We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Sun Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Sun Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Sun Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at The Royal Sun Inn many times and it really is a little gem, wonderful value in an expensive town. Each time we visit there has been a little more upgrading and this year see's new pool area furniture, USB sockets in the room and swipe entry key cards. I also thought the wifi had improved from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your stay and nice comment. It’s our pleasure to have you as your guest. Please do visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Burbank, California
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I decided to take my parents for a little vacation to Palm spring I am very very disappointed I wish I would have stayed some where else my parents are disabled so I asked the girl at front desk Janne if we could please have 2 room close by each other she was very rude person she said no I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katrindavoodians
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Our goal is to provide a consistently superior guest experience, and your comments are very important to us. We rely on guests like you to tell us when we’re doing well and when we aren’t so we can get better. If we let you down despite our efforts, I apologize. We have taken...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Very rude staff. Poor breakfast. Room quite spacious and comfortable bed. I would recommend it just for max couple of nights. We didn't pay much but our friends stayed in The Monroe Palm Springs and were much more happy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rasyma88
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations because of some issue with our staff and because you didn't like the free breakfast. Still, I'm glad you would recommend our hotel. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could...

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Several reviews mention how run down and in need of renovation the hotel required. The owners are apparently listening as we have almost no complaints with our room on the second floor. We have a nice balcony overlooking the Moorten Botanical Gardens and beautiful mountain range. If you want a room overlooking the pool, you'll need to reserve a room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark R
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m glad you had such a nice experience with us, and I sincerely thank you for your positive comments. We enjoy providing a great experience for all kinds of travelers, and I’m very pleased that you enjoyed being with us at our hotel. We’ll be here for you in the future if you visit the area again, and...

Pasadena, CA
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I have stayed at many hotels around Palm Springs but always seem to come back to the Royal Sun. The rooms are big, great views and the pool area is nice and clean. They always seem to be doing updates and I enjoy the waffles for breakfast. For the money its a good hotel. The rooms come with a fridge,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PineappleShagette
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments and for being a long-term guest. I’m glad you had such a nice experience with us, and I sincerely thank you for your positive comments. We enjoy providing a great experience for all kinds of travelers, and I’m very pleased that you enjoyed being with us at our hotel. We’ll be here for you...

Portland, OR
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Stayed here in the past and LOVED it. What went wrong this time: Toilet wouldn't flush half the time. Husband tinkered in the tank to flush it; if I was alone I would have demanded another room. I did not complain because I'm sure that the cleaning staff knows it and has reported it. Shower head had little pressure and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Portegee
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments and for being a long-term guest. Our goal is to provide a consistently superior guest experience, and your comments are very important to us. We rely on guests like you to tell us when we’re doing well and when we aren’t so we can get better. If we let you down, I apologize. We...

Canada
Reviewed 30 April 2016

I would strongly recommend that the manager spend serious money to re do the rooms, carpet, disgusting and stained as well as the chairs. Bedding seriously needs replacing, blankets had holes in them which we did not see till in the morning, Shower curtain well worn and stained - come on - not that expensive to replace. While there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank canadianinriyadh
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about our busy hotel here in Palm Springs. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable and that our hotel made a poor impression on you. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure...

Lapeer, Michigan
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I can't give this hotel even one star, but I did. I have traveled throughout the entire world and have never had such a horrific experience in a hotel before. 1. When i arrived, I asked the clerk at the front desk if I can get some help with my luggage because I am traveling with my sister and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DMN1955
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your needs and did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the...

San Antonio
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Stayed here for three nights back at the end of February. For a solo traveler, my room was spacious with two queen size beds. Room also had amenities such as a flat screen television, small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Bed was OK; very firm mattress and thin blanket. Bathroom was clean, adequately stocked with enough towels and good water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STEVEN D
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. I’m very pleased that you had a nice experience with us. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. I’m glad we could satisfy you, as we do so many others each day. Thanks again for your pleasant feedback and we look forward to...

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 28 March 2016

I just checked Expedia's definition of two stars and this facility fits the definition. Clean and in good condition. Quiet. View from the balcony of the hills is great. See attached photo. I chose the location because it was close to the people I was visiting. I would stay again, alone, but not with my wife. A bit too plain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retired-to-Manhattan
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. Glad to hear you found our place clean and quiet as we know those are the most important things to most travelers. I’m happy to hear that you would stay with us again, as we would be happy to have you. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#48 of 70 in Palm Springs
145 reviews
1.1 km away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#58 of 70 in Palm Springs
238 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
#38 of 70 in Palm Springs
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#35 of 70 in Palm Springs
176 reviews
0.4 km away
Knights Inn Palm Springs
Knights Inn Palm Springs
#12 of 24 in Palm Springs
152 reviews
0.3 km away
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
#64 of 70 in Palm Springs
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Sun Inn known as the “Best Kept Secret” in the desert, due to its ideal location in a quiet residential neighborhood, near the intimate Botanical Garden, away from the noise of the busy streets, yet conveniently situated to most attractions and the famous Downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sun Inn

Address: 1700 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8937
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Price Range: $105 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Palm Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Sun Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Surprise, Arizona

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Sun Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have an elevator, so choose an upper floor room for great views of the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles 642philipr, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Budget motel at a mid range price under some circumstances. Read the fine print!! If you can get it at a budget rate then it is OK.”
 of 5 bubbles DClayton, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool and mountains each have two beds. Suites are on the end of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Y4482QTmarkr, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have great mountain views.”
 of 5 bubbles PineappleShagette, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“I did not have a car. I was on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Retired-to-Manhattan, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5