We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 26 June 2015

The night between 23 and May 24, 2015 at Motel 6 Salinas South was the worst of my life. The shower and taps were only leaving boiling water, we can not even give a bath in our baby of 1 year and a half. We could not even wash our hands because that water was burning, and according to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PRS25
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer...

Golden, Colorado
Reviewed 3 June 2015

There was a lack of ordinary furniture in the room. Sure there was a bed, a very small desk and a TV stand forced into double duty as a "closet". No dresser. No closet. I was staying there to attend a wedding with formal clothes and sorely missed the ability to use clothing related furniture. Stayed there three nights over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlfaGeek
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern and bed comfort issues you describe. We apologize for the noise inconveniences you experienced and for the unsatisfactory response you received to your complaint. Motel 6 standards for...

Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed in this motel for 5 nights while attending the IMSA races at Laguna Seca race track. It was newly renovated and very clean. New beds and other furnishings. New flat screen Samsung TV. Nice helpful people at the front desk. I had FedEx deliver packages for me to the front desk. I had to show ID before they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehygema
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Hadn't been in Motel 6 used them twice on this vacation. The room is not large but it had been remodeled and was ver clean. We had driven south on Hiway 1 and my wife wanted to return north on 101 we were tired and stopped without a reservation, this was the first place we saw stopped and got a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cozbill
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We had no heating...they offered extra blanket...and at the end when we were leaving, they said /lied in front of the checking in clients/ to refund our money...but they never did, and i contacted your company and seems to be after this horrible experience...we still had to pay....very bad support...!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay regarding our guest refund policy. The service concerns you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we are sorry you experienced less than satisfying service during your visit. We encourage you to...

Reno Nevada
Reviewed 22 April 2015

I stayed in this motel while attending the Sea Otter bike races. It's the first motel I have stayed in that did not have any carpet. The mattress had a ridge running down the middle of it. The bedding was worn out. The bedspread had a hole in the middle of it with a few crude stitches holding it closed....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LopakaW
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues and noise concerns you experienced. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 2 October 2014

They have totally renovated this hotel. Right? We decided to visit the Monterey area during Motor Week on short notice. Unfortunately, this was the only place available. Based on previous reviews, they may have slapped a new coat of paint on the place, but they haven't conquered their bug problem. My ten year old daughter, who is allergic to bug...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Bookburner451
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I'am impressed, last time I was here it was plain.But Now, WOW. Newly Remolded, now it's the place to go to.Rooms are Really Nice, some have micro's & mini fridge's. There is also Truck & Rv parking. Electronic Security. I know I'll be back again. So if you need a place to stay, go to Motel 6 South Salinas ca.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawnacee
Pasadena, California
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stopped here during an unplanned road trip. Price was great, but the rest was average. I asked for a non-smoking room, but our room had ashtrays. There was a strange (pet?) odor, that was not pleasant, but we were tired and just needed to sleep so we just accepted the room as it was. Everything about the room was basic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cinemaniac1
Santa Ana, California
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Yes, the hotel is basic and small, but if you are in a budget and travel to Monterey, Ca. as often as we do this Motel is okay, a lot of parking. There is a jack and a dennys right around the corner, like 20steps. Front office is great, they always keep your room reserved even if you arrive after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsMagana

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.8 km away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#3 of 25 in Salinas
157 reviews
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
2.9 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 25 in Salinas
74 reviews
0.1 km away
Inns Of California - Salinas
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area

Address: 1257 De La Torre St, Salinas, CA 93905-3312
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Price Range: $81 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Motel-6 and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salinas South Hotel Salinas
Motel Six Salinas
Salinas Motel Six
Salinas Motel 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Note that there is no elevator for the 2nd floor.”
  • The shower insert
  • Nice detail was a locker for rolled towels
 of 5 bubbles Oulli_Finland, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles gonjo, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Dennie's is next door and there is a little path on the north side to get there.”
 of 5 bubbles 429JasonA, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Never choose this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles PRS25, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask in advance about EVERY feature you take for granted in a hotel room”
 of 5 bubbles AlfaGeek, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay