We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Merced

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Merced
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Merced
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 26 November 2014

A lot of Motel 6’s (M6) are being remodeled. I generally like the modern look of these upgrades. However, I question the planning at this location when I have to use a plug across a room from where I was using my laptop. They designed a nice little corner desk with a built-in seat. However, you can see from the...

1Thank Don C
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

I apolgize that the design of our rooms did not meet your needs. When we are considering our next upgrade, I will keep your observations in mind. I am glad to hear that your overall experience at Motel 6 was good and I hope you stay with us everytime you find yourself in the Merced area.

Reviewed 24 November 2014

We have stayed her before and didn't like it But this time we decided to try again and it had been updated and was much better. if we hadn't decided to try again we wouldn't have known they did remodels. Our service was excellent and Taj was very professional . Would defiantly recommend ,

Thank Jena C
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us another chance after a not so pleasant stay in the past. We have been recently remodled and will be posting pictures of our updated rooms soon. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again soon.

Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014

We only stayed here one night in June and and judging by some of the more recent reviews, perhaps things have changed for the better. Maybe we were unlucky and stayed at the same time as some people who weren't good neighbours but it seemed that the entire motel was servicing some rather undesirable characters! Some of the guests looked...

Thank youkillemwechillem
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about Motel 6 Merced. I apologize that your stay was not to your satisfaction. My friendly staff and I are always striving to make sure every guest feels welcome and comfortable and any issues that are brought to our attention are handled immediately. Since June we have renovated our rooms...

Brookfield, Illinois
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I came from S.F. and didn't want to spend the whole day on the road, so I stopped off in Merced at this location. It is right by the 140 if you are taking that to go into Yosemite. The place was nice and the rooms were clean. They had plenty of places close by to take care of your...

1Thank BrianArtforAnimals
Lilly K, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We are glad that our location was an ideal location for you and hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the wonderful review and hope to have you back again during your travels. Management

Fremont, California
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Stayed here for a night while en-route to Yosemite. The room was very clean & spacious. No dearth of basic amenities. This place was just off the highway to Yosemite (140), so it was an easy entry and exit. Room was moderately priced. There is a McD adjacent to this hotel, so unavailability of breakfast was not a problem for...

Thank Easwar
Lilly K, Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you staying with us and hope to have you back soon! Our team is working hard to make sure we provide a clean and safe lodging spot for you and your family. Thanks for your wonderful review. Management.

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2014

We used this Motel as a base for visiting Yosemite National Park, it was just on the limit for us as it was 60 miles to the entrances. The motel is clean the rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. There was a TV, Fridge and microwave in the room as well as the en-suite. The staff were very friendly...

Thank den1892
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Hello den1892, We at Motel 6 1983 E. Childs Ave. Merced, Ca 95341, appreciate your business and are glad you enjoy your stay with us. We are working hard to make your stay joyful and pleasant as possible as we are under new management. We are also making sure to tell our guest to please respect and keep the noise...

Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I have been staying here half a dozen times a year for the past five years and have noticed many changes. The newly remodeled rooms are very clean, spacious, but very austere. No more reefer or microwaves. Additionally, there is no FOX news on the TV which is very disappointing. It would seem as though the usual, friendly staff that...

2Thank J R W
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

J R W, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the service issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your interaction to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst on the road, the room was very basic but clean, vinyl floor, good shower. Noisy aircon but at least they had it, italian across the road done the job. Wouldn't stay for more than one night but it was a good stop off for after yosemite and before Gilroy and coast.

3Thank Claire W
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Motel 6 in Merced Ca. We pride ourselves on offering clean comfortable rooms and I am glad that we met those expectations for you. I apologize for the air conditioner being louder than normal. Please be assured that this issue has been addressed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 28 July 2014

well I have to say this was and is a wonderful hide away for any of you who needs to be close to home but not at home... I found myself missing this motel on the weekends that I go to Monterey.. the staff are very egar to make your one nite pit stop feel like its home away from...

Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

We strive to make your stay with us, whether its only one night or several, feel like home away from home. Our caring staff does everything they can to accomodate guests and make them feel welcome. Ronelle is a great example of what guest service should be and sets a great example for all of our other employees. Thank you...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have not been to a Motel 6 in many years but the reviews for this property were good and so I took a chance. I was very pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to my HUGE room with a sofa, coffee table, microwave and large fridge. The room was bright and airy - looking out at the lovely...

4Thank Roxhound
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us here at Motel 6 Merced. We always welcome travellers with pets and I am happy that your pets enjoyed our pet area. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to see you and your pets again in the near future.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (26)
Room/Suite (7)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Bathroom (5)
View from Room (1)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (27)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (10)
Bathroom (3)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.9 km away
America's Best Inn & Suites
4.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
1.0 km away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#10 of 14 in Merced
180 reviews
4.0 km away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 14 in Merced
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 8.0 from UC Merced and 80 miles from Yosemite National Park. Our rooms offer air conditioned accommodations and a seasonal pool with loungers. Free morning coffee is available in the lobby. Featuring cable TV with extended channels. WiFi in every room. Select rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Ironing Boards, Irons, and Coffee Pots available upon request. Wake calls available.We are located within walking distance to several fast food places. As well situated across from a really nice sit down Italian restaurant and an authenic Mexican restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Merced

Address: 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95341-5348
Region: United States > California > Merced
Price Range: $77 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Merced 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Motel-6, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel 6 Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merced
Super Eight Merced
Merced Super Eight
Merced Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Merced staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think it would matter what room you stayed in the experience would be equally as bad.”
geigerusa, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room without a working girl next door if you want sleep or you're easily woken by bedroom antics.”
kenh743, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room before renting and inspect it closely.”
  • Bedspread in room
catmorr, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check the room before you pay and hold your nose in the halls”
michaeljC7440LL, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Facing the front . . . ask for a room on the east building and ground floor where I believe it is quieter. It's the building I stayed in.”
JorgeS739, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$63* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates