Palisades Tahoe Lodge

Palisades Tahoe Lodge

201 Shirley Canyon Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-1020
Palisades Lodge room
Traveller (157)
Panorama at the Squaw Valley Lodge
360
Panoramas (47)
One Bedroom
Room & Suite (300)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 5 hotels in Olympic Valley
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
An all condominium suites Lake Tahoe, California hotel resort on the slopes of Squaw Valley Ski Resort that delivers luxury services and facilities for relaxing Northern California vacation experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Hiking
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Tennis court
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Ski In / Ski Out
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Dining area
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

201 Shirley Canyon Road, Olympic Valley, CA 96146-1020
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Reno-Tahoe Intl Airport
52.6 km
See all flights
656Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 346
  • 181
  • 79
  • 30
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kaila S wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't tell you how nice it is to be able to go back to your room for lunchtime, eat your own food, use your own restroom, take a break from skiing if you want. The Lodge isn't swanky, but it is very comfortable and convenient. Everyone was friendly, and the amenities are plentiful. The pool isn't heated in winter, but there are (no joke) 5 hot-tubs.
We were on the first floor right near the elevator and weren't bothered by noise at all. We will definitely come back!
Hot tip: Bring your own bathrobe. The walk back from the hot tub is quite chilly without one.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Pool view is really nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KelseyGPM, Guest Relations Manager at Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for highlighting our location, units, and amenities. We do hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joelle S wrote a review Feb 2021
San Jose, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of Squaw Valley Lodge is central to the trams/ lifts and makes getting on and off the slopes super easy. The covered parking was very convenient. Check-in/out was simple. The split level condo we rented had 2 full bathrooms (both with tub/shower) and was a nice bonus for our group of 4 adults. The kitchen was practical but needed more mugs and essential cookware (a teflon frying pan and small saucepan for heating liquids, etc would have been nice). What the Lodge lacked were enough valet trollies to help transport/carry personal luggage and other ski essentials. Overall, it was a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Becky M, Other at Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Responded Feb 11, 2021
Thank you for noticing all the great things that the Squaw Valley Lodge has to offer! I am sorry you had to wait for a luggage cart. We actually have a lot of carts, but there are certain times (especially on the weekends) when every one wants one at the exact same time. I wish it was not so.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen G wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Positives: ski in location, nice room, comfortable bed, fair price. Negative: both sheets were top sheets, which came loose meaning I ended up sleeping on the bare mattress when I awoke. I mentioned this to a manager and she defensively said that hotels do not use fitted sheets. I told her this is baloney, as I stay in hotels of varying quality maybe 15 times a year and I cannot remember the last time (or decade) I encountered this problem. It is not healthy for me or any guest to come in contact with an uncovered mattress that many other guests have ended up drooling or whatever on. I am shocked that a quality (or any) hotel would think it is okay to make up beds without fitted bottom sheets.

Stephen G, Kensington, CA
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KelseyGPM, Guest Relations Manager at Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Hi Stephen, thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We use triple sheeting which is a modern approach that more and more hotels are using these days. However, this in no way excuses the behavior of the Front Desk manager being defensive about it and we sincerely apologize for that. We have fitted sheets that we could always make up in your room if you are not happy with the new bedding and we would be more than happy to do so. Thank you very much for this feedback. We will be retraining our staff. We hope to see you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carrieul wrote a review Jan 2022
Rio Verde, Arizona
3.0 of 5 bubbles
You can't beat the easy access to the lifts from this location. Just outside the property's exterior door are several ski lifts. You can easily ski back to the condo entrance as well. So for access to the slopes, it's a 10. Now for the part where some help is needed. The property has been around quite a while. The lobby of our bldg was all boarded up while they bring the space up to today's look so you only go thru a boarded area to get to the elevator and that's it. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a view toward the mtn so that was a plus. The negatives are that it seems like no money has been put into updating the units in decades. The shower handles were very difficult to shut off and we had maintenance fix it. The water pressure was low to moderate (and changes while in use). The kitchen in the studio had an old toaster (that on a low setting kept burning our bagels), an old coffee maker and an old dishwasher (that we had to have housekeeping clean as it had mold in it). There is NO OVEN or toaster oven in the studios so don't buy anything like pizzas (like we did) that needs an oven. The fridge is very small and our freezer was not working well either. We didn't have the ability to make ice in it either. No ice machine on our floor but went to an ice machine in adjacent bldg whenever we needed ice. The room was clean in appearance but the place needs some updating for sure. The only amenity that was open was a hot tub outside but you still pay a daily resort fee. I know they are short staffed but do think they need to have the owners of the units keep up the units themselves since they all charge the same rate for rental thru the front office so the guest can have an expectation of what is included and the quality of what is included.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ramiri wrote a review Jul 2020
Tel Aviv, Israel
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Squaw Valley lodge as we wanted a place with a kitchen at a reasonable price.
Typically we love restaurants but with Coronavirus we thought eating at the room is safer.
The room was very convenient for us 4, had a full stocked kitchen and a nice dining table to accommodate us. It is a bit outdated but was nice and clean.
Pool was great - it was limited only for a few ppl so it felt very safe. We had to reserve earlier on the same day to ensure a spot.
We loved the location - close to beautiful hikes in the area.
Overall a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey GPM, General Manager at Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Responded Jul 23, 2020
Thank you so much for an amazing review. We are so happy to hear you felt safe and enjoyed your trip!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CaptainSpalding wrote a review Jan 2020
Union Springs, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at Squaw Valley Lodge about 10 times over the past 13 years. I repeatedly returned to stay at the lodge while skiing at Squaw Valley. However, this year was very disappointing and I’m afraid management has taken a turn for the worse.

The outdoor hot tubs were only lukewarm which doesn’t really work in the winter after a day of skiing. I informed the front desk on our first day but the tubs remained lukewarm throughout our stay. Both the indoor and outdoor hot tubs were less than clean and the outside pool, which some crazy people use in winter, was filthy.

On our first day housekeeping came at 4:30. The lifts close at 4. At 4:30 we are back in the room taking showers and resting after a day of skiing. The lodge wasn’t even very crowded. Why didn’t housekeeping come until 4:30? That evening I requested that the following day housekeeping come between 9 and 2. When we returned at 3:45 after skiing the unit was not made up. Housekeeping never came all day - even after 3:45.

SVL has a great ski-in ski-out location we have enjoyed for many many years in the past. However, this can’t make up for poor management. On our next trip to Squaw we’ll have to look for someplace else.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bmzalan wrote a review Jan 2020
Monterey, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here multiple times. We stayed in the studio unit. It is small but efficient with a kitchenette that allows us to prepare simple meals. The rooms are dated but functional. The queen bed was very comfortable but the mattress on the sofa bed was in need of replacing.

The location is very convenient - you can walk right out to the lifts.

The hot tubs and fitness room are another reason we like to stay here. However the fitness room doesn't open until 8 am, which is ridiculous for a ski resort - we want to work out before hitting the slopes! Also several pieces of equipment in the room (the 2 ellipticals) were broken which was frustrating.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KelseyGPM, Guest Relations Manager at Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Thank you for highlighting our location and amenities as well as being a loyal guest! We are sorry about the fitness room but we understand your concerns. The reason we have that in place is because it is a large fitness room and there are many rooms above it, so we try to be courteous to them in terms of noise. Hopefully, you were able to bring the broken ellipticals to the attention of the Front Desk so we could get our engineering team is there to fix it. Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linh T wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I HIGHLY recommend staying at Squaw Valley Lodge. The studio room I rented with way bigger than I expected! It looked like a normal sized hotel room in the pictures but it comfortably slept 4 people with room to hang out. It was perfectly located for ski in-ski out and the 2 outdoor hot tubs were among the highlights of our trip!! The absolute best part though, was the access to the locker room showers/hot tub/sauna after we checked out. We checked out the last day we were there, they stored our belongings while we skied and then we were able to come back, use the hot tub and use the shower in the locker room before we left for the day. Access to locker room/hot tub/shower saved our last day there!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: E-mail or call them!! I called and they gave me a great deal.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KelseyGPM, Guest Relations Manager at Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Thank you so much for choosing Squaw Valley Lodge! We love hearing these types of comments. Nothing puts a bigger smile on our face knowing that we have exceeded our guest's expectations. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I moved over to Squaw Valley Lodge from larger, fancier place with a pool situation that looked like a COVID transmission cesspool. Squaw Valley Lodge had a well-organized reservation system for the pool that felt so much safer— and more relaxing too. It was never crowded. Kitchen had all I needed, bed was comfortable— I’ll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey GPM, General Manager at Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Thank you very much for this kind review. We appreciate you highlighting the steps that we are taking in order to keep our staff and guests safe from COVID. Thank you for choosing Squaw Valley Lodge, we hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David H wrote a review Aug 2020
Scottsdale, Arizona
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a loft room with a separate bedroom (without door). The room had two bathrooms, living room, dining table and small kitchen (with full refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave and dishwasher). The room is without air conditioning, but ceiling fans and portable fans.

The location is great. It is at the foot of Squaw Valley Resort and the Alpine Village.
From the lodge I was able to begin a long hike and we were able to rent bicycles from a shop around .5 mile away. For the price, the lodge is good value.

The room we stayed in was old and needs some TLC. It seemed like the condo was built in the 1980s without significant updates. Almost every electrical outlet plate seemed to be loose. The dishwasher was not aligned to the counter top. These are a few examples. The room was clean.

The front desk staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful.

Overall, I thought the lodge was good value. I would not expect luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kelsey GPM, General Manager at Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Thank you so much for choosing Squaw Valley Lodge. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret H asked a question Jul 2017
Kennesaw, Georgia4 contributions
Is there a shuttle from the Lodge to the Sacramento airport?
Answer from deborah e
San Francisco, California130 contributions69 helpful votes
No, but there is one from the Reno airport- not sure if it runs year round!
Margaret H asked a question Jul 2017
Kennesaw, Georgia4 contributions
Is there a shuttle from the Lodge to the Sacramento airport?
Answer from John33290
Woodland, California202 contributions102 helpful votes
don't know. we took a shuttle from Reno to the lodge.... Uber, however, is available in Squall Valley; which could be a possibility.
WPB16 asked a question Dec 2016
Burlington, NJ30 contributions16 helpful votes
Is it a problem in July/August not having air conditioning?
Answer from beckymoore
2 contributions
Generally in Tahoe it is pleasant 70 degrees and air conditioning is not necessary. If it gets warm we have fans in all the rooms to help move the air.
daniela s wrote a tip Feb 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"awesome heated garage and easy access to the village. Highly recommended for a ski vacation for couples, or families or friends. "
Read full review
y h wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Outdoor Pool is being renovated but pool and hot tub indoors are available!"
Read full review
Frank H wrote a tip Apr 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a lightning to HDMI or USB-C to HDMI adapter and HDMI cable. Can connect smartphone to the flat screen TV to stream shows/movies."
Read full review
Rick_Rafey wrote a tip Apr 2023
Santa Clara, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't consider this place if there's any chance your plans will change at all"
Read full review
joshp wrote a tip Dec 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing the village can be loud a few holiday nights of the year, but you can ski right up to the entrance at the end of the day."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Olympic Valley area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
squaw valley hotel olympic valley, squaw valley olympic
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Squaw Valley Lodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLake Tahoe (California)Olympic Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
178
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including any mandatory fees. Taxes not included. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Palisades Tahoe Lodge - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Palisades Tahoe Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Palisades Tahoe (0.2 km), Palisades Tahoe Ropes Course (0.4 km), and The SLOT Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palisades Tahoe Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Palisades Tahoe Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Palisades Tahoe Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Palisades Tahoe Lodge?
Yes, a parking garage and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palisades Tahoe Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fireside Pizza Company, Auld Dubliner Tahoe - Irish Pub & Restaurant, and PlumpJack Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palisades Tahoe Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Palisades Tahoe Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Palisades Tahoe Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Palisades Tahoe Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Olympic Valley HotelsOlympic Valley Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Olympic ValleyHotels near Palisades Tahoe Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars