We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Historic Mayfair Hotel

Show Prices
#240 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Historic Mayfair Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Historic Mayfair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Concierge, Front Desk, price & location of the Historic Mayfair Hotel made this my hotel of choice if i come to LA again. The Concierge printed me maps, advised me on buses and places of interests, and even got me an affordable trip to Universal Studio on my last day in LA. The Front Desk checked me in early when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brad T
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BradT, thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your excellent experience. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of a positive nature. Reviews like yours help us to make sure that we're meeting the needs of our customers and we're proud to know that our team treated you so well. We look forward...

Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Mayfair. I asked for a newer and higher level room and the management offered me one at the 15th floor. The overall cleanliness of the room was good, albeit carpet is always complicated because it accumulates dust easy. Bathroom was clean, though not very spacious. The furniture, albeit old, was sturdy and solid -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank glaucoav
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear glaucoav, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments, both positive and where we need to improve. I would like to inform you that early of 2014 the hotel will undergo a complete renovation. These will include, new drapes, TV, furniture, paint, vinyl. With...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 5 October 2013

It’s an old history hotel… Nothing much to say about this place… Very far from all tourist attractions, Train stations and so on…. Rooms are just OK to stay for a night only…. There is nothing much around this hotel and in this hotel too… Just a very normal breakfast….

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeyajeevan
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeyajeevan, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. Obviously the attractions your are looking for are not close to the hotel. However, our other guest found our proximity to these attractions like LA Live, Staples Center, Nokia theater, Fashion & Jewelry District very convenient. In the positive view, I am glad you liked...

Reviewed 2 October 2013

I came here with 2 friends for a 6 night stay for some LA tourism. I wasn't expecting much for the cheap rate but it was still bad. The room was pretty spacious but it was very outdated. The newest thing in the room was the fridge. The room had a very strong smell of cleaning product which was strange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heyst3ve
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear heyst3ve, thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your experience during your recent stay. First, certainly apologize for your encounter the cockroach. We have a very strong on going pest control program and while our goal is always total elimination, obviously one must have been slipped behind the fridge. There is no question that we...

Yuma, Arizona
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We found this hotel via Bookit.com and since we were on a budget and not expecting to spend the night in L.A. we went ahead and booked it. The hotel might be in downtown L.A. but its surrounding neighborhood leaves a lot to be desired. Once we went in around 6pm, we did not come back out and ordered food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yayacol04
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yayacol04, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I apologize for your noisy neighbors sometimes that will happen in any hotel. The new management and owner of the Mayfair are very committed to bring the Mayfair back to its past glory. We want to inform you that the hotel will undergo a full renovation...

Fresno, California
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here overnight to go see a Dodger game. The rooms were small but decent, par for the course with an old hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is iffy at night, but no problem that I could see during the day. Walking distance to LA live and Staples Center. The hotel has a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison R
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison R, thank you for sharing your comment. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. It's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to share that with us. The Mayfair is a great value alternative to Downtown LA and close to a lot of good places to visit.. The new management and owner...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed here in August for 4nights. Room was clean, a good size and comfortable. Yes the curtains were a little dated, but don’t let this put you off. The location is good – close to the metro, if you have a car the car park at the hotel is secure. The location is fine, I really liked the downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SamanthaH84
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SamanthaH84, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Mayfair. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of a positive nature. It's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to share that with us....

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We choice this hotel for it's proximity to the Orpheum Theater and it's price. After booking however, there was a price discrepancy that led us to being charged an extra $50. They charge for parking in their garage also. The room was small and outdated, the bathroom was the same. Awful water pressure and the mattress and pillows really left...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jtlsmfry
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jtls mfry, thank you for taking the time sharing your recent stay at the Mayfair. As of the $50 extra, it is a standard deposit for incidentals and nothing to do with the rate. That amount cancels out upon check out unless there are extra charges asides from your room rate (ie. parking, breakfast, phone calls). Majority of hotels...

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights at The Mayfair Hotel. The rooms are very small, tiny bathrooms (no place to put your staff). For refrigerator you have to pay extra. Additional pay for parking ($12 per night). Breakfast is not included ($12.95 per person). Only one thing was good is a location of this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Iermis
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lermis, thank you for your comments. The Mayfair is a great value alternative to Downtown LA. The hotel charges $12 per night for parking which is very competitive in the area and it includes 24 hours security and in/out privileges. We want to let you know that the hotel will have a full renovation early of 2014 top to...

Huddinge, Sweden
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for ten nights to visit our daughter and its comfortable and good price hotel. The neighborhood is not bad with genuine mexican food and close to dowtown LA, a five minute walk to the 7th street metro station. Well worth the price and recommended and there are hotels that are close by that are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MikaelEaly
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MikaelElay, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Mayfair. I'am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is withing walking distance to a lot of great places to visit and always strives to provide reasonable prices to its guests. We want to inform you that starting early 2014, the hotel will...

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#169 of 348 in Los Angeles
346 reviews
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#216 of 348 in Los Angeles
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#175 of 348 in Los Angeles
556 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#138 of 348 in Los Angeles
433 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Historic Mayfair Hotel in the heart of downtown Los Angeles was the tallest building west of the Mississippi when it was built in 1926. We maintain the American charm of the Roaring Twenties with marble floors, brass fixtures, glass etchings, and fluted column pillars. Modern amenities have been added for your comfort while preserving the grandeur of Old World elegance. With 295 rooms available for guests with King, Queen, Twin full sized or single beds, the Historic Mayfair Hotel offers an affordable stay surrounded by the vibrancy of city life. Our convenient location allows guests to explore all of Los Angeles from the beautiful hillsides of Beverly Hills to the cultural hotspots of Hollywood. If you're looking for a home away from home enjoy our junior suites with a lounge area, refrigerator, and microwave, or our executive suite with a dining room and kitchenette. The Celebrity, our onsite dining, serves a full breakfast daily with a variety of hot and cold options for guests. The location of the first post Academy Awards party in 1929, the Historic Mayfair Hotel is the optimal choice for those looking to discover the architecture, culture and history of Los Angeles at reasonable rates. Our tenured and experienced staff is here to make you feel relaxed and comfortable at our hotel, and ensure that you have a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Mayfair Hotel

Address: 1256 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2346
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Price Range: $160 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Mayfair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Los Angeles
Mayfair Los Angeles
Mayfair Hotel La
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Mayfair Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Mayfair Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be prepared to pay for Valet Services.”
  • Hard Water Stains in Bathroom
SMGabriel, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Probably higher up, as the hotel is right on the street.”
97vista10, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“doubt there are any good rooms that don't have noise and dust”
Iloveibizamillion, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“stay at another hotel”
juliamD522AH, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are clean, updated and a little tight on the 5th floor, almost had a midtown Manhattan feel. My shower was so small I had to turn the water off to soap up, and the rest of the bathroom gets even smaller ”
38deanp, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5