Auberge du Soleil

Auberge du Soleil

Traveller (698)
Panorama at the Auberge du Soleil
360
Panoramas (102)
Room & Suite (318)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
C$2,158
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Rutherford
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Showcasing breathtaking views, Auberge du Soleil is the dream of French restaurateur, Claude Rouas. In 1981, with business partner, Bob Harmon, Rouas opened Napa Valley's first fine-dining restaurant, designed to reflect a taste of Provence in California wine country. The immediate success prompted the addition of "The Inn of the Sun" five years later. Nestled within a terraced, sun-kissed hillside amid 33-acres of heritage olive and oak trees, the hotel's 50 contemporary guestrooms and suites, effortlessly blend relaxed sophistication with understated elegance, earning a long-standing reputation as wine country's most iconic luxury property.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Tennis court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Steam room
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
1,062Review13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 903
  • 78
  • 45
  • 15
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Daniel wrote a review Jul 2020
Santa Barbara, California7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we arrived our experience at this beautiful hotel was flawless! There is really no need to go to Provence, we have it right here in California at the ADS! The staff was professional and friendly, following all Covid-19 protocols which made us feel safe and relaxed. We stayed in the Deluxe Valley View Suite which included two bathrooms, one with a soaking tub and spacious rain shower with natural light, a vanity and two separate sinks, divine! The living room was generous and warm in design, with a mirrored bar appointed with a complimentary bottle of Rose, personal note and delicious cheese board. The best part of this room was the stunning views off the large private terrace, with French doors from both the living room and bedroom. We have stayed in many five star resorts, but this room had it all, what a treat! The pool was so lovely, quiet and surrounded by the lush Napa views and landscape. The bartender was promptly available whenever we needed him, never intrusive, true professionals. My husband booked the Spa for an hour, as this is the procedure during Covid times. First we plunged into the cool pool, next was the infinity warm pool overlooking the lush Napa landscape and beautiful mountains, we finish it off with the hot pool 102 degrees. After sheltering at home since March, this was exactly what we needed - a wonderful slice of heaven in Napa Valley. We just can't wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Jul 22, 2020
Dear Nicole D, Thank you for your incredibly thoughtful review. You really captured the essence of our guest experience and I look forward to sharing the details you provided with our team as I know they will greatly appreciate you comments. I'm delighted to know you and your husband enjoyed your suite accommodations and had an opportunity to take advantage of the amenities available throughout the property. We look forward to hosting you again soon. My best, Bradley Reynolds Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CMB wrote a review Jul 2020
Sacramento, California58 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a business trip to Napa I am always wanted to go to this hotel. this was The trip where I visited for several days.

My incredible good fortune. on arrival my room has been upgraded no charge

The views from this property are extraordinary perhaps the best in Napa Valley.

The staff were extraordinarily very helpful

I admit I forgot to bring my bathing suit otherwise I would’ve been spending the entire time in the swimming pool and spa

In extraordinary value I could get breakfast and dinner at the hotel rather than venturing out

The room and location were exceptionally quiet aside from the view of the entire Napa Valley mainly I could hear birds

My plans are to return to visit here again as soon as I can and as often as I can
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Jul 22, 2020
Dear chrisbY8931PZ, Thank you so much for your review. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you found your experience, the location and the property to your liking. Please do return soon. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. My best, Bradley Reynolds Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valentin L wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom45 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very charming resort. Arrival experience was friendly and efficient. Staff was always eager to help. Even housekeeping and gardeners team when walking throughout the resort would stop and greet us. Door in the toilet was a bit awkward though, it was rather narrow when going in and out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley R, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Jan 17, 2020
Dear 699valentinl, Thank you for being our guest at Auberge du Soleil. I am so pleased to read of your positive experience, and I'll be sure to share your comments with the mentioned departments. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the near future! Best regards, Bradley Reynolds General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TX85 wrote a review Oct 2020
Houston, Texas3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I traveled to Napa to celebrate my 35th birthday and I selected Auberge based on the location, views, and reviews. I'm very pleased with the decision and would highly recommend it. From the moment we arrived to our departure, we received excellent service. Every team member we encountered was very nice and welcoming and all wore masks for safety measures. We unfortunately weren't able to reserve the Valley View room, as it was booked, but our Hillside View room had a great view and nice sized balcony. The views from the pool and Bistro are amazing. I'm still looking at my pictures. Food was also great. My husband used the fitness center and the equipment is outdoors, so that worked with distancing, etc. We also played tennis on the courts, which was very nice. One of the highlights is the Mercedes drive program. We drove two of the vehicles and we're still talking about how incredible that was. Overall, a memorable experience!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Dear TX85, Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback and for the "5 Star" review! We are so grateful that you chose to stay with us for your special birthday celebration. I'm glad you were able to make great memories with us and hope you will return again in the near future. Wishing you a belated Happy Birthday! My best, Bradley Reynolds Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adam9961 wrote a review Jul 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia76 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have traveled to many 5 diamond resorts and have been to Chileno bay (an auberge) I’ve been so impressed with auberge on both stays.
This hotel is built in the gorgeous views. We spoke with someone that was splitting their stay between Meadowood and auberge du Soleil and they said Meadowood wasn’t nearly as nice.
The auberge du Soleil offers phenomenal service while still making you feel as though you are secluded. The service is different than some 5 star resorts that know what you want before you want it. They were not all over us constantly. They stayed in the background, but addressed everything so well when needed.
The pool was beautiful. They could have used one more attendant, but the attendant that was there was very good. There were two men that were loud and carrying on, and the attendant took care of it very professionally.
The food was very good. Breakfast was included and was pretty good.
The Mercedes partnership was great. We took the amg gt out and had a great time.
Sharon was very helpful and all of our dinners were amazing.
I would recommend not getting a garden view room. The view was looking out on the parking lot.
Overall very good. This is a peaceful place and it’s more of a boutique feel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Jul 7, 2020
Dear adam9961, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for the outstanding review and for taking time to complement our team. I am glad you were able to explore the valley behind the wheel of one of our Mercedes-Benz AMG Convertibles - what a great way to discover wine country! I hope you will join us again in the near future. With warm regards, Bradley Reynolds Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
goddesstravelerusa wrote a review Mar 2021
Chicago, Illinois6 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Auberge du Soleil several times in the past 20 years and recently returned after a hiatus where we tried other properties. We need to experiment no longer! This is one of the most welcoming and lovely hotels we have stayed in anywhere in the world - and we have stayed in some very special places. It is small, intimate with a staff that truly cares. There is an aura about this place that puts you at ease and is a welcome retreat tucked into the hillside after visiting wineries. One of our favorite experiences is the breakfast on the terrace starting each day looking over the valley. The pool area is terraced down the hillside amongst the rooms that give a feeling of privacy and luxury. It will be our forever Napa home.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Mar 31, 2021
Dear goddesstravelerusa, What an incredible review! Feedback such as yours is why we are in the hospitality business. It is so rewarding to know a worldly traveler such as yourself rates our property so highly. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to your "forever Napa home" in the near future. With warm regards, Bradley Reynolds Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James R wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The website and photographs do not do the quality of this establishment or the experience justice. In short, it is one of the few places that we will definitely go back to again and again. Many of us have been to Napa Valley - do yourself a favor and when you go back, stay here. The rooms are incredible as you are really are in your own, small luxury home. The staff absolutely makes it as everyone knows your name and unobtrusively works to make your experience memorable. There is a Michelin star restaurant on site with included breakfast each morning that is to die for - open menu, not a buffet. The Spa is really great. The Concierge team is the best I have ever experienced and, frankly, we had a second honeymoon that we were not expecting. If you can swing it, you will think it is worth every penny and then some.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Dear James R, Thank you so much for the kind and thoughtful review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am sharing your feedback which is sure to inspire many heartfelt smiles and a sense of genuine pride among our team. We sincerely appreciate you recommending Auberge du Soleil to others and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. My best, Bradley Reynolds Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveler111111111 wrote a review Mar 2022
NY11 contributions52 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This auberge (like several others) just isn’t worth the cost, fuss or bother anymore. Used to be a boutique sanctuary, now has gotten so corporate and profit oriented it’s just not worth it. Case in point is booking multiple rooms for a group event and calling two weeks ahead of time and they can’t accommodate basic requests like spa appointments for our group. At $1500+ per night. I guess they can charge these rates and provide this level of service until some of the other nice properties come back online, but beware that this place does not live up its legacy reputation. Poetry inn down the street is a much better value and experience, they actually care about taking care of their customers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Mar 22, 2022
Dear traveler111111111, We sincerely apologize about your experience while staying with us. We always strive to have availabilities for our guests, but do understand the high demand sometimes prevents this. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future to provide the ultimate experience we do hope to offer for all guests visiting our property. Thank you, Bradley Reynolds
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ambiebel wrote a review Jan 2020
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are considering a five star romantic getaway or a weekend with friends, you should absolutely consider staying at the Auberge du Soleil. Not only is the property gorgeous with incredible views, the staff are friendly, helpful, and professional. We took advantage of the Spa, and loved our messages and facial. The property has delicious food, but it is also nearby other towns and restaurants. Of course, if you are there for wine tasting, there are plenty of nearby and excellent options.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley R, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Jan 24, 2020
Dear Annie B, Thank you for being our guest at Auberge du Soleil and for sharing such a delightful review. I am so pleased to read of your positive experience with us, and I hope that we'll be welcoming you back in the near future for another stay. Best regards, Bradley Reynolds General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan Jane S wrote a review Mar 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona24 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of Auberge is terrific for getting to Vinyards and restaurants. The concierge service is superb and they will organize your entire trip if need be. The restaurant is excellent and dining out on the deck overlooking the valley should be at least one night on your itinerary.

My only complaint is that the mattress in our very high-priced suite was literally like something you'd fine in an old road-side motel. Totally collapsed on the sides and I just caught myself for falling out of bed. I don't understand why these things haven't been replace with fresh new models. They were lumpy and way too soft. Please get on this Auberge!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: we chose a private garden suite and enjoyed it - even used the outdoor tub!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bradley Reynolds, General Manager at Auberge du Soleil
Responded Mar 18, 2021
Dear curlycue, Thank you for taking time to share the details of your stay. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed so many of the amenities available at the hotel. I'm sorry that the mattress was a disappointment. We will look into this and appreciate you calling it to our attention. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Napa Valley. My best, Bradley Reynolds Managing Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vacation0410 asked a question Mar 2021
United States214 contributions27 helpful votes
Is there a charge to use the tennis court?
Answer from Bradley R
Rutherford, California
Hello, there is no charge to use the tennis court. Guests may reserve a court time, racket and balls via The Spa. Thank you
Altony asked a question Mar 2021
San Francisco, California1 contribution
Elevator to premium suite?
Answer from Joey Gutierrez
Palo Alto, California408 contributions55 helpful votes
We had a suite that was accessible directly from the parking lot and was technically on the top (second-floor) of a building since the majority of the room buildings are only two stories). There was not an elevator but you did not encounter any stairs. There is an elevator from the parking lot to the pool area and the team was quick to offer golf cart rides up to the restaurant and bar or down to the spa so that my parents didn't need to use any stairs during their visit.
Answer from Sara50312
Des Moines, Iowa31 contributions7 helpful votes
I didn’t stay at either, but the view, service and drinks were amazing at L’Auberge. I would also choose yountville as my next place to stay.
Answer from jmg893
Richmond, California74 contributions30 helpful votes
Hello. You are looking at a minimum 2 hour drive from San Francisco to Auberge. While the distance is definitely a factor, the traffic complicates matters considerably. I would recommend calling/contacting Auberge in advance to see if they have any transportation options. Barring that, I'd rent a small car to make the drive (Auberge has parking for your vehicle) as a car service like Uber or Lyft should easily run well over $100. If you are staying many days, maybe the rental car option could tally up as high as a car service would cost, but at least you'll have a car available for touring around the area, etc.
mmf1905 asked a question Sep 2017
Vero Beach, Florida4 contributions
Is a jacket required for men at dinner?
Answer from jmg893
Richmond, California74 contributions30 helpful votes
A jacket is not required, but you'll fit the environment better and not be out-of-place if wearing one. Upscale dress is recommended though.
PDQ312 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Chicago, Illinois45 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Valley view rooms offer a great view"
Read full review
Jeff S wrote a tip May 2023
Overland Park, Kansas46 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you aren’t happy with the water flow out of the main shower head, try the handheld shower head, it has a more normal flow."
Read full review
Holly894 wrote a tip May 2022
North Palm Beach, Florida155 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast shouldn’t be missed, it’s really amazing. Book a room with a fireplace Bring sneakers, great art trail"
Read full review
J R wrote a tip May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Classic Hillside View Suite was excellent!"
Read full review
fh wrote a tip Jul 2021
Half Moon Bay, California3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make dinner and winery reservations we’ll in advance . No more than 3 wineries per day . Be prepared to be HOT. Spa and pool are must sees"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rutherford area.
PRICE RANGE
C$2,485 - C$3,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auberge du soleil rutherford
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaNapa ValleyRutherford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Auberge du Soleil - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Auberge du Soleil
Which popular attractions are close to Auberge du Soleil?
Nearby attractions include Swanson Vineyards Salon (4.9 km), Oakville Grocery (6.2 km), and Mumm Napa (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auberge du Soleil?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Auberge du Soleil?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Auberge du Soleil?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Auberge du Soleil?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auberge du Soleil?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gott's Roadside, Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch, and Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Auberge du Soleil?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Auberge du Soleil?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Auberge du Soleil offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Auberge du Soleil?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bale Grist Mill State Historic Park (10.4 km).
Does Auberge du Soleil have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Rutherford HotelsRutherford Hotel DealsHotels near Auberge du Soleil
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars