We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hill House Inn

Groupon.comUS$91*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hill House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hill House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 380: English reviews
Petaluma, California
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Nice but this by no means a BnB. Most Motels have a better breakfast. Furnishings are outdated. Locks use metal keys. Beds are nice and comfortable. Rooms at quiet. TV are old but they have a lot of stations. There was supposed to be some on duty until 11 pm, but we could not find anyone at 8 pm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duane H
washington dc
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hill House has a quite location, and we had a very comfortable king bed (we prefer firm mattresses, and it fit the bill). The staff was super nice. There isn't a restaurant, and note really a breakfast other than pastries. But, a short walk away, the Hotel Mendocino has good food and you get a discount because they are sister...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma1913
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this review

Hill House Inn is definitely the place to relax and enjoy the time away from your regular routine. Staff strive to make each guest feel welcomed and that their stay is comfortable. Location being so close to the village makes it easy for our guests to walk to town and enjoy shopping or a wonderful meal at our sister property...

Sutter, California
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Romantic get-aways? Not hardly. I was terribly disappointed. My husband and I chose this place for our 45th anniversary. Mistake. Room was not at all what i expect from an "Inn" in Mendocino. Beds were old and sagging, linens, carpet and decor dated around mid 80's, wallpaper peeling, television from the 90's, furniture was scratched, dented and paint peeling. No...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marsha T
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hill House this weekend with a deal we found through living social. We were disappointed in our stay for numerous reasons. Here are the things we did not love about the hotel: 1. Decor of rooms is very dated and worn out. I felt like I was staying at my great-grandmother's house. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JenCJenks
Cali
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My friend had her wedding reception here, as well as her bridal suite. It is a very cute, quaint hotel. And the food at her reception was the best wedding food I have ever had, especially since I'm vegetarian!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank medgirl2001
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this review

Weddings are our specialty here at the Hill House Inn. Whatever your taste in food our chef can accommodate, whether it is cultural dishes, vegan, vegetarian or your great grandmother's recipes we can make it happen for your special day!

Rocklin, California
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We did the Romantic Getaway package they advertise with an extra night - they were nice enough to make sure we were in one room for all three nights, but they forgot the champagne & strawberries that was supposed to be in our room waiting for us. When we called about it they said oh yeah you got that package....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kbrat25
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed overnight at the Inn on our way up the coastline. We found this place to be charmingly historic and unique. The staff was very helpful and it was a breath of fresh air from the chain hotel stays we have experienced. Loved the historic feel and it is also close to town. Breakfast was good, standard continental food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonKel21
Thomas K, General Manager at Hill House Inn, responded to this review

Mendocino definitely is a break from "chain" anything as we have a very strict historical review board that allows us to keep our village pristine. The guest's experience here in our village is peaceful and the relaxation that they get is so worth the drive. Our staff is always glad to hear that their friendly and courteous service is appreciated...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hill House Inn for 2 days. Our room had a balcony with a view of the ocean. It was very pleasant and peaceful. The room was spacious and comfortable. I enjoyed the "retro" feel of the place. The breakfast was basic, but good enough to get you going. The breakfast room had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcpeach
California
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We made an impromptu visit to Mendocino midweek and got a good rate at the Hill Haven Inn. The decor was okay, a little worn, but clean. There was a coffee maker, but no other amenities. If you wanted a refrigerator they wanted to charge you another $20. If you lost your key it was another $50. Staff was nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorcalTami
Monterey, California
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Decided to take Travelzoo up on a two-for-one weekday offer. The room was quaint and a visual experience. The carpet, wallpaper, couch, chairs and bedspread were all different patterns. The room was clean and quiet with a large porch facing the Pacific to the north. The commode was an experience. It was a pneumatic type in which the bowl water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmunix

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.7 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.6 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
614 reviews
0.8 km away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hill House Inn is a premier hotel located in the historic village of Mendocino, California, with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The Inn is situated in lush Victorian gardens, open fields with native vegetation, towering rustic redwood water towers and magnificent cypress trees. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hill House Inn

Address: 10701 Palette Dr, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Price Range: $150 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill House Hotel Mendocino
Hill Hotel Mendocino
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hill House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Inn is fairly far from the waterfront, so I can't imagine that "oceanview", though technically true, would be worth the extra $.”
sfboyn2000, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“End rooms have wood fireplace, second story best views, lower levels have decks”
rubicon, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Betty Davis Suite and Room 222”
Diablo6R2K4, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you stay during winter months, be sure the heat source works adequately.”
PamCavanagh, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we were on the first floor , which I did prefer”
MeppsW, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Groupon.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$145
Expedia.comUS$141
Orbitz.comUS$141
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates