We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Askim, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice, spaces room, very well equipped., wifi, TV, fridge, microwave, iron, and coffee brewer. Easy parking on ground floor. Great location for us, who was visiting family in SAN Mateo. Easy access from 101, but no no noise even though it's so near the highway.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tigern65
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this hotel , the room was nice . A large room . Breakfast not included in the price which was a disappointment as the cost of the room per night was quite expensive . Microwave was situated on the fridge which would not reach any plug socket so we couldn't use . Sauna and jaccusi could do with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yolande C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review

Dear Yolande C, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the room received. However, we regret for any inconvenience the microwave location may have caused you and for finding the Sauna and Jaccuzzi...

Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Great option to stay, for travelers like us that need to do some occasionally laundry it has all we need. Very gently staff. Room have fridge and microwave that is great. Also, hotel is renewing so all rooms have plenty of space and are comfy and cozy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diegogonzalezbriones
Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We wanted 3 nights in San Francisco, but the prices were exorbitant so decided to stay outside the city & get the train. We chose this hotel following a conversation with Jessica on the front desk. She was lovely, welcoming & she gave us good advice about the shuttle which runs between the hotel, the airport and the Bart. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geraldinecybil
Chicago
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Our trip was fine, just could have been better given choices with other hotels for near same price. Yes - the hotel is just off the freeway (convenient) but the area is not one you want to go walking in. Rooms were very large and spacious. Very clean. Bathroom left room for improvement. The toilet is VERY low to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ckpd
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review

Dear ckpd, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the room you received and the service you had. We also apologize our hotel restaurant fell short of your expectations and if we do not have free breakfast as we are a full service Holiday Inn. The feedback we receive...

Montclair, California
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Pros: very clean both room & bathroom and the room was spacious with coffee maker, refrigerator and hair dryer in room. Comfortable beds and only 17 miles from San Francisco city center. Front desk was courteous and cleaning crew and other staff we saw in the hallway very friendly and pleasant. Cons: noise. We could hear footsteps from above, sound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbown01
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

People working at the desk are very unfriendly. Not welcoming. The breakfast staff was very sweet. On a website they advertised with a swimming pool. They only have an indoor whirpool. Staying there 3 nights, the 3rd night was 2 times more expensive. And it was not even Friday or Saturday. They were not helpful or understanding at all. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dcmc1983
Kara N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on our hotel property. We value all of our guest feedback and take it very seriously. I would like to sincerely apologize that our hotel & staff failed to live up to any expectations you had while with us. I can assure all members of our hotel staff are trained to treat...

Bakersfield
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Let's start with outside. Looks nice on outside, has a carport for cars to park under which is nice. When I first checked in Doria the lady was super nice but over worked. She had to answer phones, take reservations, take shuttle calls and check in all of us so took forever to get taken care of. Now all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthonysT7447HR
Kara N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. Guest feedback is something we value and take incredibly seriously. I would like to sincerely apologize for all of the problems and issues you experienced during your stay. I can assure you our entire staff does their absolute best to make sure our property is well...

Orange County, California
Reviewed 6 June 2016

The hotel is right by the freeway. This isn't terrible but if you're a light sleeper, beware. As others have said, there's no comp-ed breakfast. The coffee maker was also wet (possibly used) and there weren't any sugar packets or creamers (good thing I like my coffee black). The freeway location plus the lack of amenities = got to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
Kara N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest feedback is something we value and taking incredibly seriously. We strive to make sure the level of service our guests receive is the absolute best, and I am sorry to hear that we failed to do this for you. As mentioned in your review, yes our...

Gardnerville, Nevada
Reviewed 5 June 2016

This is right off the freeway and the neighborhood is not the best. The positives...room was very spacious and clean. Bed was comfy and pillow were nice and soft. Negatives...I could not get the room to cool down. The air conditioner was only a foot away from the credenza that had the TV on it, so the cold air never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GM38miller
Kara N, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I would like to thank you for your recent review on our hotel. Guest feedback is something we value and take very seriously. I sincerely apologize that we failed to live up to the expectations you had for your stay and our hotel. I see that you did experience problems with the AC unit in your room,...

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
3.1 km away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
2.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
4.2 km away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1235
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Price Range: $133 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#3 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Vancouver, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms have a good view but it's RIGHT NEXT TO the freeway”
 of 5 bubbles chrisvM6152GJ, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side (away from the highway) are quieter, as are the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles CBtph, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“Room on upper floor away from freeway noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 268stevey, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There is an elevator next to the covered parking area.”
 of 5 bubbles Dorothy128, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Request top floor, rear of the building and an upgrade in room”
 of 5 bubbles Henry4218, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay