Elm House Inn

Elm House Inn

Traveller (524)
off of our room.
Room & Suite (255)
Dining (66)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 31 hotels in Napa
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
If you’re looking for a romantic hotel in Napa, look no further than The Elm House Inn. Close to some of Napa's most popular landmarks, such as Napa Valley Opera House (0.8 mi) and Riverfront Promenade (0.9 mi), The Elm House Inn is a great destination for tourists. Rooms at The Elm House Inn provide a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. In addition, while staying at guests have access to newspaper and baggage storage. You can also enjoy a hot tub and free grab and go breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at The Elm House Inn. Travelers looking to enjoy some surf and turf can head to Morimoto Napa or Cole's Chop House. Otherwise, you may want to check out an Italian restaurant such as Ristorante Allegria, Oenotri, or Azzurro Pizzeria e Enoteca. Should time allow, Quent Cordair Fine Art, Gordon Huether Studio, and Jessel Gallery are some popular art galleries that are relatively easy to get to. The staff at The Elm House Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
64.4 km
See all flights
Sonoma County Airport
50.5 km
See all flights
2,183Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,824
  • 300
  • 34
  • 17
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mommarob09 wrote a review Feb 2020
Everett, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here one night in January. The people at the front desk were helpful and friendly, the property is very well taken care of, but our room was so fine! We had a single room, king bed, extremely nicely decorated. The bathroom had one shower and tub, with sink, but the closet on the other side also had a sink, magnifying mirror and great lighting. Another bonus was the morning breakfast off the lobby. It wasn't the usual loud place, with lines of people, and usually rather messy. This was quiet, clean, with a large selection of food and juice, It was very well-attended by a Hostess who offered personally cooked waffles. She also toasted the bread or muffins for you. We would absolutely seek out this hotel when we are in the area next.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raj S, Manager at Elm House Inn
Responded Feb 7, 2020
Hi there, WOW thank you so much for this review. We appreciate your attention to detail and such kind feedback. We take pride in our work and are so glad you noticed. It was such a pleasure having you and we would love to welcome you back again when you return to the Napa Valley. Warmest regards, Elm House Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon A wrote a review Mar 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Anywhere in Napa Valley it is difficult to find an affordable place to stay so we were excited to find this very reasonable Inn at the last minute very close to downtown Napa! There are not many rooms and even though it appears to be a small hotel it felt like a cozy BnB. Our room was large in the adjoining building. Comfy bed and pillows, coffee maker and mini-fridge, large bathroom with sink plus another vanity area with sink. Breakfast was perfect. I can't have gluten or dairy and they had almond milk and could poach or scramble eggs on request. They also had gluten-free bread. Oatmeal(with coconut, walnuts, brown sugar, raisins, etc), large waffles on request plus traditional continental fare. Outdoor spa. Super friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't complain about anything!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raj S, General Manager at Elm House Inn
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Hello Sharon, thank you for this awesome review. We are so glad we were able to accommodate you. We are happy that you had such a wonderful experience with our staff, your room and our breakfast. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Warmest wishes, Elm House Inn Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelingFinches07 wrote a review Mar 2020
San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in February, 2020. We visit Napa every other year and have stayed at the Elm House Inn on 5 previous occasions. For the first time, we've noticed some declining standards.

The pluses are the rooms and common areas are well maintained and very comfortable, the staff is friendly, and the evening chocolate chip cookies as delicious as ever. The two minuses are the poor internet connection and the spotty service at breakfast.

We notice the internet connection dropping frequently, about every 20-30 minutes, forcing us to sign in again using the hotel web page. This is especially problematic when we were streaming videos. We tried calling the front desk, but the employee did not have a solution. There was a card in the room with a number to call a company named MacroTech for internet problems. When I called the number, the support person told me the internet will be restarted and to try again. After the restart, the disconnect problem still existed. We finally gave up and tethered to our cell phone for internet access as the disconnect problem persisted during our entire stay.

On our previous visits, breakfast service is one of the highlights of our stay. On the first morning, we recognized the breakfast attendant from our previous visits and had excellent service. For the next two mornings, a different, younger attendant was working. The usual smooth running of taking orders for waffles and eggs was chaotic. Orders were not taken from those customers who arrived at breakfast first but from whoever was closest to the kitchen. As a result, some who sat farthest from the kitchen never had their orders taken. On our last morning, there was no food available at the 7am start time. Many customers waited as the attendant rushed to set up the buffet.

We would likely give the Elm House Inn another try to see if the problems that we encountered are temporary. If not, we will likely stay elsewhere in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luv2KeepTraveling wrote a review Nov 2020
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this hotel the last 5 years when it was formerly Best Western Elm House and LOVED staying there. In February 2020 we reserved a room for one week in November 2020. Approximately 3-4 weeks before our arrival I tried contacting the Elm House about our late arrival in mid-November to ensure someone would be there to let us in around midnight; to no avail. The phone lines went directly to a fast busy signal, emails went unanswered. Two weeks out we did receive an email that said they hoped to be open by early November but the situation was fluid. Continued attempts to reach them went unanswered. One week out we were left with no alternative but to make reservations somewhere else, but were then unable to cancel our reservation due to inability to reach anyone. We arrived in Napa last week and stayed in an alternative hotel nearby. We went on daily morning walks and walked by the Elm House. It was very clear work was going on inside such as renovations and painting. It was VERY obvious this building would never have been ready for us to stay at for our scheduled trip. All I keep thinking is what if me and my daughter landed at San Francisco as planned and drove directly to Elm House and arrived at midnight to an empty hotel with nowhere to stay?! Thank goodness we followed our heart and made alternative plans. I am so disappointed at the lack of open communication with clients who had existing reservations. There is just no excuse for this and shows total lack of respect for the people who have been devoted clients for many years.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lucy Ayala, General Manager at Elm House Inn
Responded May 1, 2021
Hello Luv2KeepTraveling, thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We appreciate you leaving us your feedback and sincerely apologize for the lack of communication last year. The Inn has undergone a lot of hardship and remained closed for over a year due to COVID-19. It is our hope to reopen this fall and do right by our guests moving forward. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you accept our deepest apologies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sonomajoe wrote a review Oct 2021
sonoma
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed one night in a very simple room. The rates for hotels in Napa were high and we paid over five hundred dollars for the night. We were woken up by a maid knocking on our door and later, as we were about to check out at 10:30, the front desk called to rudely tell us that check out was at 11. At the front desk I mentioned that I didn't appreciate the wake up knocking and time to go call. I was informed by the young lady that the management instructed her to call the rooms as guest might stay until noon. I find it hard to believe the hotel management would train the person at the front desk to annoy their guest as the young lady said but I would believe the maids and the front desk want to get the guest out and the work over with. I guess they're running the show
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reno2hershey wrote a review Jan 2020
Charleroi, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon reading.. this was a former Best Western. 22 rooms. Cozy cozy with a lobby with towering ceilings and a fireplace ignited . I loved the customer service I received at checkin...at breakfast and checkout. I also had a couple questions related to my booking and spoke to Evalyn. Impeccable. my room was huge. Bed so comfortable. the ladies tending to breakfast always offered made to order waffles. I had pumpkin, traditional, and even half pumpkin and half regular.walking into town very easy. Maybe 20 min. So worth it if you want to visit restaurants and sample wine or other beverages. You are a block or so from the highway going north to the other towns like Oakville, St Helena , Calistoga. I also drove 1.2 mi very easily to Silverado Trail for a scenic drive to Calistoga .There also is a hot tub.. I will be back and I love this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lucy A, Manager at Elm House Inn
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Hello there Reno2hershey, thank you very much for taking your time to leave us this awesome review. It was such a pleasure having you and I am so glad you felt taken care of by our outstanding staff. We really take pride in providing this type of service and making every guest feel like a member of our family. We look forward to your next visit. Warmest wishes, Elm House Inn Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DBW1962 wrote a review Mar 2020
Lawrence, Kansas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Admittedly, I would probably give this a 4.5 - but decided to round it up to 5. We stayed in one of the rooms in the Annex and it was spacious and comfortable. Concerns would be that there was no variety in the breakfast from day to day (we were there three nights) and parking. The quality and service for the breakfast was great - it just needs more variety (and probably more protein). On the latter issue, we never had a problem but it was apparent that there was not enough parking if the Inn was fully booked. We did need a late check-in, which was handled very effectively.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay in the annex building if you need (or just prefer) space
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eugene F wrote a review Jun 19
Charleston, South Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed two nights at Elm House Inn as part of our California trip to attend a jazz concert in Napa, and see relatives who live nearby. It was a really nice stay.

I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet El House Inn was, since one of my major peeves staying anywhere lately is the level of noise we have encountered in many hotels, so we try to avoid them if we can. Perhaps we lucked out with polite guests staying there. Hopefully, this is the norm at Elm House Inn.

Elm House Inn sets itself apart from generic chain hotels which all look and feel the same, other than levels of amenities and cost to stay. It was very nice.

I appreciated very much the uniqueness and beauty of the Inn inside. The Inn was extremely clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

The included breakfast was definitely a notch above breakfasts included at chain hotels.

Parking was provided at the Inn which made coming and going very easy and stress free.

When we return to Napa, we would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kehlar wrote a review Apr 2024
Santa Clara, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Elm House Inn is located about a 10-minute walk to downtown Napa which makes it an ideal location if you like to stroll around. The bedding was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Each room has its temperature control which is good, though the unit was very loud so we ended up leaving it off during the night so to not disrupt our sleep. The first room we had was very noisy as it faced the roads and we could hear every step that the occupants took above us. We requested a different room and was given one in the back on a second floor which was very quiet. The hotel front desk and management were very nice in accommodating our request so we were very grateful and happy with our stay. Breakfast was continental and plentiful. We will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noises, request a second floor room in the back as noises from the streets...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claus N wrote a review Jun 2022
Hamburg, Germany
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Noisy ac
Limited breakfast
Clean
Bad wifi in rooms (signal bad)
Parking at the hotel for free
Easy access
Towels are Good
Bathroom somewhat old style
Be aware of the issue that They deduct Money “in case you break something”.
I have trouble solving This. I did not break anything. Do only accept room charges from
The credit Card
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management Team , General Manager at Elm House Inn
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Hello Claus, thank you for the review. We appreciate your honest feedback. We would like to address that we do place a incidental hold on the date of arrival and it is then released upon check out. Some financial institutions might take longer to release the funds than others. We provided all financial statements requested and the funds were released. We appreciate you staying with us. Regards, Elm House Inn Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John L asked a question Nov 2021
Monterey, California18 contributions12 helpful votes
Just wanted to reconfirm that you're back open?
Answer from Mark P
Healdsburg, California1 contribution
Yes they are
lisasheri asked a question Feb 2018
Cincinnati, Ohio3 contributions
Do you have rooms with 2 queen beds?
Answer from
Manalapan, New Jersey
I'm sure they do. I would contact them to verify. Nice clean and reasonable place. Great management.
Answer from chazr1
Ivins, Utah26 contributions13 helpful votes
We were just guests but I imagine the management at the Elm house would be able to assist. Note: Even though they are not far from where the train departs, I'm not sure if they have transportation - However a good bet would be an Uber to get you to the station and back.
SafecoField asked a question Oct 2016
White Rock, Canada2 contributions4 helpful votes
Is this location pet-friendly?
Answer from OKEBUGWU K
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I dont know, sorry
kehlar wrote a tip Apr 2024
Santa Clara, California3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're sensitive to noises, request a second floor room in the back as noises from the streets and upstair room can be disruptive."
Read full review
Brenda R wrote a tip Oct 2023
Clyde, Ohio127 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy and plentiful parking"
Read full review
StephanieNP wrote a tip Nov 2022
Maplewood, New Jersey26 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy on-sight parking"
Read full review
Savvylady118 wrote a tip Jun 2022
Tampa, Florida70 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"On property parking is limited."
Read full review
DBW1962 wrote a tip Mar 2020
Lawrence, Kansas86 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in the annex building if you need (or just prefer) space"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Napa area.
PRICE RANGE
C$254 - C$480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus elm house hotel napa, best western elm hotel, best western napa, napa best western
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNapa ValleyNapa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Elm House Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Elm House Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Elm House Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Uptown Theatre (1.1 km), Quent Cordair Fine Art (1.1 km), and John Anthony Vineyards (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Elm House Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Elm House Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Elm House Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Elm House Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Elm House Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grace's Table, The Kitchen Door, and Tarla Mediterranean Bar & Grill Napa Valley.
Are any cleaning services offered at Elm House Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Elm House Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Elm House Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Napa Valley Opera House (1.3 km) and Napa 9/11 Memorial Garden (1.2 km).
Is Elm House Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Napa HotelsNapa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NapaHotels near Elm House Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars