Residence Inn Palm Desert

Residence Inn Palm Desert

Nice pool area
Traveller (203)
Choose how to upgrade your getaway: a room with a balcony or golf views, or both!
Room & Suite (110)
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#19 of 23 hotels in Palm Desert
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Kids stay free
Pool / beach towels
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Tennis court
Bowling offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

38305 Cook St, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-1794
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Palm Springs Municipal Airport
15.1 km
See all flights
480Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 154
  • 160
  • 84
  • 49
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeff Tipton wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms at this hotel are laid out kind of like an apartment complex or condominiums. There are separate buildings and all the rooms have exterior entrances. Personally, I do not like exterior entrances. I just do not feel safe with them. With that said, this area, as far as I can tell, is extremely safe, there is plenty of exterior lighting, and I don't consider it to be an issue. But, if you, like me, do not like exterior entrances, then be forewarned.

My room looked like it came straight out of a 1960's Jetsons cartoon. The color scheme was yellow, green, and brown, I suppose to match the colors of the desert. The furniture looked like something from the 1960's also. The carpeting was stained and threadbare in spots. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling. The heavy drapery covering the patio doorway was filthy. It was covered in smudges, dirt, and what I assumed was years of hand and finger prints where people were grabbing the drapery to open it and close it. It desperately needs to be taken down and burned.

On the positive side the room itself was functional. The appliances all worked, you have a full kitchen, and the bed was satisfactory. I had no problems with the Wi-Fi other than that it insisted I log in each and every day plus every time I returned to the area from a trip. A bit much.

Parking was adequate. Breakfast was typical of hotels these days, in other words you got your choice of eggs, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, and a variety of fruits and breads.

There were tennis courts, a pool (although it seemed a bit small), and a very spacious and well-equipped fitness room.

Access to Interstate 10 was close and reasonably convenient. But beware, if you think you are in Palm Springs, you are not. if you want to go to Palm Springs, depending upon your destination, you may be as much as 15 miles away, which doesn't sound like much but with the heavy traffic, it'll take you 30 minutes. I've seen reviews on here where people think they are in Palm Springs. You are not.

There is also an evening social where you get drinks and hors d'oeuvres or something to eat Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from candihernandez, Manager at Residence Inn Palm Desert
Responded Feb 25, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rubysophie wrote a review Apr 2022
scotland
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Well I look for cleanliness in a hotel first and foremost. We use Residence Inns regularly when in the USA and this was way below the usual standard. Dirty curtains, dirty pots in the cupboard, dirty knives in the drawer. Filthy footprints on the door where someone previous had obviously kicked door closed with foot and dirty marks all over carpet and sofas. Marriott group need to have a strong word with management in this hotel.

We had to ask for toilet rolls, decent pillows, towels, wash up liquid and wash up sponge, dishwasher tablets, shampoo and some conditioner. Sheets wouldn’t stay on the mattress and were a lovely shade of greyish white.

Would I recommend this hotel.. not on your life..
Would I stay here again NEVER .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joshua Giron, Owner at Residence Inn Palm Desert
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Thank you RubySophie for taking the time to provide us your insight from your most recent stay. We are unfortunate and apologetic that we were unable to meet your expectations during your travels. Our goal is always to provide quality service along with clean and comfortable accommodations for our valued guest. We will be using your information to better develop and improve the quality for all of our guest rooms. In addition, we value your insight as well as all of our guest feedback as we want to ensure our guest are comfortable during their stay and have clean accommodations. We will be working closely with all departments to ensure this does not happen again. We hope that you may reconsider staying with us in the near future once we have implemented these changes. Best Regards Joshua Giron General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GlobalGypsy_13 wrote a review Jul 2021
San Diego, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The mid-week price is right for this spacious Residence Inn for several reasons. The comfortable size of the L-shaped studio, view of the golf course, "grab 'n go" breakfast, and the location near the Coachella Nature Preserve and Palm Springs. Communication was a bit lacking. Tree cutting started early on the day of checkout (11 p.m.) with a huge truck with left pulled up against our patio. In the past when service deviated (unusual maintenance) clients were warned at check-in or the night before. Also, next time I'll check closely for membership benefits as paid for an upgrade internet; again, previously a benefit of membership.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: facing the golf course, not the parking lot or pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mindy M wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Being a platinum guest with Marriott for several years I have stayed in numerous residence inns and other similar Marriotts across the US, this property has to be at the absolute bottom of the list and given the combined experience from the staff I interacted with and the condition of the hotel I will never return.

I chose this property because the vacation club down the road was unable to honor my gtd 4pm late checkout (platinum benefit) and let me know when I was checking in so I called reservations and switched to this hotel while trying to soothe my newborn. When I arrived at this hotel the guest service agent shouted hi from sitting behind a desk then stood as I approached the desk stating I had a check in. He was not originally wearing a mask then did put it on, however nose not covered. He was not courteous when I was trying to confirm the 4pm check out and actually said they couldn’t gtd it. I stated I needed the check out and was gtd when switching my reservation over the phone. He then disappeared and came back minutes later stating they could accommodate me now. He did NOT provide a contactless check in either. All the measures stated the hotel was taking to provide a covid friendly environment were not being regulated or maintained at this hotel other then pieces of paper being taped up around pool areas.

Other issues I had during my stay - internet/availability of staff to trouble shoot - front desk was non Responsive when I called multiple times to report issues with the internet. When I walked into the lobby the agent was again sitting at a desk no mask etc and asked how he could help then directed me to call and he would patch me through to IT. I ended up using the hotspot on my phone because it was urgent to get a device connected to monitor my baby’s oxygen levels.

The room. The pictures only begin to describe the state of despair the room was in. The curtains looked like an angered cat was let loose and trying to escape. I also think I was placed in a handicapped room and the kitchenette and bathroom sink came just above my knees which is fine for one night, whatever, but I would have appreciate being informed of this ahead of time as I am sure there was another room they could’ve placed me in. Next was the level of humidity in the room - put the AC down to 66 and that wouldn’t help. The carpet, couch, bed etc felt like it had a constant mist. It was disgusting to say the least. The morning of check out there was a smell of sewage I thought would dissipate. Negative. We also lost cold water from both the kitchen and the sink for over an hour. My wife said she did see maintenance workers in the room above ours so could’ve been the problem? Again we just wanted to tolerate these issues until we could check out and check into our rental home so we ignored it. The sewage smell never went away.

I do plan to talk to management about our experience and I am eager to see how they take my remarks since the engagement I received from staff thus far has been less than ideal and FAR less than I have come to experience from any level Marriott hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CANDI HERNANDEZ, General Manager at Residence Inn Palm Desert
Responded Aug 25, 2020
We are sorry to hear of the issues you had during your stay, unfortunately internet issues get handled by the internet provider as we have no way of seeing why your device cannot connect.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donnloopie wrote a review Aug 2020
Arizona
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a beautiful 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen for one night on our way to San Diego and the manager was extremely nice. That was the best we can say. We specifically picked this place because Marriott told us that they were taking extra precautions - letting rooms sit for a week between being rented. That was simply not the case. The premises was packed with people and when I asked about letting rooms sit for a week, they told me they had never heard of that. While masks were mandatory in the lobby, that was about it. There was no mask enforcement on the premises other than the lobby and most people did not use masks. The pool was supposed to be limited to 40 people, but when we saw it, it was small and packed with about 60 people and not safe to go to. In addition, the hotel kept the outdoor BBQ area open to anyone so there was no social distancing by people who were not related to each other. We decided to cancel the return reservation because of this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CANDI HERNANDEZ, General Manager at Residence Inn Palm Desert
Responded Aug 3, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
msjudystew wrote a review Jan 2020
Richmond, Virginia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is very dog-friendly and the resort has a pleasing layout, so it COULD be a great place to stay...but it isn't. First, no reservation requests were honored for 2 rooms, each for a week. There is NO attempt by management to deal with complaints about pool noise, lack of room service, or cleanliness of the fitness room. Management appears to insulate itself from customers and let the hapless front desk staff deal with complaints as best they can. The manager declined to speak with me about the total disregard of our 2 room reservation requests. There is not enough housekeeping staff to service the property, resulting in piled up trash, dirty sidewalks, a poorly serviced fitness room and very late or skipped room cleaning. This property does not measure up to the Marriott standards and we will certainly never book with them again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from candihernandez, Manager at Residence Inn Palm Desert
Responded Jan 28, 2020
We are sorry to hear there were issues with your stay. Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TONKA2 wrote a review Jun 2020
Los Angeles, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to take a few days off from our hum-drum stay at home lifestyle.
We decided since facilities have opened up to get out.
We have a tons of points to use so we booked.
We got there and checked in. Despite our premium membership for automatic upgrade we were placed in a studio. With three of us we requested a two bedroom. They said they were “sold out”. Bad start. What’s the point of having prime status if they don’t keep their promises.
We decided to cook in since most restaurants are only available for takeout.
The first problem was that the room was dirty. Don’t believe they do any extra sanitization for the pandemic. We called for a cleaning but showed up hours later. Fortunately, we brought hand sanitizers and cleaning supplies. We did our own sanitation.
Next problem, not cooking utensils. We called and they brought over a pot and a pan. No calendars for our spaghetti to drain in. Knives that didn’t cut.
We washed all the dishes and utensils in the dishwasher as some had food particles.
Now we noticed not enough towels for 3 people. Not enough shampoo. Another call to housekeeping. They probably wanted to kill us. They were in and out all afternoon.
We decided that afternoon to leave the next day. We packed up and left cancelling the balance of our reservation.
I realize this is not a high end hotel. Their better hotels still aren’t booking with Marriott Bonvoy and we allowed for that.
We laughed all the way home. Getaway?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from candihernandez, Manager at Residence Inn Palm Desert
Responded Jun 9, 2020
Thank you for staying with us, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
missD wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in experiance was not up to Hospitality standards. This Hotel caters to out of town construction workers.Even the Social hour food was geared toward them. Did not feel safe at 24hour fitness. I saw no Security guard.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay upstairs. Patio downstairs are open. Mousetraps everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from candihernandez, Manager at Residence Inn Palm Desert
Responded Feb 6, 2020
We are sorry to hear that there were issues with your stay, thank you for staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JO E wrote a review Nov 2023
Menlo Park, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here before in 2020. Wow, this hotel feels very run down. We stayed a week and housekeeping came only once and only bc I called to request, even though I had preselected daily housekeeping on the bonvoy app. There was garbage around the landscaping, and the kitchen was poorly stocked. The coffee machine was so disgusting that we went to home goods and bought our own machine. HVAC in the room was old/tired and often inoperable. Drapes full of holes. Mold in bathroom. Furniture worn and needs replacing. Maybe they’re understaffed?
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No elevator. Plan accordingly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mobile730410 wrote a review Aug 2022
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
So many things to say about this place. We frequent the Marriott resorts several times a year and have never had a problem but it seems like the cleanliness standards do not apply to all Marriott properties. The sofa-bed was full of dog hair, the walls were dirty, chairs were worn, coverlets stained, the bathtub was dirty and bathroom floor was full of hair and dirt. Thankfully, we were only in town for one night so we waited to shower at home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joshua Giron, Owner at Residence Inn Palm Desert
Responded Dec 29, 2022
We sincerely apologize Mobile730410, that we were unable to meet your expectations in your recent stay with us. We will be using your information to better improve the cleanliness, condition, and inspections to ensure that the Suites are up to The Marriott Standard. Again, we are apologetic that you had to experience this in a recent stay and want to guarantee that we will be using your insight to better improve the mentioned areas of opportunity. We hope you may reconsider staying with us in the near future once these changes have been made. Best Regards- Joshua Giron General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John S asked a question Feb 2022
Winston-salem3 contributions
Do the kitchens have ovens?
Answer from Joshua G
Hello John S, we do have kitchens with oven for just our 2 bedroom rooms. Please contact us directly and we can provide more detail for the room. Thank you- Joshua
Maps218502 asked a question Jun 2019
Los Angeles, California
what time is breakfast?
Answer from yum f
2 contributions
Mon to Fri 6:30--9:30 Sa & Su 7:00--10:00
Thomas A asked a question Feb 2019
Fishersville, Virginia417 contributions154 helpful votes
How can you say all public areas are nonsmoking, but the outside food court is a designated smoking area?
Answer from Thomas A
Fishersville, Virginia417 contributions154 helpful votes
I completely disagree, you have to walk through the smoking area to get to the bbq grill, swimming pool,breakfast area, and parking area, a Very Public place which contradicts what your website advertises.
Karla S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Sioux Falls, South Dakota17 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay at this hotel"
Read full review
JO E wrote a tip Nov 2023
Menlo Park, California26 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"No elevator. Plan accordingly."
Read full review
mcbcokanagan wrote a tip Nov 2023
Okanagan Valley, Canada113 contributions85 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask to see the room before you check in."
Read full review
Geneva C wrote a tip Oct 2023
Okotoks, Canada15 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Drinks and food at the pool was very expensive for a larger family. it will cost a lot for kids a lot of people at the pool on weekend "
Read full review
Nancy K wrote a tip Jun 2023
Laguna Niguel, California37 contributions34 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid booking Bldg 1. It’s close to Main Street & very busy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palm Desert area.
PRICE RANGE
C$145 - C$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn palm desert hotel palm desert, palm desert residence inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCalifornia DesertGreater Palm SpringsPalm Desert
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including any mandatory fees. Taxes not included. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Residence Inn Palm Desert - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn Palm Desert
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn Palm Desert?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn Palm Desert?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn Palm Desert?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn Palm Desert?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn Palm Desert?
Conveniently located restaurants include Billy Q's, The Terrace Restaurant at Desert Willow Golf Resort, and ROC's Firehouse Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn Palm Desert?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a heated pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn Palm Desert?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn Palm Desert?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn Palm Desert offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Residence Inn Palm Desert?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Residence Inn Palm Desert?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Coachella Valley History Museum (13.5 km) and Sunnylands (8.3 km).
All Palm Desert HotelsPalm Desert Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Palm DesertHotels near Residence Inn Palm Desert
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars