We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We went there for the 4th of July weekend. It was really good. Comfy beds, cute, cozy bathroom with detached shower and bath. I really liked the decor. You can't beat if for the price. The staff was really nice and there's free wireless and parking (apparently a major jewel in LA, lol). Loved it !!! Really cute. We'll totally... More 

Helpful?
Thank superchillthing
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. Hopefully, you will have the opportunity to come back and visit us. Yours Truly, Jason Scharlau More 

Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We love this hotel. It is really well located right by the train with a plethora of restaurants nearby within walking distance. They are pet-freindly. The staff is really fun and cool. Very nice and helpful. There is free parking and if you double park you can just leave your keys at the front desk and they will take care... More 

Helpful?
Thank HelloWorld_11
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you so much for spreading the word. We can't wait to see you again. Jason Scharlau More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Don't be deceived by the pictures. This place is pretty dirty and not maintained very well. Stains and cracking paint in the bathroom ceiling as well as a pretty filthy bathroom floor. Scant furniture and some rooms didn't even have a closet or wardrobe. My room couldn't shake a musty odor. The shower water pressure was never stronger than a... More 

Helpful?
Thank hahn74
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. All reviews (even negative ones) assist us with making the property a better place. I'm sure that if we had a conversation regarding your stay, we could have done some things to make your stay better. I truly apologize about your friends scuffed vehicle, however if it would have been brought to our attention,... More 

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 for 3 nights. As others have stated, this hotel is in Korea Town, which means lots of good food around the area (if you're into Asian cuisines). The location of the hotel itself is within a residential neighbourhood which, for a big city like LA, seems safe as we walked back at night. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank wesleywoo
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. All of your comments have been noted. FYI, we are currently working with a local artist right now to get some decorative pieces up in the rooms. WE anticiapate to have that project finished by late August. Jason Scharlau More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I was headed out to Los Angeles for my yearly E3 trip, and in desperate need of a hotel. I was happy to find Shelter, especially given the low price. The majority of my work that week was downtown, but a train station is only a few blocks away. I rode the train downtown every morning for $1.50, and *usually*... More 

Helpful?
Thank CryptRocket
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. The are greatly appreciated. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights in May. We booked the hotel for its price and its location. The room was spacious but minimal. There was still plenty of space for perhaps a dresser of some sort to put our clothes. The bed is comfortable, although out of the four pillows we were given, each of them... More 

Helpful?
Thank jcl12
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are working on the few touches that you spoke of and will hopefully have everything complete by August. We hope to see you again. Jason Scharlau More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This hotel is probably an old hostel. The room was alright, but the door was kinda crappy, leaving a two inch gap to the floor. Otherwise clean, really kind and helpful staff. AND two big thumbs up for the free parking in the garage.

Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor01
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Although, our property is not an old hostel, it was another hotel property prior to new ownership and before that it was an apartment complex. We have since fixed the door that you spoke of. The staff greatly appreciates the nice comments. Jason Scharlau More 

Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

And this for a couple of reasons: - the noise: 24/7, people walking and talking in the hallway, the elevator, people in the room above you who walk around all night, the air-conditioning outside, every little noise on the street (It looks like a calm neighbourhood, but it definitely isn't). You'd think they'd isolate the rooms better... I think we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Debs_V0
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive comments. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here. Regarding some of the issues that you had, we offer hairdryers here at the property upon request. Every room is equipped with an Ipod dock that has an alarm feature and we also offer wake up calls. Since this review has... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Ok, so Korea Town might seem like an odd place to stay when you are in LA but I can tell you that you won't find a nicer boutique hotel in the whole town. Our room was huge, the bathroom was huge and clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the neighbourhood felt safe. It should be even better... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonstevens
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for spreading the word about of awesome community. We take great pride in it. See you next time your in town. Jason Scharlau More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I stayed here in November with my mum. Check in was very quick and hassle free. Elevator fairly quick. Room was new, clean, good size, very luxurious soft big bed, with big pillows, I slept like a baby. Bathroom was new. Overall room interior was new, clean and modern/contemporary style. Flat screen Tv on the wall with sooooo many channels.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SimplyHoney
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments. It's good to hear that you made use of the Subway system. We are big believers in the public transportation system here. Jason Scharlau More 

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (109)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#23 of 347 in Los Angeles
442 reviews
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#206 of 347 in Los Angeles
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
The Line
The Line
#37 of 347 in Los Angeles
802 reviews
JJ Grand Hotel
#221 of 347 in Los Angeles
38 reviews
Oxford Palace Hotel
#191 of 347 in Los Angeles
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. The hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. Amenities include hardwood Floors/ 50" LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Address: 457 S. Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Price Range: $194 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shelter Hotels Los Angeles staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Shelter Hotels Los Angeles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a frig.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristieG412, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room Rooms outside street facing, tell them you have a small car.”
 of 5 bubbles BodoButzek, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Room on the south side was quet.”
 of 5 bubbles bmoss1340, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you want 2 double beds instead of a king, you need to call and request.”
 of 5 bubbles saboa, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Sorry, no rooms with views, and really no room any better than another.”
 of 5 bubbles photomikey, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay