanced purchase rate you chose and appreciate those guests who know their itinerary early enough to take advantage of a value rate....

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

A great place to get away from all the crowds and noise. The rooms with views of the "lake" are nice and large enough, the decor is warm and cozy, very comfortable bed, plenty of large and fluffy towels, great water pressure in the shower... The one downside is that there isn't an elevator. Another downside was the restaurant. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ninodebalia
Soleil M, General Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. Please accept our apology for our not meeting the high standard we hold for ourselves regarding the level of service we provide in Mélange. The issues you encountered during dinner are regrettable and should not have occurred. I am pleased that we made an accommodation to your...

Reviewed 5 March 2017

I took advantage of your choice to prepay or pay when you check in. I should have chosen the later because they hit my card for even though I told them I had prepaid. The next morning the clerk at the desk was asked to call our bank and reverse the charges. Another big factor, room was not worth what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irma K
Soleil M, General Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. Please accept our apology for our not meeting the high standard we hold for ourselves regarding the level of service we provide. The issues you encountered regarding your bill and your air conditioning are regrettable and should not have occurred. Again, please accept our sincere apology. We...

Canada
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Loved, loved loved everything about this gem. The rooms are rock star decorated and so different than any normal hotel experience. The place backs onto a private lake which is a great place to enjoy a few minutes in the morning sun. Staff are awesome, very polite and helpful. It's a hidden gem situated in this crazy little oasis but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2pinacolodas
Soleil M, General Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review

Dear 2pinacoladas Thank you for this wonderful review of your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Chris Cline General Manager

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (34)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Quinta
2.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton La Quinta Hotel & Spa
1.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
2.3 km away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.0 km away
Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.8 km away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more.A chic boutique with a gorgeous lakeside view, picturesque surroundings and stunningly appointed guest rooms awaits you at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. Energetic and vibrant with an intoxicating mix of attentive service and desert solitude, The Chateau invites indulgence and overwhelms your senses. Fresh from a $3.5 million renovation, which has transformed the property, adding thirteen additional new guest suites, a spectacular new lakeside restaurant, Melange, along with a beautiful new lobby bar, The Chateau offers its guests spectacular lake views from all 24 guest suites, outstanding food, sourced from California's finest family farms, and premium cocktails and wines. The Chateau is a remarkable, new, desert experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > La Quinta
Price Range: $214 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta California Desert
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chateau at Lake La Quinta staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Marysville, Washington
5 months ago
Marysville, Washington
5 months ago
Miami, Florida
San Diego, California
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Chateau at Lake La Quinta staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the veranda.”
LindaMG, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 209 was great. Beautiful view and quite!!!”
  • Our room
  • Our View from Room 209
roamingwulff2016, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go some place else”
245ralphs, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
44BeckyM, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to have a room with a desk”
, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$209* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$209
TripAdvisorUS$209
PricelineUS$209
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates