We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
ft. bragg
Reviewed 26 January 2015

This place was horrible! The check-in guy was rude and not helpful. Their credit card machine didn't work and I had to pay cash. The room was tiny and noisy. Bed was horrible. There was all kinds of police activity all night and folks were running from room to room. Drug deals and hookers galore! Wouldn't stay there again if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jan d
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Staying at a Motel 6 is never a first choice, but in this case, it is a good choice. It is more expensive than most Motel 6's, they do charge for extras. This is the kicker, it has always been clean, it is on the dock and a great view and wonderful places to walk. You can see Treasure Island...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Donovan D
Ventura, California
Reviewed 2 December 2014

They charge for a microwave and fridge, charge per night for wifi, charge a fee for incidentals and claim that they are the cheapest motel in the area. This is before they mention all of the fees. $89 a night quickly turns into $115 if you want the things that most hotels give you for free. The walls are paper-thin,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bill S
Encinitas, California
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Busy weekend and all other hotels were full. Happy to have made reservations here. Rooms have been upgraded nicely. Very clean and accommodating. The walkways, stairs and balconies could use some power steam cleaning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We walked approximately 1/2 mile South for a place to dine and in the a.m. walked 1/2 mile north...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tom w
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here because they are pet friendly which we appreciate. The rooms are in serious need of upgrades, which 'I think' they are doing on the centre block. We took ALL of our stuff out of our car. Cops were there one morning, we were there for 3 nights. Staff at check were nice. Our first night we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenandDoug
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero, responded to this review

Dear KenandDoug - We thank you for recognizing our friendly staff; however, we sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had during your recent stay. The safety concerns and noise issues you described are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can address these issues...

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Got to this hotel after all the other hotels in SF were booked, not a safest place to be. Other than that the WIFI didn't work even though I paid for and the rooms bathroom door was so crooked I couldn't close it so much

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ofir H
Motel6, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero, responded to this review

Dear Ofir H, Thank you for taking time to post your review. Please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Got to the hotel at 1030 pm, stopped by security guard who then watched us closely ensuring that we were actual customers, all the luggage we had notwithstanding. Once in the room we didnt leave until sun up in morning. But we did watch out the room window as the cops ran the dogs thru the rooms looking for drugs....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrdaffy53
Alameda, California
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I pay 90 dollars for a room and no shampoo.... The front desk lady barely spoke English, creeps in the parking lot and throughout the hotel grounds.. Bed was like something they found on the alley. Very low water pressure.. I won't stay again.. If no other hotels nearby are available, stay at the Best Western Plus, Oakland Airport....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachballs46
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Its motel 6. Room was clean and the rates are reasonable. Close to freeway and anywhere you need to go. There is security onsite which some people would think that was not a good place to stay but they were very nice and very watchful so it made me feel safe. Has a nice pool and was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parsons062871
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just one night and reserved a non-smoking room. The first room we were offered (128) absolutely stank of stale cigarette smoke. We complained and were offered the only other "non-smoking" room they had left (229) and this also stank of stale cigarette smoke! We had no choice but to spend the night there. The lady in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mustan B

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
3.2 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.9 km away
Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
75 reviews
3.2 km away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
3.3 km away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Oakland - Embarcadero is located at I-880/Nimitz Freeway and within a mile of the Port of Oakland Marina. California's beaches are 4 miles away. Relax in our hot tub. Guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and Wi-Fi is available for a fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero

Address: 1801 Embarcadero, I-880/Nimitz Freeway at 16th & 23rd Avenues, Oakland, CA 94606
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Price Range: $144 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Motel-6, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero Hotel Oakland
Motel Six Oakland
Oakland Motel Six
Oakland Motel 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Oakland-Embarcadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“When booking request a room in the back or on the dock side for a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 992amandaj, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Away from parties!”
 of 5 bubbles KenandDoug, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a waterfront room. Nice view. However, be prepared for people hanging out and partying nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles nancymO1274OM, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Try for the water view on the 1st floor (no elevator)”
  • water view from room at sunset
  • water view from room at sunset
 of 5 bubbles dirkusm, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Check in early to get a water view”
 of 5 bubbles talk2p, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5