Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel

Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel

Dirty Bed
Traveller (67)
Some of the bed bug infestation on the seam of the mattress
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 4 hotels in Lawndale
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
At the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel you're sure to find that little something extra. With our modern amenities and thoughtful design, the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel will stand out among other hotels in Lawndale,CA. For the business traveler, a spacious work desk and free internet access are included in all our guest rooms to ensure you don't miss a beat while you're away from the office. For extended stays, each room provides a convenient in-room mini fridge that is ideal for drinks and snacks. We also have an in-house fitness room, so you can keep up your workout routine while you're on the road. As always, the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel will provide you with the superior customer service that you are used to at Best Western® Hotels & Resorts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Farsi and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Now! Stay 3 Nights Get 10,000 Bonus Points!

Location

15000 Hawthorne Blvd., Lawndale, CA 90260-1503
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Los Angeles Intl Airport
Long Beach Municipal Airport
20.3 km
See all flights
Redondo Beach
20 minLos Angeles Metro Rail
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles595 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel, while noted for its somewhat outdated atmosphere, consistently receives commendations for its clean and comfortable rooms, underscored by the attentive service of its staff. The convenient location is a highlight for guests, offering easy access to nearby attractions. Despite mixed reviews regarding room decor and some maintenance issues, the hotel's comfortable beds and valued amenities such as complimentary breakfast and parking are often praised. While opinions on value vary, the overall sentiment is that the hotel provides a satisfactory stay.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Dated
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
595Reviews14Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 189
  • 164
  • 134
  • 45
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
bidwell7 wrote a review Nov 2023
Fabens, Texas8 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After an oversight with the room, management was quick to make things right.
Housekeeping was helpful and friendly.
WiFi is crappy and free movies lag horribly.
Make your coffee in your room, the stuff offered at breakfast is hot, brown water.
Request a room in the back of the hotel, the road in front is busy 24/7.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A N, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Responded Nov 18, 2023
Dear bidwell17, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. I appreciate you allowing me to call you after your stay to make things right with the room oversight. Very glad you had a positive interaction with all our staff. I have made a couple notes from your review to share with my team in hopes we can improve and make upgrades. Thank you again and take care :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brandon wrote a review Jan 2020
Phoenix, Arizona1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights while we toured around LA, hollywood, redondo, and spent a day up at Six flags (relatively short drive considering traffic). It was actually very good for the price. Traffic in and out, and around town is a nightmare, but that's pretty much a given in LA and this part of town. I definitely recommend uber to get around town if youre not familiar/comfortable with the traffic conditions.

As for the hotel itself, the room was nice and clean. Clearly has been aroud for a while but they have done a good job updating room furniture and amenities. The lobby and breakfast area looked great. Very clean. The front desk manager was also super professional and very friendly. Room had a fridge and coffee maker, and a small safe which was a big plus.

One drawback we experienced was that our room had an adjoining door to the room nextdoor. That, along with the seemingly very thin walls left very little privacy noise-wise. Kind of luck of the draw as to who your neighbor will be (the first night, our neighbors were very loud and at one point even tried to open the adjoining door). We also noticed (on the second night) that our bedroom window was left open (from before we arrived) all day with our personal belongings easily accessible to any would-be theif. luckily we were on the second floor. The second floor ice machine was not working during our stay, and the elevator seemed to be barely operational. But these things happen. Also, a big disappointment for me was that the deadbolt on our door didnt line up with the frame slot and would not latch. I managed to let this go, relying on the electronic lock and the "U"-shaped door latch. Definitely something that should be addressed.

All in all, its a good bang for your buck especially considering the rates of other hotels in the area. I would certainly consider staying here again with the one stipulation of being guaranteed a room without an adjoining door.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BWPSBH15000, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear adamczykbrandon, thank you so much for the detailed review and feedback. Thank you for helping us to get better. I am extremely happy you had a good overall experience with us. Yes, our property is a bit older but we are currently working on upgrades and special projects everyday in order to provide the best stay we can for our guest. We also believe in having a 'customer service first' culture where we welcome all guests. I am happy you were satisfied with all our amenities. I do apologize about the maintenance issues. I have shared this feedback with the Chief Engineer and Head Housekeeper. We will address all of it and also address it during decisions we make for upgrades. Also, I have sent you an email with my contact info, when ever you need a room in the future please reach out to me so we can ensure you get a room to your preference. Once again, thank you and have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
KPashhh wrote a review Sep 2022
Downey, California6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The girl at the front desk was very nice at check in but it took a few extra minutes because of a slow connection. Our neighbor however kept going in and out of their room letting the heavy door slam shut which make it difficult to stay asleep. If the doors had a slow slamming feature or some type of padding it would have made my stay more enjoyable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl F wrote a review Sep 2022
Union City, California5 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is one of the best local in the country I travel all the time and when I’m in Southern California this is my hotel, comfortable quiet friendly professional welcoming attentive safe loving!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alice C wrote a review Apr 2022
Fremont, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been previously stay in other best western airport hotels in the area, this is my first time staying in this hotel. To my surprise, the location of this hotel is very connivance, and the surrounding environment looks very safe to me. I appreciated the large size in-room safe, which is much bigger and more useful than the small ones I see in other BW hotels. The hotel room appeared to be very clean, and the beds and pillows are comfortable to rest on. Bathroom is clean too, no dirty spots in the tube, water pressure is just right, bath towels appeared to be clean with no stain or unknown hair. The young gentlemen who help me check in at the front desk on 4/16/22, forgive me me for not remembering his name, is very nice and kind, with a very good attitude and extremely helpful in speeding up my check in process after a long day of driving. He even waived my security deposit requirement upon my check in, which is very nice of him. Also when we asked for extra set of bath towels at night (there are four of us in the room, but only three set of bath towels provided), the gentlemen who work at the night shift (not sure if it's the same gentlemen) get us what we need very quickly, and reminded us on breakfast hours and that we can enjoy the coffee at the lobby at night if needed. Little details like this always add delights in my travels, and I really appreciated it. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others, and I will definitely come back for the stay if visiting in the same area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A N, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Dear Alice C, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and thank you for the very kind and detailed review! I am beyond pleased to hear you had an extraordinary experience with us at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel. I have shared your kind words with the staff and we will continue to provide great service and a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the future, take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alina A wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This best western is discriminatory, ableist and downright incompetent.

I went here with my school's debate team on October 1 and we had reserved the ADA room weeks in advance for one of our team members. They just decided to give away his room (which was apparently the ONLY ADA ROOM they bother having).

While this gross negligence is bad enough, they also made no attempt to fix their mistake, going so far as suggesting that WE buy our teammate a shower seat with our own money so he can take a shower and be clean, and tried to make the baseless claim that their mistake was somehow our fault. After all, as they told us, there was a BadBunny concert in town, so we have to understand. Sure. There was no manager on duty, and nobody in charge could even be reached until the next day. Not like we have a teammate with nowhere to sleep in the meantime :)

Another cute way this place dug their hole deeper: despite promising to refund us for 3 rooms, we were still charged for 5 of the 6 reserved rooms. Including the unused room. Wow.

The final (so far) nail in the coffin was them calling us asking us to take down our teammate's review because they didn't like how it made them look. Pro tip idiots: if you don't want to be called discriminatory, simply don't be discriminatory!!! Don't give away the only accessible room you have! Try even a little bit to fix your mistakes instead of placing the blame and burden on your customers, who suddenly have no place to sleep.

In fact, this place was so unaccommodating that my teammate had to go to an entirely different hotel last minute. They simply could not muster the ability to create an environment suitable for a person in a wheelchair.

In other news, the ceiling of our bathroom leaked the entire night and I was eaten alive by mosquitos in my room.

My entire school is deeply disgusted by the discrimination and lack of professionalism from this best western. The entire experience was deeply horrible and upsetting and I wouldn't wish it upon anyone. Never ever go here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherlyn E wrote a review Feb 2020
Plant City, Florida1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Room is clean and consistent with Best Western Plus. At daybreak, the breakfast room staff is always smiling and attentive which kicks off the day. When I return to hotel at the night, Erick at the front desk is always quick to acknowledge and greet me. Very professional!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Third floor is best
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BWPSBH15000, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear FrequentFlier576102, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We know you have many options and we are pleased you had a great stay. I will share your kind words with the staff and also thank them on your behalf. Providing a comfortable and clean stay is what we are all about. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Happy Travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth C wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was such a great experience. I was visiting LA for the first time with my boyfriend and didn't know where to stay, so we picked a hotel that was affordable for us. We were surprised at how nice and friendly the hotel staff was. The hotel itself was decorated so nicely for Christmas, the tree was so colorful and nice to look at. The front desk agent on the phone let us know that there was a shuttle service that does pick ups and drops from the airport and hotel which was so helpful. The driver Antonio was such a nice guy, he picked us up and was really friendly. He helped us with our heavy luggages and the young lady working at the front desk named Saghar was so helpful. She gave us so many recommendations for places near by to shop and eat. The check in process was such a breeze and she was able to answer all our questions about LA. Loved the breakfast it was filled with so many options and the worker Alma was so kind and professional. Overall I recommend this hotel for anyone that wants an affordable yet amazing service to come here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BWPSBH15000, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Dear Celizabeth528, thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us. I am very happy to hear my team was able to make your stay exceptional. I find that when guests utilize all our awesome free amenities such as the 24\7 airport shuttle or free hot buffet they have a more enjoyable stay. I will thank my team and share your kind words. Once again thank you and happy travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alecis S wrote a review Feb 2020
Campbellsville, Kentucky12 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There is a scetchiness to this hotel. Smell of marijuana in the halls along with people locals checking in with strangers and strange people. Weird feel to say the least. Front desk Eric, was professional, great asset. The breakfast room staff was wonderful and helpful. They have Gluten Free Bread Available, just Ask.
We walked to get somethimg to eat and were asked a few times for money, i dont recommend going anywhere at night.
No Early Checkin whatsoever with this hotel, saw 6 people waiting in Lobby to check in disappointed with their luggage. they dont offer Luggage Storage as well. Very tense work enviorment, overheard an employee being reprimanded for beinc 2 minutes late, be threatened...very nasty attitude, stressed out people, not a relaxing place. For $20 more you can have a more peaceful hotel and a hot variety breakfast. Disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BWPSBH15000, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Thank you very much for the review and reservation aleciss2020. I am sorry to see that your stay was not to your liking. After reading your review I see that some of the information is either confusing, incorrect, or just false. We do have early check in at this hotel. It is not guaranteed but a special request. Of course if we are sold out the previous night then there is a wait to check in early. Also, unlike most other hotels, we do not charge for an early check in if it is available. Also, we do hold luggage for guest. We hold luggage everyday. Furthermore, I do agree with you on breakfast. We provide a free hot Buffett breakfast with many choices (even gluten free as you mentioned). Keep in mind it is complimentary and I am sure places where you pay $20 more might have more selections. Finally, your comment about an employee being reprimanded for being 2 mins late is very absurd and ridiculous... If an employee were ever reprimanded it would never be in front of guest to see. All in all, thank you again aleciss2020 and from the entire team we wish you a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ladyrain7 wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York25 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time in LA. Trying to decide where to stay. Found this Best Western Plus, via Travelocity. Arrived to hotel via free shuttle service from LAX. A simple yet elegant entrance.This is a wonderful place to stay. Apparently this hotel enjoys it’s guests and wants to make them feel welcomed and comfortable. EVERYONE was friendly and helpful. From Hassan and Eric at the desk, to Eva and the housekeeping staff, as well as Alma &Armida in the breakfast room, who cheerfully and warmly greeted and welcomed EVERYONE that arrived for breakfast. They ensured that the breakfast foods were stocked at all times and they promptly honored guests requests for whatever they needed wanted.
There are TWO breakfast rooms to accommodate everyone. Everything was neat, clean and organized. A spacious room at a great price with a very nice view of the pool, trees, flowers, a nice comfy king bed
Quiet. Good places to eat within walking distance. Mexican, Indian, Chinese et al. Local buses a block away. Car rental and return 2 blocks away. As well as supermarkets etc. Enjoyed the pool and use of the computers and printer. Def will stay here nxt time. A must enjoy!! Great price!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BWPSBH15000, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Dear Ladyrain7, thank you so much for the rockstar review and for choosing to stay with us. I am very happy and proud you found your new favorite hotel to stay in while visiting LA. We know that our valuable guest have many option to choose from which is why we know it is important to provide the best experience it can be. We take a lot of pride in our free shuttle, free hot breakfast, and great customer service. We hope to see you again very soon. Take care and happy travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lawndale area.
PRICE RANGE
C$177 - C$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western lawndale, lawndale best western
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLawndale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The South Bay Wedding Center (0.6 km), Lotus Aquarium (0.3 km), and Target (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saigon Dish, In-N-Out Burger, and El Pollo Inka.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Lawndale.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, Hindi, Filipino, Urdu, and Farsi.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bruce's Beach (5.8 km).
All Lawndale HotelsLawndale Hotel DealsHotels near Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars