Château du Sureau

Château du Sureau

Saffron Room Bed
Traveller (313)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (62)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 13 hotels in Oakhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Estate by the Elderberries is comprised of the luxurious 5-star hotel, Château du Sureau, the award-winning The Elderberry House Restaurant, the relaxing Spa du Sureau and the private Villa Sureau. This nine-acre property is nestled in the rolling foothills at the gateway to Yosemite National Park. Located in a stunning landscape the Estate is reminiscent of the French countryside where beauty and old-world charm await.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Boating
Canoeing
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Yoga room
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Casino and Gambling
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English

Location

48688 Victoria Ln, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9215
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Fresno Air Terminal
62.1 km
See all flights
Merced Municipal Airport
75.5 km
See all flights
332Reviews3Q+A83Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 287
  • 27
  • 6
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jscottjoplin wrote a review Jan 2020
Scottsdale, Arizona293 contributions259 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Chateau du Sureau in December. I agree with all of the five star reviews that this hotel has received and will not repeat a lot of the details that you can find in those reviews. All I can say is that the hotel was absolutely wonderful. If you like the old style elegance of the great European hotels, you will love the Chateau du Sureau. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the service was superb. And, the room was terrific. We had a fireplace and a balcony, along with a 4 poster bed. The towels, bedding, bathroom products, etc. were all perfect.

Two examples of the old line European flavor of the hotel. There is no coffee machine in the room. That is because you simply call down for coffee and it is delivered on a silver tray! Ditto afternoon tea. And, there is no additional charge. One other thing is that the rooms have real keys, not plastic cards. When you go out, you leave your room key at the desk and your room will be made up while you are out. That way, housekeeping never disturbs you.

This is truly a destination property.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DarinandClaire wrote a review Feb 2020
Worcestershire21 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Chateau is a truly charming and unique oasis that's very convenient for anyone who wants to stay in a high level hotel while visiting Yosemite for a few days.

On arrival we received a warm and friendly greeting from the staff who very quickly and efficiently moved our cases into our rooms and got us settled into our lovely rooms.

The room my wife and I stayed in (Sweet Geranium) was beautifully turned out, although my wife did feel a little uncomfortable with the large windows that looked directly out onto footpaths just outside our room so she insisted on closing all curtains and blinds when dressing and in the evening. We were on the ground floor, so presumably this wouldn't have been an issue for her on the next floor up.

The restaurant food quality was exquisite, and the prices reflected this. We actually enjoyed the bistro food in the bar area every bit as much, and found the atmosphere there extremely cosy and friendly.

The town of Oakhurst has a certain blue collar rural American charm to it too, but outside of the Chateau we couldn't find anywhere else nearby that offered a similar fine dining experience.

All in all we would highly recommend spending a few days here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't opt for Sweet Geranium if you don't like windows opening onto hotel footpaths outside.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David T wrote a review Jan 2020
Houston, Texas171 contributions107 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel in early December and enjoyed dinner both nights at the adjacent restaurant. The hotel and restaurant are up to Relais et Chateaux standards. The room was large and comfortable and we used the fireplace both nights.
The staff is very professional and helpful. We used this as our base for day visits to Yosemite. It’s over an hour drive to the park but you go can go a couple of different ways and the drive is scenic.
Neither the hotel, restaurant nor Yosemite were crowded in early December and that was a plus as far as we were concerned.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Faith Backus L wrote a review Jan 2020
Manhattan Beach, California22 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Chateau Sureau is absolutely perfect. It is beautiful. The rooms are appointed with every convenience you can think of. Fresh cookies and wine. Lovely toiletries. Beautiful decor. Candles and bath salts for the jacuzzi bathtub. Makeup mirror. Decadently soft linens. Chocolates, linen floor cover and slippers by the bed as a turndown service. And a small savory snack is served in your room in the late afternoon.

The breakfast is superb. Delicious coffee, perfectly ripe fruit, homemade melt-in-your-mouth croissants, and serval choices of a main dish. And the outdoor patio is lovely and serene in the morning.

The service is also impeccable. Every need is anticipated and delivered with a smile. They are so friendly and welcoming.

The spa is also one of a kind. It is so elegant with its Art Deco decor and color scheme. The treatments are excellent, and all begin with a footbath and homemade small goodie. Afterwards you are invited to relax with homemade ice tea and another little bite of deliciousness.

The adjacent restaurant, Erna’s Elderberry, is one of the best restaurants I have ever had the pleasure to eat at. The food is sublime in both presentation and flavor. But that’s in a different review.

To sum up, this place is worth every penny. It’s everything a hotel should be at this price point, and more.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Northamptonshire foodie wrote a review Sep 2023
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom115 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
my husband and i booked 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in california. it was a long drive to the hotel from where we were staying so arrived very tired. But when we arrived a lovely lady met us on the steps and brought us into the hotel to show us our room and show us round. meanwhile a gentleman kindly brought our bags to our room parked our car for us. Nice and easy!
Tea and coffee also arrived quickly to our room which was much needed!

our room was on the ground floor, room 3 (Sweet Geranium room). it was stunning! something out of a fairytale! Four poster bed, lovely old furniture, period but stylish decor in the large bathroom. Plus the room had a small seating area and small private balcony.

the room had a lot of the things you need / expect in hotel. eg air con (although being the sort of building it is, the air con wasn't great but the hotel kindly put a large fan in our room to help keep us cool).
the room has phone, wifi (although a bit slow), hairdryer, safe, iron and ironing board and bottled water which was replenished each time we finished it.

there are no tea / coffee machines in the room but if you ask a member of staff they promptly bring you any hot drinks to your room

the room also didnt have a TV which i found a bit odd but that's only because all hotels ive stayed in has one! but one of the staff said it's because the owner is keen for guests to try and escape modern life and relax so not be glued to a tv. but if you're desperate for some TV, there is one in the communal lounge area. (Another stunning room)

there is a large pool on site and lovely gardens to walk in

The Restaurant on site we dined in on our 2nd night and it was a stunning meal. Excellent fine dining.

Breakfast is included and you can enjoy it outside or indoors. Very enjoyable start each morning we were there.

we were very well looked after during our stay, special mention to Skyler and Megan.

This hotel is gorgeous and so peaceful and tranquil. Also perfect location to explore Yosemite.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sara wrote a review Jul 2021
Tusayan, Arizona5 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a little oasis near Yosemite. It is beautiful and relaxing. Every employee went out of his/her way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. We had our dogs with us so asked not to have our room cleaned but never once did we even have to ask for more water or towels. It was very clean and incredibly gorgeous.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan Rosenson, Owner at Château du Sureau
Responded Jul 8, 2021
Greetings! It was our pleasure to be of service. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our little sanctuary. Have a beautiful day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alejandra E wrote a review May 2021
San Diego, California36 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent four nights in the ciboulette room which is the only room outside the castle and without a chimney. The property is gorgeous and the amenities are wonderful. Breakfast is included and it’s a three course that is different everyday and absolutely delicious. I definitely gained weight during this trip. Staff is very accommodating. They would ask us each day at what time we would have breakfast and if we needed anything delivered to our room before arriving to the dining area, like coffee or tea. Which we definitely enjoyed. Every morning we would wake up early to go to Yosemite and different trails so we had to be outta there quick. We had coffee delivered to our room every morning. We would come back tired, rest a little in our room and head over to the living room in the castle and had tea while playing chess. They can also reserve dinner at their restaurant Eldelberry. Which has two types of menus and the food is wonderful.
Yosemite is about an hour away, Sequoia is about two hours and 45 minutes and Oakhurst is a cute little town that has its own marvels. We needed some time away and this was the perfect vacation for us.
I really recommend trying to fit as much as possible because it is worth it. Absolutely worth it. We went a week before the chaos so consider that as well. High season is may to September.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book with them directly and via phone. It’s the best way. If you’re going in the high season, May...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chataranga wrote a review Nov 2020
Tampa, Florida292 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
5 star hotel throughout! Service is top notch, accommodation is absolutely beautiful and unique. It’s so peaceful and nice in the hotel that I absolutely recommend it. It’s worth every penny and we got breakfast included in our rate which was absolutely delicious!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moses wrote a review Apr 2021
New York City, New York2 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I'd compare my Chateau du Sureau night to a Porsche 911 with a Ford Fiat engine. Very elegant and full of potential but the attention to detail and service falls far from the graces of a 5 star hotel. We arrived, opened our own car doors, carried our own luggage but our experience felt redeemed when the hostess/director, Rani Grube said there were small gifts in our room as a welcome. Among the gifts was a gift card for dinner, only to have Rani return to our room and say it was placed in the wrong room... It was the absolute worst 1st impression of the Chateau du Sureau you could have experienced. To make matters worse, I tired to reason with Rani and explained how we felt, having traveled 2,000 miles just to stay at the Chateau, having spent over 1k for the room and dinner, only to have horrid 20 year, wedding anniversary memory. NOT classy, she proceeded to argue with me and ranted on how they are short staffed due to covid. I allowed her to ramble on and once she finished I tried to make a reasonable case only to have her shut me down again. Not only does Rani NOT understand the American culture and rules for customer satisfaction, but she does not posses the basics of hospitality. I would add that the food and view was AMAZING! Hats off to the chef.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan Rosenson, Owner at Château du Sureau
Responded Jul 7, 2021
Hi Moises, thank you for sharing your feedback. Our placement of another guests gift certificate in your room was unintentional and corrected expeditiously. The card was addressed to another guest. We did attempt to explain that someone purchased this for another guest. When you told Rani you were going to leave us a bad review if we didn't do something to make up for putting the card in your room we gradationally declined for we stand behind our services. Our goal is to provide the best service possible and we hope you enjoyed every other element to your stay. Kindest regards, Jonathan.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Agnes Z wrote a review Oct 2022
Singapore, Singapore25 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Chateau du Sureau last July as a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children of 10 and 12).
We booked 2 bedrooms which were next to each other in the west wing of the hotel (mint room and ciboulette room).
The rooms were nicely decorated in an old fashioned atmosphere with antique furniture. Nothing really modern so if you are looking for something contemporary, this won't be for you,

The Elderberry House Restaurant was delicious and the bar also offers lighter dishes which were perfect for our kids.

Perfect location to enjoy both Yosemite national park and bass lake.
They can recommend you some local sightseeing companies that were great.

Rani Grube, the director of the hotel, was very helpful when we had problems with our car.

Chateau du Sureau was a great stop in our California trip
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fitginger asked a question Mar 2018
62 contributions22 helpful votes
Is the pool open in March? Is there a hot tub too or just a pool?
Answer from fitginger
62 contributions22 helpful votes
Only the private villa has a hot tub not the guest rooms. Also the pool isn’t heated.. so spa it is(!) until summertime.
Answer from JonathanR003
Solvang, California
Greetings from Chateau du Sureau. Staying at our Fairy Tale Castle in the woods would be a lovely options for this time of year. The Chamomile Room has a king bed, fireplace and sitting area. Our rate for that weekend is $345 per night, includes a gourmet breakfast, a bottle of wine in your room, and many surprises along the way. Onsite we have a beautiful French restaurant that offers a 3 or 5 course tasting menu and the most enchanting spa. Please let us know if you would like to confirm a reservation. Our direct phone number is (559) 683-6860. Thank you and have a beautiful day!
SLA4532 wrote a tip May 2024
Minneapolis, Minnesota104 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The drive into Yosemite is a perfect distance of you’re looking for variety."
Read full review
Marleen S wrote a tip Mar 2024
31 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is unheated in winter."
Read full review
Odyssey06934685210 wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watch out for having your wedding reception here. Watch out for their mattresses. Don’t plan on taking a good shower. "
Read full review
familyof4SoCal wrote a tip Mar 2022
United States162 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make a reservation in advance for the Elderberry House - there is limited seating. Rooms 4-8 are upstairs."
Read full review
ExperiencedTravelers wrote a tip Jun 2021
Los Angeles, California579 contributions438 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away from the main building"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oakhurst area.
PRICE RANGE
C$1,217 - C$1,406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau du sureau hotel oakhurst
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaOakhurst
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Château du Sureau - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Château du Sureau
Which popular attractions are close to Château du Sureau?
Nearby attractions include Experience Yosemite (0.7 km), Yosemite VR (0.7 km), and Little Church on the Hill (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Château du Sureau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Château du Sureau?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Château du Sureau?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Château du Sureau?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Château du Sureau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elderberry House Restaurant, South Gate Brewing Company, and Plazuelas Mexican Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Château du Sureau?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Château du Sureau?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Château du Sureau?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Château du Sureau offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
All Oakhurst HotelsOakhurst Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OakhurstHotels near Château du Sureau
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars