We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Munras Inn

Show Prices
#34 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Munras Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 93: English reviews
Redditch
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

A really comfy room with quality fittings and superb fireplace....great on site parking and easy walk to Monterey. The hotel is well located for easy access to the stunning 17 mile coast drive through Carmel and access to the west coast route. Fully recommended !

Helpful?
Thank Simon D
Tania M, Manager at Munras Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review! We look forward to your return someday soon! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Clearly been updated. The rooms was gorgeous. Big and everything you needed. I guess the only downside is its a drive to get to anything, that didnt bother us though. Still a close drive to everything in this beautiful city. The only issues was when we checked in and we wanted to change to a 2 queen bed, they states... More 

Helpful?
Thank katieimogen
Tania M, Manager at Munras Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We very sorry that you encountered issue at check in. We have shared your comments with our front office manager. We look forward to your return someday soon! More 

Bay Area, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Tried to check-in to our room at the designated time but was told the room wasn't ready but to come back in 45 minutes. We drove around town, came back, tried to check in again but were told it still wasn't ready and to come back in an hour. By this time it was getting annoying. We had dinner reservations... More 

Helpful?
Thank ToughMary
Tania M, Manager at Munras Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We have shared your comments with key staff leaders and are sorry for the inconvenience you had. We hope to welcome you back soon!. More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

An awesome venue to stay a few days. A bit of a walk, but the benefits are there. Beautiful room, amenities, friendly couple behind the desk. Really modern and updated. Clean and welcoming. The breakfast was the weak point, just packaged stuff as there is no kitchen and you just take back to your room and microwave, but it's all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill D
Tania M, Manager at Munras Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a nice review. We are sorry for the inconvenience we are looking into creating a bigger area for our breakfast in the near future. We look forward to your return soon! More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

This motel is completely over priced, I was shocked when we arrived and went to the front desk and said we did not want to stay as it was not as advertised. They would not refund my card so then followed a farcical debate over the next hour where I was given all manner of excuses, eventually after I called... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ninewest
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We were pleasantly surprised as to how nice the room was with Fireplace comfy bed a very clean. Lovely modern décor I would stay there again. You can walk to shops and restaurants. 'The man behind the front desk friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank laurafr0mag0ura
Tania M, Manager at Munras Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We look forward to your return! More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel the night before required as due to the wild fires we had to change our holiday route. On arrival the building looks like a motel and the corridors to the rooms were concerning. There is an exit into the Main Street which isn't locked at night so anyone could wander in. However, the rooms were spacious,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SixofusBristol
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Let me preface this review by stating that I understand the concept that “One must sell peanuts when the circus is in town”. We were in town for Monterey’s Car Week & had stayed in this neighborhood on 2 previous visits. We chose the Munras Inn largely based in the room photos posted on the internet. To be clear, the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BBB57
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the Munras Inn. The rooms are clean and really nicely furnished, and the beds are comfortable. Our room also had a gas fireplace which was a surprise. You can really tell the owners take great pride in their hotel! In addition the location can't be beat. Highly recommend, and would definitely stay there again. (and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy B
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed one night en route to San Francisco. We arrived much later than expected at night as roads into Monterey closed due to forest fires but the man on reception was very welcoming and friendly. Our rooms were very comfortable and spacious. As mentioned by others the breakfast was very basic and a bit of a disappointment however as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mrs C

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 km away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#36 of 55 in Monterey
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 55 in Monterey
1,960 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#25 of 55 in Monterey
946 reviews
0.1 km away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Munras Inn located 2 miles away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium, We serve daily continental breakfast and offers guest rooms with free Wi-Fi. Free Parking for guests during their stay. We are conveniently located in downtown Monterey. Short distance to the beach, Old Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Shopping and Dining. Outside Sun Deck. Our large spacious rooms include: fireplaces, microwaves, refrigerators, televisions, expanded cable and HBO, iron and ironing boards, alarm clocks, in room telephones, wake up service, personal concierge and more. Some adjoining rooms available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Munras Inn

Address: 1010 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Monterey)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: $111 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Munras Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Munras Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Munras Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Munras Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look at room before you unpack & settle in.”
 of 5 bubbles BBB57, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The king bedroom with fireplace is perfect”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the lower level of the building away from reception ,very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Bassdog24, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We liked the room in the separate building, first room on the 2nd floor over looking the side street.”
 of 5 bubbles justtagalong, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Any king size bed is great here”
 of 5 bubbles arnese13, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay