Crosswaters Resort

Crosswaters Resort

One of three scratched up tables (bacteria magnets)
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (14)
Kan Food
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#33 of 34 hotels in Kananaskis Country
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated 1 hour west of Calgary, Alberta, Canada in the front ranges of the Canadian Rocky Mountains lies Crosswaters Resort; a modern oasis of well-being. Sweeping scenes from our Mountain View rooms, allow guests to fully take in the awe-inspiring landscape of the Canadian Rockies. Partnering with the Pomeroy Kananaskis Lodge, our guests can choose from five unique food & beverage outlets inspired farm-to-table options, and take advantage of the Kananaskis Nordic Spa. Crosswaters offers everything needed for whole body wellness.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Internet
Hot bath
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming

Location

1 Terrace Drive, Alberta T0L 2H0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Calgary Intl Airport
83.1 km
See all flights
46Reviews3Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 12
  • 6
  • 12
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Savvytravel wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying at the Crosswaters was the worst travel experience I have had in my life due to the two items outlined below, the second of which is every woman’s worst fear. Let me confirm, I already notified management of my experience both in person at the time of my stay in early December and later in writing and have received no response other than the one I will discuss during checkout.

1. The walls of this hotel are paper thin. There is a convention room in the lobby and my room was directly above a loud disco/party in the convention room that continued late into the night. I asked to move as I was there for a relaxing getaway treat for myself. I was accommodated my the manager on duty at night who was fantastic. She found a new room and offered a $50 credit for the inconvenience & trouble.

2. The new room was 26 degrees and the interior deadbolt did not work nor did all of the lights work in either room. Both rooms were dim & dusty. I fell asleep after midnight & was awoken by something, I opened my eyes to see a man standing in my room, it was pitch black outside still. I was completely frozen & terrified as any women staying alone would be when they opened their eyes to see a strange man standing inside of their room at 5am. I bolted upright from my bed & instinctively screamed ‘what are you doing?’ The man said he was sorry and left. I don’t know how long he was in my room before I woke up and at no point did the man identify himself.

I communicated this at checkout. The staff checking me out was already aware of what happened before I told him as he indicated the man in my room was a hotel employee who didn’t know anyone was staying in that room. The checkout agent had his male manager to come speak with me. My voice was shaking and tears were in my eyes as I explained what happened during my stay and that a man entered my room in the night as I slept. The managers response was absolutely devastating.

I asked to confirm my credit for changing rooms was applied and he indicated that there was no note about any credit. He did not offer anything for the intruder except an insincere ‘sorry’ & began haggling over my original credit. He offered me a lower credit of the resort fees ($25) instead. At no point was the severity of what occurred acknowledged by the manager. The entire interaction was insincere & insulting in light of my experience.

I had already been offered a $50 credit BEFORE I woke up to see a stranger looming over me in the night so this haggling to reduce that was both unnecessary & insincere. Finally he agreed to go or the original $50 credit. He asked if ‘I was going to get a coffee’, insinuating he would also cover my coffee adding insult to injury. I explained I didn’t want anything except to explain to him what had happened and that the entire experience of staying in the hotel was a very awful upsetting experience. To date, I never heard from the hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin M, Marketing Specialist at Crosswaters Resort
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear Savvytravels385, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and please accept our most sincere apologies for the situation. We also apologize as our team has been trying to connect with you to further discuss however we believe we may have the wrong phone number associated to your reservation. Smit, one of our Assistant Front Office Managers who spoke with you prior to departure, has attempted to connect as well as another one of our other Assistant Front Office Managers via phone with no success. We truly hope to be able to connect with you to rectify the situation and ask if you may be able to call us at 403.591.7711 and ask to connect with a leader or by email at fol@lodgeatkananaskis.com. Again, please accept our most sincere apologies and we hope to be able to connect with you soon. Thank you, Erin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam z wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Paid an extra $40/night in hidden fees above and beyond the room rate: "Destination Marketing Fees", "Resort Fees", "Tourism Levies", + GST on all of these cash-grab fees. Shady business practice which definitely left a bad taste in our mouths.

We splurged for room service which we don't usually do and the experience was quite dissapointing. Food arrived cold, and the provided dinnerware was just just plastic take-out containers and flimsy plastic forks/knives. For the price I kind of expected real dinnerware at least. Ironically, their plastic take-out containers were compostable, but real dinnerware would have been much more environmentally friendly.

We had two meals at the Blacktail Bar and the food was excellent in both cases.

Rooms were spartan but clean. The first room we were given had no view (just a wall of trees), but we were moved on request to different room which had a better view.

Overall, a pretty underwhelming experience with poor value for cost, even before the hidden fees.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
creos2020 wrote a review Sep 2020
Red Deer8 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room booked for an overnight stay was pleasant enough. The separate shower was a nice touch albeit on the small side. The Crosswaters front desk was closed and we were required to register at the main lodge which was no big deal. Actually preferred the location which had less foot traffic even though all of the amenities were at the lodge. Our only complaint was the noisy A/C fan which could not be shut off manually and ended up running all night which was quite bothersome. Dining establishment choices are limited due to remote location. We ended up eating at the pub as the Italian restaurant was completely booked.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a manually adjustable A/C unit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin McGuire, Marketing at Crosswaters Resort
Responded Mar 12, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your previous stay with us creos2020. Please, however, accept our apologies regarding the fan you mentioned in your review. We've forwarded the comment to our Engineering team to further discuss opportunities to fix the unit. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Erin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CPez wrote a review Aug 2022
Thorsby, Canada81 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the final stop on our vacation and once again we were disappointed with this property.

We want to love this area - the spa and restaurants are great - but the hotels and their hotel service suck.

Every time we visit something is broken & there’s never any compensation for the items out of service. The apologies are underwhelming. With the price of the rooms they should at least be able offer a complimentary drink, starter, snack or breakfast or SOMETHING! when something is out of order. The campsite we stayed one night on this vacation offered free community pool passes for god sakes when their pool was out of order and they charged 8 times less!! It was just the thought and acknowledgment of the inconvenience that meant something!

We thought we would give this property one final try and again it’s just lipstick on a pig. Maybe they’d go broke offering something to make up for their broken air conditioning or heaters because things are always broke!! Nothing ever seems to be really fixed. Like how do you “renovate” a property and not replace the air conditioning units or windows from what the 80s?? 70s??

We are still waiting on the “promised” cot for our “improved” room. Our daughter is 4 and it’s now 9 pm. We had two beds in our first room but the air conditioning was clearly broken (room 2213) and it was not going to be an easy fix. It was apparent by the video I showed the front desk manager and the tractor noise the unit was making. It should have been an immediate “I’ll get you a new room, while we look into this”…instead, they sent a maintenance man into our room an hour after our first complaint, just when we were returning from the hot tub. At the time I made the original complaint I indicated that we would be returning in about an hour, after the hot tub, to check on the status of our room. Regardless, after we inquired again, and they sent a guy to check it out, then they finally switched our room to the “only available room at the moment” - 1 bed with a king instead of two beds. He assured me we would have a cot for our daughter and it still hasn’t come.

It’s now been over almost two hours and the cot hasn’t come. At this point our daughter is sleeping in our bed and we won’t be waking her up to move her to her own bed even though she would have a more restful sleep.

Again, I’m not anticipating any apologies or acknowledgement of not living up to the promises made.

Overall, I’m disappointed and should have known better to try this spot again. I won’t be returning in the future.

There’s lots of better options to be had and anyone considering stopping here for a night should keep on going to Calgary, Canmore or Banff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid all together.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danielle T wrote a review Oct 2022
Lethbridge, Canada5 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is overpriced for what you get. If you are looking at an experience that matches the price point - move on. First of all, as other's reviews pointed out, there is no reception at the front desk leaving you wander to find check in/registration in the main lodge next door. Apparently, this is a pet friendly location but the barking here and there didn't add to the zen nordic spa weekend I had planned. My room smelled of wet pets and the floor was visually clean but deeply dirty. My feet were black after walking around with bare feet. The grout in shower tiles were dirty and need a good scrub. We discovered soiled sheets on one bed and small sheets on the other. Now, as a seasoned traveler, I can understand there are things that happen, but back to the price. Definitely not a "Resort" the staff claims this site to be. I was sad a neighboring PUB on property was closed down this weekend so that was an unknown loss for us as we wanted to do some later evening socializing. There were positive things! I do want to mention front desk and staff were receptive and responsive to the soiled and small sheet problem. Housekeeping and staff all over the property were amazing and the food was delicious. Drinks, also delicious, but insanely expensive which is too bad because I feel the lounge and restaurants lost out on our attendance throughout the weekend. In the future I would stay in Canmore or Banff, unless the price drops significantly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicole_Alberta wrote a review Nov 2021
Lethbridge, Canada28 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We placed an order for takeout for dinner and we were told to pick it up in 30 minutes. Upon arriving to pick it up, the restaurant staff had no idea what we were talking about. We had to replace the order and wait for it. When we got our food, we didn’t get any takeout cutlery. Then our bottled water was missing. The staff realized they don’t even stock the bottled water that they sold us and so while standing there and waiting with our cooling food, the employees had to run to a different restaurant to try to find our bottled water that we paid for with our meal.

Mattress was extremely worn and in need of replacement. It had a huge crack down the middle that made for an impossible sleep.

Upon check out, we mentioned the mattress and showed a picture, they credited us the resort fee, which just added salt to the wound considering it’s such a small amount.

I followed up with the hotel via email and their “how did we do?” survey over a week ago and I haven’t heard a thing back. I guess they don’t care about their guests after they check out.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
reyes wrote a review Feb 2023
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
we went to crosswater and i must say the experience wasn’t great . The hotel wasn’t prepared to number of people coming in . They don’t have enough robes and slippers we have to go walk twice to pomoroy reception to get it and was told that they will bring it in the room we waited for an hour. We just ended up going to the pool and bringing our clothes instead. The restaurant wasn’t good as well cedar cancelled my reservation then we went to forte for breakfast and was told that they just have an hour left for brunch and stopped taking guest looks like they just want to turn down people cause you only have no choice other than going to the cafe area. Staff are not welcoming , this is a expensive place to stay and people expect a great service .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jack M wrote a review Mar 2023
Parksville, Canada10 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was unheated (15-17C) for our stay, The Crosswaters was essentially closed, virtually no one staying there and front desk unmanned...you had to go to the main hotel in the complex, and you were charged a fee for using the pool, etc. at the main hotel, a fact which was not made clear. Finally, we are still fighting to get our $100 damage deposit refunded. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael S wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel and restaurant staff were execellent. The food at all the restaurants was good. The hiking trails and access to recreational activities of the area were wonderful.

The room was average. Carpet needed to be cleaned, window would not open and air conditioner really never worked; the a/c was something out of the 1980's. Thought you could at least open the one window to get the mountain air, but handle broke off in my hand while trying to open.

Most of resort could use a paint job and some wood replaced.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Upgrade to Marriot hotel at same resort. I would hope rooms are better.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey B wrote a review Aug 2023
10 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Just got here and wow the room is very dated and not very clean - dust in the air conditioner and stale smell in the room. For the price it is definitely not worth the $. Dinted furniture, ripped carpet, dated furniture…Here’s hoping the rest of the experience is better than the first impression walking into the room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Sydney
Calgary, Canada
Hello! All three hotels located in the Village have access to the Indoor Waterpark, Steam Room, Sauna and Indoor/Outdoor Hot Tub located in Kananaskis Mountain Lodge.
Answer from AnthonyWestley
The Pelhams, United Kingdom133 contributions54 helpful votes
Yes- lovely!
ChipOffTheBlock wrote a tip Aug 2023
Seattle17 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I wouldn't advise staying at Crosswater until they remodel. I'm concerned about the lack of security, particularly for female travelers"
Read full review
Happy Traveller wrote a tip Jul 2023
Calgary, Canada2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are limited restaurants in the area so it's a good idea to make reservations in advance. Also recommend booking the spa in advance. "
Read full review
Michael S wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upgrade to Marriot hotel at same resort. I would hope rooms are better."
Read full review
CPez wrote a tip Aug 2022
Thorsby, Canada81 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid all together."
Read full review
GJ R wrote a tip Aug 2021
Vancouver Island, Canada111 contributions35 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place until they get themselves organized."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kananaskis Country area.
PRICE RANGE
C$268 - C$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesKananaskis Country
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Crosswaters Resort - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Crosswaters Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Crosswaters Resort?
Nearby attractions include Boundary Ranch (1.5 km), Troll Falls (3.4 km), and Rafter 6 Ranch (1.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crosswaters Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crosswaters Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Crosswaters Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Crosswaters Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crosswaters Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Forte Restaurant, Blacktail Bar, and Market Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crosswaters Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Crosswaters Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Kananaskis Country HotelsKananaskis Country Hotel DealsHotels near Crosswaters Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars