We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Aura San Bruno

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Aura San Bruno
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

653 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aura San Bruno
See the most recent reviews
Showing 574: English reviews
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 11 February 2015

The room was nice and clean, no view really. The only thing I would suggest if I stayed there again would be to make sure I am on the 3rd floor. I was on the second floor and the people staying above us were horrible. They didn't stop making noise until around 11:00 p.m. and started in again around 5:00...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 719donnag
Prativ P, Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways, though I am sorry for the noise that disturbed your stay. I also would like to apologize for a number of inconveniences regarding the working order of the appliances and electronics in your room. We will address the maintenance task right away for the benefit...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Stayed in room 218, which had a short hallway from the entrance door to a large room with king-sized bed. Bathroom near the door. No hotel noise (even though the room is near the breakfast area), but it is overlooking El Camino; however the street noise is minimal with closed windows. Also, the AC unit is as quiet as I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PacificBlackBird
Prativ P, Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

We are very happy to discover that you had such a pleasant experience with us and I wish you had found the breakfast to be more enjoyable. It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We look forward to serving...

Hawthorne, California
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Hotels located by an airport are “generally” busy, noisy, charge you for parking and the adjacent streets surrounding them are very aggravating – clogged with automobiles, tour coaches and courtesy shuttles. If your travels take you near San Francisco Airport and a “sane and yet inexpensive” place to unpack for a couple of nights is what you seek, Howard Johnson...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Derrick59
Prativ P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

Your thorough review is greatly appreciated! It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations, hospitality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. We especially appreciate the tips for future guests who can benefit from such advice. We hope to impress you again during your next visit and we thank you for sharing your experience.

The Villages, Florida
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I6231ZXroberts
Prativ P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

BC Canada
Reviewed 1 February 2015

We booked this hotel for a 1 night layover on a trip from Canada to Mexico. We chose this hotel because it had pretty decent reviews and had a shuttle service to and from SFO. Based on the company's website the impression was that the shuttle was reliable and efficient... unfortunately this was not the case. On our arrival at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank spbBCCanada
Prativ P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you encountered such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent experience with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. It is our goal to impress you and exceed your expectations with every visit, and it is disheartening to learn that we did not fulfill...

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed 30 January 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 904randallf
Prativ P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

Jackson
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We booked this hotel to rest on a 7 hour layover at SFO. We thought the rooms were nice, apparently fairly recently refurbished. The room was better looking than the lobby and hotel exterior, for sure. My wife called them directly to confirm airport shuttle availability. They said they had a shuttle, and that we should just call when we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelerJH128
Prativ P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the shuttle service issues and to assure you that this inconvenience has been addressed. Our staff is held to a high standard of hospitality and I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies if you were not greeted with a smile with every communication. I also want to apologize for the morning noises that disturbed...

Visalia, California
Reviewed 25 January 2015

This Hotel was Perfect, The room was very clean, very quite, as my husband is a cancer patient at Stanford, we just needed a clean and quite room, we had an early am appointment at Stanford Cancer Center. Raj at the front counter was Great, very friendly, and very helpful. We will be staying here again when in the Bay...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
Prativ P, Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean, quiet and convenient and that you enjoyed the five star accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. Thank you for sharing your experience and for pointing out the efforts of Raj as well as the rest of our staff to treat...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 15 January 2015

This field should not be required. The hotel was a great price for the money. I wish breakfast would have included a hot protein, such as eggs and bacon.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peggyr795
Prativ P, Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

We are glad you do see our hotel as a good value for your money. Thank you for sharing your experience and letting us know how we can improve upon the breakfast and service at our hotel. We hope you will return to be even more impressed during your next visit. While we do not allow guests and staff to...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 9 January 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamberFamily
Prativ P, Manager at Hotel Aura San Bruno, responded to this review

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.6 km away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.1 km away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
571 reviews
0.8 km away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Price Range: $165 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Aura San Bruno staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aura San Bruno staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“second floor has breakfast room in the middle, ask for 3rd floor”
laceym688, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I chose two queen beds and the room was very large, with refrig and microwave too!”
marcoso839, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No room is bad but second floor is best.”
Valenzuela2, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We arrived at 12:30 am and were given a noisy room overlooking the main road. Request a room AWAY from the road to have peace and quiet.”
AZfreebirds, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great size room that was clean and well kept.”
Q8288AHlynnf, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5