We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Start your review of Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

There is no maid service no service of any kind. Nobody around for maintenance or even to het more shampoo and towel nothing. Our supposed non smoking room reeked of smoke. When we complained ny phone they said no one would be in till 7am And you would have to speak to the manager russell. Whom doesnt roll in till...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markus F
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Markus, I apologize for the service issues you encountered during your recent stay. It was troubling to read about your experience with us. This is not the impression we like our guests to have when they select our hotel. Please know we are taking every possible measure to make sure this does not repeat in the future. We sincerely hope...

Pasadena, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were greeted by a surly clerk chewing gum with her mouth open. Our Extended Stay went downhill from there. Let's start at the front doors, which do not open automatically. Anyone carrying (wheeling) anything, like luggage, for example, must struggle to push heavy doors open, then wedge through before the doors shut on them. All the clerks we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RThyme
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for evaluating your stay. I am extremely sorry that you had an unpleasant experience here, and I assure you that all of your concerns are being taken seriously. We have no excuses to offer but we do extend our sincerest apologies and want you to know that we are making adjustments and working to deliver better hospitality and...

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel had a very homey feeling to it. The room had a full kitchen in it and a clean bathroom. The queen bed was perfectly placed. It was like a little studio apartment. I would definitely come back and stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielaili
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Danielaili, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport. We are glad you liked your well-appointed accommodation and got a great night's sleep. We look forward to welcoming you again whenever your travels bring you back to our area. Sincerely, General Manager

Parksville, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well it's ok. We didn't pay much for a reason. The beds were comfy. But the elevator smells like maple syrup. All in all there's nothing really special about this place. It's good for a night or two but no more than that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meadowac
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

We appreciate you being our guest and providing your feedback. We are pleased you had an overall nice stay and loved the comfort of our beds. However, we are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here and regret the same. Thank you for choosing us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel one day prior to a flight out to NY. Never stayed at a extended stay hotel before. It was clean, they had a nice set up for someone staying a week or longer.i wouldn't mind staying the this hotel for a while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport. We are glad our location was convenient for you to catch your flight and you liked our facilities. Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay. We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, General Manager

Syracuse
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We looked for a reasonable place to stay overnight near the airport. When we went into the room we were really disappointed. It seemed dingy, not clean, and smelled bad. The front desk lady provided a Fabreze spray bottle for us to use. We should have kept it in the room instead of returning it after trying to eliminate the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Douglas, Thanks for your feedback. Our hotel is geared to guests staying more than 8 nights and typically have breakfast in their suite. We do know how important it is to begin your day with a nutritious start, we are sorry you did not like our complimentary grab and go breakfast. Thank you for letting us know about the lack...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 20 February 2017

A pleasant reception from staff in a musty smelling lobby even though the entire hotel is now completely non-smoking. Room 310 was dated, drab and dreary; functional enough for an overnight stay. There is a kitchenette with full sized fridge, sink and stove top but not even a kettle supplied to boil water... The bathroom is small. It has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Linda, thank you for evaluating your stay. Even though our hotel receives good ratings for the level of cleanliness and overall condition of our suites, we understand you were hoping for something a little more modern. We appreciate you sharing your feedback as it will help us when planning future enhancements. Until that time we will continue to place our...

Temecula, California
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The facility and the room are clean but show signs of age. I needed a bed for an early morning meeting in the area and this place is about half the price of all the other properties in this high-priced neighborhood. Everything functioned as expected, but I didn't realize that coffee in the room is an optional upgrade. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip and for your candid feedback. We are pleased you loved our affordable rates and the cleanliness of your room. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back for a much better visit. Sincerely, General Manager

Milpitas, California
Reviewed 10 February 2017

I don't remember other Extended Stay to be this bare bone. The bathroom has a basic porcelain sink -- no counter, and a walk in shower with a curtain. The floor of the shower feels spongey (not sure if that's the intention but it's odd) and it's like a high-school gym feel. There are leftover marks from previous adhesive tapes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaMilpitas
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

Thank you so much for being a loyal guest to our brand. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our location. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and cleanliness of your suite. We are sorry you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay, and not up to your expectations. While each hotel has to stay...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I got past the slight odor from people being able to cook in their rooms, but I'm now stuck with an arbitrary blocking of a basic cable news station, MSNBC. Now, maybe there's a plausible explanation. I'm awaiting the manager's return call.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Depolady
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review

We are sorry our cable channel options are not to your liking and that it had such a negative impact on your stay. We don't have a guest under the name of Depolady, so we would need additional information to return your call. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to your expectations, we would like an opportunity...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.2 km away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,486 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
697 reviews
6.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.8 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
463 reviews
9.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Address: 4881 Birch St, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2112
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Price Range: $135 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Orange County-John Wayne Airport Hotel Newport Beach
Extended Stay Newport Beach
Extended Stay America Newport Beach
Newport Beach Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Friendswood, Texas, United States

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't even think about booking at this awful, awful dump.”
 of 5 bubbles RThyme, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If your room was as bad as ours, check it out before lugging all your stuff in.”
 of 5 bubbles 604douglash, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“nothing good here”
 of 5 bubbles dipakpateusa, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“avoid room 426: there is noise from the air flow system”
 of 5 bubbles oltrans, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top Floors and away from busy street noises.”
 of 5 bubbles gobak2cali, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5