We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
202 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3506
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$220
View deal
Expedia.com
US$220
View deal
SuperTravel
US$197
View deal
TravelocityUS$220
Hotels.comUS$220
Trip.comUS$269
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (537)
Room & Suite (138)
Pool & Beach (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#31 of 55 hotels in Santa Barbara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Hotel Milo takes inspiration from Santa Barbara's most prolific hotelier, Milo Potter, whose magnificent Potter Hotel put this picturesque coastal destination on the map. One of the most centrally located beach hotels in Santa Barbara, Hotel Milo's lovely 2.5-acre property includes Ambassador Park, a beautiful lawn framed by iconic California palm trees that once served as the grand entrance to the Potter Hotel. Built-in the traditional Spanish-style architecture that reflects this city's rich colonial history, this classic Santa Barbara hotel steps from the beach features 122 charming guestrooms, as well as a beautiful courtyard with outdoor pools and gardens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Bay View
1426Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 748
  • 291
  • 153
  • 121
  • 113
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sarah N wrote a review Jan. 21
Eureka Springs, Arkansas13 contributions2 helpful votes
Have stayed in Hotel Milo many times, but the last time was the LAST time ever. First, pre paid for a weeks stay- and was given a grimy small room next door to the cleaning closet — didn’t sleep in much. Asked for an extra night and was given a great room but too little too late. And yes, we asked for the very best room to begin with. The folks at valet were the only real humans— front desk folks were like robots and even openly homophobic. Gross. NOT LGBTQ FRIENDLY. My wife was unable to ask any questions about our reservation, our room, or any services — which was NONE — all together we won’t return. My wife is a Santa Barbara born native and we were both taken aback by our treatment. Santa Barbara deserves better and so do the people that visit this gem of a place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 1 week ago
I’m not sure of the entire details other than what you’ve shared here, but I invite you to reach out to me with more specifics. I can personally guarantee as the General Manager that the team at Milo from the top down are not homophonic or in any way anti LGBTQ+. Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of the entire staff if you in any way felt marginalized. You may send an email to my attention at info@hotelmilosantabarbara.com. Sincerely, Robert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kms602 wrote a review Jan. 12
Mill Valley, California17 contributions26 helpful votes
I found the service at the hotel Milo exceptional. Yes it’s a great location with some very nice amenities. But their service is what really stood out. It was pouring rain when I arrived and having a bellman and a valet to park the car it was a real plus. The front desk staff was also very friendly and helpful at check in. I did have some issues during my stay. And that is where this hotel really showed its professionalism. When I took my issues to the front desk host she was very sympathetic and noted my concerns to the manager. All I took was one phone call and the problem was fixed. Kudos to the manager Nate and his entire team for making that could’ve been a bad situation into a very positive way. I will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the lovely 5-STAR review! We are sorry that you encountered a problem, sometimes that happens no matter where we stay; but we are glad that we were able to quickly turn things around for you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charyn F wrote a review Jan. 10
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Great Location, fur family friendly, beautiful property, and fun design. My only complaint was that my room was missing a shower door and the thermostat didn't function properly. But other than that I would stay again but me more mindful to inspect the room when I first walk in before getting too comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Charyn and thank you for the feedback. The shower door style was an intentional design for some of the baths, but we definitely have other options so that we can earn that 5th STAR on your next visit :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kirsten a wrote a review Jan. 10
Copenhagen Region, Denmark10 contributions5 helpful votes
From the outsider it looks god - however - the rooms were small and not clean - and a terrible noise from the heater - which has to run otherwise too cold .. You couldn’t eat or even have a drink at the hotel .. and no breakfast . all too expensive for “ nothing” but a room .. Only good thing the location near “ everything” Kirsten .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Kirsten, sorry that we did not meet your expectation. We do have several options, perhaps we could offer you a different room type or location during a future stay. There is a restaurant located in the center of our five beachfront buildings, and a dozen restaurants located within a 5-10 minute walk for splendid dinner options. We also sell alcoholic beverages in our lobby market as many guests love a glass of wine or cocktail around our fire pits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
323robyns2022 wrote a review Dec. 2022
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
The location is great, that's the only good thing I can say. The mini-bar prices are ridiculously high. The first room we checked into had the heater stuck on on. The second room's toilet seat cover broke off while we were using it. You could hear the people above us walking around on top of us. The light from the ac was so bright it kept me awake at night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded 4 weeks ago
Sorry that you were not happy with your stay. I know that the desk staff attempted to assist with your Christmas night stay by offering a room move. Sorry that we were not able to win you over. Best to you in the New Year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jdimas2022 wrote a review Dec. 2022
1 contribution
I stayed at this facility at the recommendations of my HR department. The location has room accessible from the street with no security in place. Early in the morning I woke to the sound of someone trying to open my door. The room's photo's showed there would be a desk, no desk to work at but a cute patio that was okay until it got too cold to work. Valet could not tell the difference between a set of Chevy Keys and A set for a Toyota. So they brought me a Suburban, and not my Prius. When I mentioned this they went looking for the keys, found them and then went to get my car, only to come back and tell the battery was dead. After insisting I be taken to my car I proceeded to unlock it and start. The person did not know that a hybrid starts on it's battery. I would have forgiven this, but bringing out the wrong car was something that boggled my mind. 18 year old me would have seen how far I could drive that into the ocean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Dec. 22, 2022
Dear Javier, we apologize again for the variety of things that did not meet your expectation during your recent stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
574marty wrote a review Dec. 2022
1 contribution
A must stay when travelling to Santa Barbara! The staff was very accommodating. The view from our bedroom of the ocean was exquisite . The room was very clean and comforable and the bed was very perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Dec. 19, 2022
Hello and thank you for that lovely review! We hope that you return again so that we may earn your 5th STAR :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tikiman99 wrote a review Dec. 2022
Los Angeles16 contributions4 helpful votes
Great location, SB is a wonderful visit. That's the best thing about the hotel. An hour drive from our home, we decided to get a room rather than drive home after dinner and a concert with friends. In the premium ocean front room ($400 in off season - cold winter winds blew threw the dry-rotted doors - and the fireplace didn't work. A call to the desk said they would send someone - after an hour another call - nobody is coming they'll give a 10% discount. Not knowing if CO2 was leaking into the room from the broken fireplace, we huddled on a "king" but more of a queen bed with nothing but sheets - no blankets. The weekend/night staff were kind but had no authority. After, the manager Omar and his day desk guy were consistently snippy and unhelpful and we got a $5 discount for a bad nights sleep. Money aside, we would have preferred a nice fire on a cold, rainy night. It would have made a good weekend great. The room is old Home Depot fixtures and badly remodeled with few amenities. There are many better options on the beach in Santa Barbara.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Look around same locations
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Dec. 13, 2022
Sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We do have several premier ocean view rooms as the one that you picked with unobstructed ocean views, but do not advertise fireplaces because not all of them in our six buildings have one. We apologize that the igniter failed and is on order, but again it is not advertised that way. And yes, it was unexpectedly cold in Santa Barbara during your stay with winds whipping off of the beachfront directly across the street; we would have happily provided a blanket in addition to the comforter on all of our beds had you requested. Sorry that we did not anticipate your needs.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathleen D wrote a review Dec. 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at Hotel Milo for a week, while we moved into our new apartment in Santa Barbara. Upon checkin, the manager and staff were extremely cheerful and helpful, but especially Aaron, who went out of his way to research and relay different resources we needed. The room (265) had a beautiful view of the sunrise in the morning, and harbor/water views as well. When we have family come to visit, we will definitely be recommending the Hotel Milo!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Dec. 12, 2022
Welcome to Santa Barbara!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pauline430 wrote a review Nov. 2022
Whistler, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel is located close to the beach. It is old and rundown. Rooms are not that clean. There is no service at all. Very overpriced for what you get. I generally do not stay in independent hotels if I am booking site unseen on line. The online pictures misrepresented the rooms. The room we had looked like a different hotel. Zero service when we checked in. No one even escorted us through the unlit pathways to our room. The hotel also has no food service or other amenities.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Glock, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Responded Nov. 22, 2022
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very sorry that we were not the property for you. We have a very unique and quintessentially Santa Barbara beachfront property that consists of six different buildings over 2-1/2 acres, and there are many options for layout and location. Perhaps another room would have better suited you. With respect to housekeeping, we offer part or full service upon request at all times, but do not provide full traditional service for one or two night stays as is communicated to our guests. We offer valet/bell service, so we apologize that you were not made aware that we are willing and able to assist with getting you to your room. We do not represent that we have a restaurant, though there is a well-established breakfast and lunch restaurant in the center of our five beachfront buildings. There are also many restaurants within a 5-10 minute stroll along the beach road. We wish you the best with your future travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$211 - US$388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel oceana santa barbara
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Oceana
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Milo Santa Barbara - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Nearby attractions include Moreton Bay Fig Tree (0.4 km), Reagan Ranch Center (0.4 km), and MOXI, The Wolf Museum of Exploration + Innovation (0.3 km).
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toma Restaurant and Bar, Finney's, and Lucky Penny.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Santa Barbara County Courthouse (1.7 km), Casa del Herrero (5.8 km), and Old Mission Santa Barbara (3.6 km).
Does Hotel Milo Santa Barbara have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.