We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Merced

View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Merced
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of Motel 6 Merced
 Click to rate
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I arrived at the hotel at about 9:00PM. We had reservations for two nights. Our plan was to drive from there to Yosemite early the next morning and then stay at this hotel the following night. There were a number of things wrong with this place. It was dirty. The shower tub looked like it had about...

Thank geigerusa
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this motel for 1 night with my husband. We arrived very late to check in (around 11:00pm). This was our experience: 1) We requested a non-smoking room, they gave us a room with cigarette smell. Once we told the front desk representative, she didn't look surprised at all and asked us, "so you want your money back,...

3Thank Neishka M
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Dear Neishka, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry you experienced dissatisfaction with the concerns you describe. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues and cleanliness concerns you experienced. Please know...

Redding, California
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The room had an over all clean look to it but with further looking the walls need to be wiped down more often. I was in a King size room and there was a huge area with nothing seemed too big for a one bed room. the GSR was very friendly upon arrival. She and the head housekeeper greeted us...

2Thank skeverett428
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I paid $70.39 which was far too much, I realise my mistake now. The rooms were meant to be renovated, this is some kind of trick as the rooms are very tatty. The renovation job was probably done by ten year old children suffering behavioural difficulties. They don't have carpet on the floor in the room. There's a reason for...

3Thank kenh743
LillyK4674, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for staying that the Motel 6 in Merced Ca. I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. Here at Motel 6, we work closely with Merced Police Department to discourage any type of illegal behavior on the property. We do not hesitate to call the police if any activity is brought to our attention or if...

Saint Helens, Oregon
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Late at night, tired, I had already moved the luggage and dog into the room when I actually turned up the lights. I have no sense of smell, or I might have had a clue earlier. I should have demanded a refund, but I knew I had no business driving. When I discovered the sheets and bedspreads were dirty as...

1Thank catmorr
LillyK4674, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Motel 6 in Merced Ca. I am sorry that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us. There is no excuse for the cleanliness issues you experienced but I can assure you that was an isolated incident. Here at Motel 6 we strive to offer clean, comfortable rooms at the lowest price of...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 8 September 2016

So the rates for this hotel are reasonable and the front desk staff is friendly, however that's where it ends, the grounds are poorly maintained broken lights, torn carpet, the smell of sewage in the halls. The room had stains on the floor, bed spread, sheets and walls. the bathroom door would not close, the shower curtain was hanging off...

1Thank Michael J
LillyK4674, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Motel 6 in Merced Ca and taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that you stay was not up to standard. I can assure you that the cleanliness/maintenance issues you have mentioned have been rectified and I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Reviewed 5 September 2016

Well, you get for what you pay for . It was a descent stay for my family (rooms and location) . If you need a place just to rest it is ok , decent price but if you are high maintenance this is not the place for you.

1Thank Richard B. F
LillyK4674, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Motel 6 in Merced Ca and taking the time to review our property. Here at Motel 6, we cater to budget conscience families by offering clean, comfortable rooms at the lowest prices of any national chain. We are conveniently located just off the freeway in Merced and are within walking distance to a variety...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Walked into the room and noticed that the bed looked rumpled. Pulled the covers back and were completely grossed-out to see lots of long black hairs. Turned right around and went back and told the desk clerk that we weren't staying. She didn't seem surprised. Seedy looking people around. Hall smelled like pot. What a pit!

1Thank shelbymom
LillyK4674, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not exceed your expectations. I can assure you that proper measures have been taken so that future guests do not experience rumpled sheets and bed smelling hallways. I hope that you will keep us in mind if you find yourself in...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

That was definitely the worst motel on our 3-weeks roadtrip. Dirty floor, dirty bed, dirty towels, clogged sink, non-smoking room stinking from the cigarette smoke... And no breakfast. I think there are another better options for accomodation in Merced. We decided to stay at Motel 6 because of their quality standards, but it was simply bad choice.

Thank hubiik
LillyK4674, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Motel 6 in Merced Ca and taking the time to share your experience with others. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience. Motel 6 has the lowest prices of any national chain and we keep our costs down by offering coffee and tea in the morning and limiting...

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Just terrible. Laminate floors are a great idea when you want to hear absolutely every sound in the room all night long. With the a/c running all night long, I think I managed to cool the room down to 80 degrees. At 10am the housekeepers knocked and shouted through the door, asking me if I needed more time, despite the...

1Thank Piercemicali
LillyK4674, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Motel 6 in Merced Ca and taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. Motel 6 has been renovating their hotels for the last couple years and are switching over to all wood-effect flooring. This type of flooring has shown to be...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (26)
Room/Suite (7)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Bathroom (5)
View from Room (1)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (27)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (10)
Bathroom (3)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.9 km away
America's Best Inn & Suites
4.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
1.0 km away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#9 of 14 in Merced
180 reviews
4.0 km away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 14 in Merced
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 8.0 from UC Merced and 80 miles from Yosemite National Park. Our rooms offer air conditioned accommodations and a seasonal pool with loungers. Free morning coffee is available in the lobby. Featuring cable TV with extended channels. WiFi in every room. Select rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Ironing Boards, Irons, and Coffee Pots available upon request. Wake calls available.We are located within walking distance to several fast food places. As well situated across from a really nice sit down Italian restaurant and an authenic Mexican restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Merced

Address: 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95341-5348
Region: United States > California > Merced
Price Range: $77 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Merced 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Motel-6, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel 6 Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merced
Super Eight Merced
Merced Super Eight
Merced Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Merced staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think it would matter what room you stayed in the experience would be equally as bad.”
geigerusa, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room without a working girl next door if you want sleep or you're easily woken by bedroom antics.”
kenh743, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room before renting and inspect it closely.”
  • Bedspread in room
catmorr, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check the room before you pay and hold your nose in the halls”
michaeljC7440LL, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Facing the front . . . ask for a room on the east building and ground floor where I believe it is quieter. It's the building I stayed in.”
JorgeS739, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$53* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates