We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Hotel Redding

Show Prices
#12 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Redding
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Redding
See the most recent reviews
Showing 512: English reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We were traveling from Yosemite to Crater Lake and decided to stay in Redding for one night. We checked in a little later, but were actually upgraded for free. The woman at the front desk had so much on her plate at the time, but was very attentive and efficient when it came to checking us in. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shauna S
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Shauna S, So happy to hear your visit was a comfortable one! Our front desk does indeed get busier at times, and our staff does work hard at multi tasking efficiently. We appreciate your comments as the reviews help our team to learn how we may service our guests better each time. We hope you will choose us again...

Yreka
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Room wasn't very clean .Had a very bad musty smell. Shower was in need of major repairs. Room was just old and dirty ...Needs major overhaul!! For over $100 a night very bad stay .. Go anywhere else ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nia261
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear nia261, We appreciate your review, although we are disappointed to hear it was not an acceptable visit. Our goal is always to give the best customer service we can. It appears that your stay was lacking in that area. We are an older hotel, and for that we are in the process of a makeover. I hope the Front...

Boyceville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had never stayed at a Red Lion Hotel before and were pleasantly surprised. Lovely full service facility. Large room with outdoor seating. The staff were all exceptional. And after traveling all day, having a great meal at their bar and grill was a bonus

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljoylinda
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear ljoylinda, Thank you for your great review! We appreciate you trying us out and taking the time to comment on your stay. It is our mission to be the best we can in hospitality. There is always room for growth and improvement, but we take pride in our customer service and happy to know that we exceeded your expectations!...

Puyallup, Washington
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night on a drive back to Washington from California. This hotel was one of 3 hotels with 3-plus ratings available in Redding. Our king bed was average, and there wasn't a fridge, but the balcony was a nice surprise. We got drinks in the downstairs bar...prices were average. Staff was nice as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raingal7
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Raingal7, The Red Lion Hotel thanks you for staying with us. We appreciate your review, and we try to improve our performance with each comment that comes through. All of our rooms include a refrigerator and microwave. They are located below the television in a cabinet. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you, Mitch

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We had 2 rooms for our family and a dog. One room smelled terribly of cigarette smoking. This was designated no smoking. Computer problems backed up the line as we checked in. 40 minutes is too long to check in. I have stayed in this hotel before and had a good stay. We had other problems so I won't go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear John B, Thank you for your comments. The Red Lion Hotel takes pride in our customer satisfaction, and we apologize for your less than comfortable stay. The cigarette smoke is a true disappointment, we do have signs posted and all rooms are non smoking rooms; however, there are guests who still disregard our rules. We try to enforce this,...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

I've stayed at this hotel 2 times and everytime I'm in Redding i'll stay there! Huge hotel with big comfy rooms and nice pool!! Great location with plenty of food places in walking distance! My favorite thing about the hotel is the staff, they are beyond sweet, considerate and always make me feel at home!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kandy f
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear kandy f, It's reviews like yours that encourage us to keep hospitality alive! We are very glad you took advantage of our convenient location and tried the restaurants nearby. I will pass your kind words to the staff along with my thanks. We'll see you again soon! Mitch

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights because our bathroom was getting remodeled after reading some of the reviews i had second thoughts about staying here but we did anyways and it was a wonderful stay we got a suite room that is pet friendly, very large room that was clean smelt nice couldn't of asked for a better place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn S
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Shawn S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an amazing review. We are glad you and your pet enjoyed your accommodations with us. We take pride in our Three Shasta Bar & Grill and the excellent quality of food we serve. We hope you visit us again, even if it's just for a meal! Thanks again,...

Deming
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I had a very nice stay at this property! All the staff were amazing! The kitchen had very good food and the bar was nice too. The rooms were clean and spacious enough for my needs and the beds slept well! From the outside this hotel doesn't look any different than any other, but It was a nice place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Gordon G, We greatly thank you for you review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to dine in our lounge. We strive to provide all our guests with the same great experience you expressed. We hope to see you again soon! Mitch

Edmonds, Washington
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The dank smell of mildew. Curtains not completely attached to the rod. Stained bed sheets. Thin, threadbare towels. Dirty carpeting (what was that red stuff ground into the rug?). Cracked headboard. Décor last ‘refreshed’ sometime south of 1990. Once upon a time, a Red Lion meant a quality establishment. Apparently, those days have passed. At least in Redding, California. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper1951
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Roadtripper1951, There is no excuse for the misfortune you were presented with. We thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is our mission to provide the best in a quality stay that we can. Unfortunately, you did not receive “the best we can” that day. We are going through an uplift on our property including new towels and bedding....

Reviewed 14 August 2016

We stopped at RL Hotel in Redding on our way to Southern CA. It was a one night stop and, although the reviews seem quite positive, we found this place particularly underwhelming. The check-in experience was terrible. It took them 20 min only to realize that they have mistakenly given our room to someone else... and once they sorted all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolae M
Mitch V, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review

Dear Nicolae M, We appreciate your review. We certainly look forward to the many positive reviews, and are truly disappointed to hear the not-so-positive. Although we try for efficient and accurate check ins, there are rare and unfortunate occurrences where we do not produce. Reviews like yours are directed to our Management Team, with the intent to learn and train...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.2 km away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,178 reviews
5.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
4.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms have new air conditioning throughout. Two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi and upgrade available, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool - largest hotel pool in area. Whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. "Redding's Lodging Leader." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Address: 1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002
Region: United States > California > Redding
Price Range: $123 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redding
#8 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Redding staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Grants Pass, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Redding staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always ask the front reception counter employees for what you desire in a room.”
 of 5 bubbles BenMQZ, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a ground floor when booking reservation. No Elevators”
 of 5 bubbles gayle672511, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a remnovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles Mona805, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in the "Interstate" wing which faced I-5. The road noise was not too bad.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahpX208DR, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors are easier to access.”
 of 5 bubbles 847seank, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay