We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Earn Double Points On All Stays
Booking.com
US$221
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-12
Expedia.com
US$221
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-12
Vio.com
US$217
View deal
Hotels.comUS$221
Small Metro/TownUS$221
Lol.travelUS$282
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (152)
360
Panoramas (9)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 32 hotels in Napa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Discover Napa from a local's perspective when you stay at Hotel Napa Valley, a historic landmark (est. 1874). Fireplaces & featherbeds in all of our newly restored rooms. No pool, no elevator, but a great home town vibe, plus evening wine reception & chocolates each night, as well as VIP privileges at some of Napa's finest restaurants & wineries. Walk to shops, wine tasting rooms & 50 restaurants!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn Double Points On All Stays
409Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 289
  • 73
  • 31
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Leslie wrote a review Jan. 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed in this quaint historic hotel and loved it. The room was small but had a private bathroom with a large shower. The room was nicely furnished and we had a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs. Breakfast was amazing, freshly prepared each morning and served in the downstairs breakfast room. Coffee, snacks and beverages were available (some for purchase) in the main lobby area. The bed was very comfortable, parking was good and the location was excellent. Within walking distance to the downtown area of Napa. Staff were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so very much for your feedback, we truly appreciate it! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and some of the amenities we had offered. Our location is truly unbeatable. We can't wait to share your great comments to the rest of the staff. Again, thank you very much for staying with us! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Napa. Best Regards, Dolly King
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MLZZimmer wrote a review Apr. 2022
Austin, Texas8 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful Inn. I was with a small group, celebrating my best friends 50th birthday and we choose the Hotel Napa Valley based on location, and previous reviews. This place did not DISSAPOINT! Dolly, the inn keeper is amazing.. She greeted us from the beginning of our 4 night stay with a smile, conversation, helped with rooms locations and continued to greet us every second we saw her. I miss Dolly!! I was woken every morning with the wonderful aroma of coffee brewing in the Inn, her daily breakfast, and her smile kicked off our groups day every morning, we all looked forward to her. If you are on the fence, please do not hesitate! Book this place! I absolutely will be staying here again, and will request my room 14!! The location of the inn to walk to downtown Napa is amazing also. Thank you Dolly and staff for making my stay a great one and also for making my best friend, Bethany's birthday a memorable one we will all always cherish!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I loved the main house. It is a charming mansion style of a home. They do have cottages out...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Apr. 3, 2022
Hi Michelle, Thank you for your very kind review of Hotel Napa Valley. We're genuinely pleased when our guests enjoy their stay with us and appreciate our unbeatable location, friendly staff and of course our beautiful Victorian house. Our goal is to impress all our guests with clean, spacious accommodations so we're thrilled to know we accomplished this during your visit. It would be a pleasure to host you and your friends again! Regards, Dolly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bajazit S wrote a review Oct. 2022
1 contribution
+1
The “Cellar master suite” is anything but. A more honest name would be Dark, Dirty, Dingy, smelly, basement. DO NOT STAY HERE. It really ruined the Napa experience. I couldn’t believe they had the audacity to charge over $300 per night for this room. The ironing board had gunk on it that would’ve ruined my shirt had I not seen it, it doesn’t seem to have been washed in over a decade. Chips and cracks on the tile throughout. The walls are filthy, not just scuffs, actual filthy fingerprints throughout. Everytime you walk in the room will remind you of how dirty it is with a whiff of foul odor that will hit you in the face. The bathroom light is an LED light designed for a commercial office. It sends off motel 6 in Oklahoma vibes. This is money I will forever regret spending, don’t make the same mistake. Breakfast was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
leavesofgrass wrote a review Sep. 2022
Singapore, Singapore57 contributions118 helpful votes
Like some of the other guests here, I had high expectations based on the Trip Advisor rating and photos. Don't believe them - this dilapidated hotel is showing its age. I got stuck with a tiny room way at the back, darkly lit and musky, and not the least charming. The entire place could use with some renovation. Breakfast was spartan, and I left right after breakfast. Glad I stayed only a night, definitely not worth US$450!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
EMT_Chris wrote a review Aug. 2022
Southold, New York841 contributions387 helpful votes
Chose this hotel based on reviews and location. So glad we stayed here. Take a step back in time in this cozy home. The staff are excellent. Kept in constant contact about preparedness of room and codes to get in and out. The rooms are well decorated, clean, comfy beds and tiled bath. Early morning coffee in the parlor. Our favorite was going to the wine cellar for breakfast. Hot, delicious and plentiful protein, fruit and a sweet treat plated and served. The quiet neighborhood feel is charming and within walking distance of all to see downtown. We would definitely stay again when in the area. Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking in rear. Close to downtown
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
gillben wrote a review Jul. 2022
Kent, UK12 contributions1 helpful vote
B&B located on a quiet residential street a few minutes walk from the centre of Napa. Friendly and efficient staff; comfortable bed; simple but tasty breakfast, all housed in a pretty, characterful house, Perfect base from which to explore.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bluegardenia777 wrote a review Jun. 2022
San Leandro, California25 contributions5 helpful votes
From the photos of this place and the reviews and the price we had high expectations for our overnight stay. We were disappointed beginning with the self check in to the size of the room which the photos made to look larger. No customer service
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Pack light. There’s not a lot of room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Jun. 30, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We tried to give our guests an access to the rooms as easy as possible with less contact, our Innkeepers are available 24 hours if there are any concerns or questions. We do have larger rooms if you happen to be in Napa again, please let us know and we can book you in those larger rooms. Thank you for staying with us. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kyle M. wrote a review May 2022
Dublin, Ohio163 contributions162 helpful votes
My wife and I did 3 nights at the Hotel Napa Valley in March for our anniversary, and overall we really enjoyed our stay. We booked the hotel using a Hotwire Hot Rate deal, so we got an amazing price for the room. The only negative was we were in one of the queen rooms in one of the out buildings instead of the main house, but it ended up being fine because it was quiet; I think we were the only people in the unit for 2 of the 3 nights. The room was very small, only maybe 2 feet on each side of the bed, but we were out and about all day so it wasn't too big of a deal. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great, so the room itself was fine. The only thing we would have changed in the room were the electrical outlets. There was only 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the bathroom, and the one in the bedroom was very loose and we had a heck of a time getting our phones to charge at night. Check-in was great, we were texted the access code to the room before we arrived, so we never had to go to the front desk. The lobby did have free snacks you could grab, and a fridge with drinks for purchase for very cheap. We also really enjoyed the included breakfast and thought the food was great and more than enough to fill is up. The location of the hotel was also very convenient, it was just a few minute walk from the hotel to the main strip with all the shops and restaurants. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel had a great location and was an excellent value. however, if we went back to Napa we may opt for one of the larger resorts with a pool like the Westin or the Archer. But if you just need a clean, quiet hotel to use as a hub for winery tours, the Hotel Napa Valley is a great choice. If you have any questions about the hotel I'd be more than happy to answer them. Thanks for reading!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Getting one of the king rooms in the main building would have been our first choice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded May 10, 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. our location is truly unbeatable. We will look into the electrical outlets that you mentioned. Thanks again for staying with us. Regards, Dolly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon K wrote a review Mar. 2022
Santa Cruz, California2 contributions
We spent last weekend in Napa and the Hotel Napa Valley got lovely reviews. We liked the location for its walkability and convenient parking, and appreciated the pre-arrival text and the contactless check-in. We did not partake in breakfast, but did have coffee one morning. We expected a quaint and historic building, and did not mind the small room and drafty bathroom. We were in one of the cottages, and our main complaint was the noise. We were woken up both nights by our neighbors talking and having the TV on, and were awoken again at 2am when someone was pacing around the adjacent room. I don't think they were trying to be noisy but the walls were so paper thin it was as if they were in the room with us. Unfortunately would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Mar. 8, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry to hear about the noise that you had experienced. Thank you for staying with us. Regards, Dolly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
doggymama2014 wrote a review Dec. 2021
Vienna, Virginia3 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a lovely boutique hotel in a quiet area of Napa, just a few blocks from the action. Rooms are small but well-appointed, coffee/tea and snacks available in the lobby, and the included breakfast was wonderful. Despite a few issues - low water pressure, loose bathroom floor tiles and creaky floors - the property is well-maintained and has a wonderful cozy vibe to it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dolly King, Owner at Hotel Napa Valley
Responded Apr. 3, 2022
We're honored you chose to stay at Hotel Napa Valley while visiting wineries in Napa and thank you for the wonderful review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you again, should you be in Napa again. Regard, Dolly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$180 - US$362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNapa ValleyNapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Napa Valley - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Napa Valley
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Napa Valley?
Nearby attractions include Quent Cordair Fine Art (0.4 km), John Anthony Vineyards (0.3 km), and Cadet Beer and Wine Bar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Napa Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Napa Valley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Napa Valley?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Napa Valley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Napa Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grace's Table, Tarla Mediterranean Bar & Grill Napa Valley, and Norman Rose Tavern.
Is Hotel Napa Valley located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Napa.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Napa Valley?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Napa Valley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napa Valley Opera House (0.6 km) and Napa 9/11 Memorial Garden (0.5 km).
Is Hotel Napa Valley accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.