Moxy Santa Barbara

Moxy Santa Barbara

Traveller (220)
Some of our rooms have pool views while our pool side rooms include access to our outdoor patio.
Room & Suite (108)
The Waterman
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#7 of 21 motels in Santa Barbara
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Pet-friendly hotel in Funk Zone. Cozy rooms with flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, free continental breakfast, communal kitchen, library lounge, outdoor pool, games, bike rentals, and marketplace. Near Stearns Wharf, restaurants, bars, and entertainment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Outdoor dining area
Bicycle rental
Bowling offsite
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pool / beach towels
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Oven
Stovetop
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

12 E Montecito Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2323
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Santa Barbara Municipal Airport
13.7 km
See all flights
Santa Barbara Station
2 min
489Reviews19Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 319
  • 100
  • 25
  • 20
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mary Ellen C wrote a review Jun 2021
San Juan, Puerto Rico
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very cool, unique, and funky property. Location is fantastic for walking to the beach, the wharf, or literally dozens of restaurants and bars and coffee houses. The lobby has two guitars and a ukelale guests can borrow. Outdoors there’s corn hole and ping pong! However-the 25 star rating here goes to the staff starting at the top with Jean Luc (the GM) &literally every person we’ve encountered since checking in. They have each gone above and beyond expectations. Stay at the Waterman the next time you’re in Santa Barbara you’ll be glad you did.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean-Luc Laramie, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Jun 10, 2021
Good afternoon 227maryellenc, Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Waterman. We agree our staff and location cannot be beaten. We are so happy to see that everyone made such a positive impact on your stay with us. We cannot wait to invite you back next time you are in town and please feel free to reach out if you need anything else. Kind regards, Jean-Luc Laramie General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin B wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay at the Waterman! All of the staff we met were super friendly and personable, and the location was perfect for walking to other places in Santa Barbara.

The hotel is in the Funk Zone neighborhood, which has the cutest restaurants, cafes, and wineries. If you're looking for a more local, quieter feel than the more crowded restaurants on State street, check out Funk Zone! We could also walk to the beach and to the pier which we appreciated.

We were able to use the hotel's bikes for free for an hour and enjoyed biking along the coast and exploring the beaches.

We celebrated my birthday there, and Jean Luc made me feel super special. Jean Luc, Kathleen, and Julie were all so friendly and recommended great places to check out in the area! We loved the quiet feel of the hotel, and how it never felt crowded. The pool area was really nice and we enjoyed using the communal kitchen in the lobby area.

The only downside to this hotel is the size of the rooms. They are small, including the bathroom, so if you are expecting a resort with big rooms and a ton of amenities, this isn't the place for you.

But if location and excellent service are high on your list where you plan on being out of the room for most of your stay, then Waterman is a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We enjoyed staying on the 2nd floor where our room overlooked the pool area
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean-Luc Laramie, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Apr 30, 2022
Good afternoon Ebojarzin, Thank you for the amazing review. We are so happy you decided to celebrate your birthday with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back next time you are in Santa Barbara. Jean-Luc Laramie General Manger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Doug K wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a unique hotel property and an amazing one. My wife and I were celebrating our Anniversary at The Waterman and had a great experience. Yes, the rooms are small, but they make the most of the space with innovative options such as the moving shower door and the Murphy bed options. Just right for the two of us.

The best part of the hotel was the staff, Aaron and Jean Luc welcomed us as if we were members of their family and made us feel comfortable from the very beginning until we departed for our continuing trip to the Bay Area. We were greeted with a personalized Anniversary card and a bottle of wine once we got to the room. Aaron was quick with dinner suggestions which he matched up to our tastes and made a great recommendation for us. Jean Luc followed up with breakfast recommendations and then set us up to ride the rental bikes for a fun and easy bike ride to the pier and back up State St. into downtown.

A quick single night, but we will be back soon. After all we feel like family. Thank you gentlemen!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ride up on the train and walk to the hotel for an amazing weekend getaway!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean-Luc Laramie, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Jun 5, 2021
Good evening DougK1189, It was such a pleasure having you and your wife stay with us this past trip to Santa Barbara. We are glad to hear that the customer service you received was the reason to keep you coming back, Aaron is a wealth of knowledge. We cannot wait to welcome you back in and show you more of our wonderful town. Kind regards, Jean-Luc Laramie General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David C wrote a review Feb 2020
Boston, Massachusetts
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The positives - great location, free parking, bathrooms are modern and clean, housekeeping staff are meticulous and the hotel staff is friendly and approachable. The not so positives - the hotel seems to be positioning itself as a hostel catering to a younger demographic while also letting rooms at market rate. It has a very casual vibe. However the hotel is smack next to the 101 highway, the interiors are kind of a kitschy motel/kids playroom vibe. The rooms are surprisingly small and the bulky bed/storage configuration consumes the room. The rooms are dark and claustrophobic despite the abundant southern California sunshine outside. The rooms that face the pool do have better light and some views but the external sound system (music) speaker is on until late. This being January there were no parties or pool activity after dark which in warmer weather would be a consideration if your room faces the pool.

The other noise issue is that there is limited or no insulation between rooms and the exhaust in the bathroom is commonly ducted so sound travels. I could hear conversations (verbatim not just sound) from guests next door. TVs should either have a maximum sound capability or the hotel should consider removing them from rooms if the walls can't be better insulated.

If your stay is limited to one or two nights and you are looking for a communal hostel vibe in a central location this might be the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Romero, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Jun 24, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not go as well as planned, rest assure we will use your constructive feedback to improve our product and experience. I hope you give another chance; my staff and I would love to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Luis Mendoza Task Force General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
etwasneues wrote a review Jan 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very basic hotel pretending to be a boutique property. The rooms are small and spartan, the amenities are minimal. We felt that we were overpaying at $275/night, and then the construction noise started. Without the noise this hotel is worth maybe $150/night. With the noise, even that is a stretch.

The walls are paper thin, so even on the morning when there wasn't construction we were woken up by housekeeping staff cleaning the room across the hall. They were just going about their business and quieted down when I asked, so no complaint about the staff, but the sounds seemed to be amplified through the walls. We were also treated to the sound of the television from the neighboring room, as well as a cell phone alarm that sounded close enough I was convinced it was my own.

The fact they have the gall to charge $30/night for parking is pretty offensive. They have only a small lot out front that's carved out of a public lot.

This property is currently listed as a Category 6 for Bonvoy, and I understand that it will be converted to a Moxy. This hotel was less well appointed than most lower tier Bonvoy properties I've staid at. Moxy isn't my favorite brand, but this seems even below those standards. When I was offered either points or a food & bev credit due to my status, it turned out that the credit applied only to their little market which sold water, soda, chips, etc. How is that even a benefit?

Truly the two things this place had going for it are location and a comfortable bed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean-Luc Laramie, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Feb 1, 2022
Good afternoon etwasneues, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Waterman. We are sorry to hear the experience you had was not up to yours or our expectations. As you mentioned, we are going through a renovation this winter and will have newly updated rooms at the end of the first quarter and a newly renovated hotel with lobby bar come 2023. I know that this does not change your previous stay, however, I do hope you reach out to me directly next time you are coming into Santa Barbara as I would be happy to assist with making your next stay perfect. Kind regards, Jean-Luc Laramie General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddy Jin wrote a review Sep 2020
San Francisco, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel looks modern and fabulous, but the devil is in the details. They don’t clean your sheets, or make your bed, or give you new towels. There’s a paid laundry room down the hall if you want to wash your own sheets and towel. That’s because this is technically a hostel, as listed in some travel sites. The bed is old and smelly. The bathroom is so small that there is no room for your knees when you sit on the toilet. The room looks huge in photos, but actually that’s an illusion. The bed is fills almost the entire room so you have to essentially slide over the bed to get to the other side, though the ceilings are super high. And the window didn’t close in my room, so you could hear the cars on the highway the whole night. Not to mention that you can hear people whispering in the hallway, and the TV in the next room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Romero, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Dear Eddyjin2, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies if the hotel did not meet your needs. In order to fight COVID our hotel has followed the recent trend of the industry and stopped stay over service unless requested, extra amenities are available upon request. I am sorry if you were not informed, but we implemented this policy for the safety of our team members and guests. I hope you can give us another chance in the near future. Warm Regards, Wayfarer Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
harikn wrote a review Mar 2022
Secunderabad, India
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We , me and my wife ,both above 70 years alongwith our Son 38 years old booked two 135 sft rooms at the Waterman for 11th/12th nights in March 2022 for a sight seeing trip of the town. Being a long weekend , the price was high . While we found the location really nice with many options for dining and many wine outlets plus the Stearns Wharf within walking distance, the rooms per se with a Queen's bed was quite crammed up for twin occupancy. They give free coffee but no breakfast though there is a well equipped kitchen for use by the guests. Service is good and the attached toilets are clean and well maintained. Overall ,it was a " funky " place more suitable for young people.The small open swimming pool ( our room had a patio facing the pool) is good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you are a couple , recommend book the larger rooms of 175/ 185 sft .There are rooms with bunk...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean-Luc Laramie, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Mar 17, 2022
Good afternoon harikn, Thank you for your recent review of The Waterman Santa Barbara. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday weekend. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our backyard and pool area and our location in the Funk Zone neighborhood. While the price was a bit higher we are glad to see that our staff service made such a positive impact on your stay. We hope you think of us again next time you are traveling through Santa Barbara and please feel free to let us know so we can see about one of our Cozy Kings or Double Queen rooms which would offer some more space throughout your stay. Kind regards, Jean-Luc Laramie General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bernie G wrote a review Mar 2020
North Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. Rooms are small, but it’s all I need. Room opened up the to pool/patio area for extra lounging and outdoor space. Bathrooms are awesome. Parking is plentiful. There is road noise as you are right next to the 101, but that did not detract.
What I found really enjoyable was the communal kitchen and breakfast buffet. This made for some great story telling and mingling of guests. Great lounge and library area where you can hang out and read and enjoy a drink.
You also have access to a chefs kitchen, and if you buy your own food for an extended stay you can cook it right there. I would gladly stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Romero, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Jun 24, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that your stay went well, please come visit us again. Warm Regards, Luis Mendoza Interim General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edward K wrote a review Jan 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was priced almost $200 more per night than other area hotels that had similar amenities. I thought it must be special so we gave it a try. The rooms are small, as advertised; the bathrooms are tiny with a shower toliet combination The rooms worn out and the cheap window shade won’t close. Other reviews comment that it’s close to the funk zone and that’s true. However, I have stayed at several other downtown hotels that are much nicer and are a ten minute walk or $15 Uber ride to the hotel. If the hotel was half the price it would have met our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean-Luc Laramie, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Jan 12, 2022
Good morning 779edwardk, Thank you for your review from your recent stay at The Waterman. We are sorry to hear the experience you had was not up to yours or our expectations. I am happy to let you know that we are going through a renovation this winter and will have newly updated rooms at the end of the first quarter. I know that this does not change your previous stay, however, I do hope you reach out to me directly next time you are coming into Santa Barbara as I would be happy to assist with making your next stay perfect. Kind regards, Jean-Luc Laramie General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicholas J wrote a review Jan 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love the fact that they had a full functional kitchen that was accesible to all the guests, it really contributed to the at home feel.
The room and furniture were very nice, clean and sanitized.
All of the employees where beyond nice and attentive. I would recommend this place to anyone coming to Santa Barbara and the location is prime, walking distance to EVERYTHING; restraints, bars, wineries etc. (all closed during COVID) however I could only imagine the liveliness of the hotel and community when we are out of COVID. I will be staying here when we return !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean-Luc Laramie, General Manager at Moxy Santa Barbara
Responded Jan 15, 2021
Good morning F1000OGNicholasj, Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff went above and beyond. Yes, this area has such a great vibe when there are fewer COVID restrictions. We cannot wait to welcome you back to Santa Barbara. Kind regards, Jean-Luc Laramie General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from garciasylvia74
San Diego, California1 contribution
I think they're about $10/day. Not sure, I didn't rent bikes.
abugwadia asked a question Apr 2017
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
If we come by Rail/ bus how far is the hotel?
Answer from Laguna
Laguna Beach CA40 contributions25 helpful votes
practically across the street from the train station -easy walk ck out on google map
cornucopiacatering asked a question Jan 2017
San Rafael, California
how many blocks from the beach?
Answer from Pat T
8 contributions2 helpful votes
three
mlubrano asked a question Aug 2016
Simi Valley, California9 contributions
Is the hotel located on the beach? Is there a view of the beach? Thank you!
Answer from Ths60
Oslo, Norway2 contributions
I do not think there is a beach view, but very short walk. At this moment there seems to be a lot of construction close to beach so a lot nicer, we think, to stay at the Wayfarer a couple of blocks away.
PVSduo asked a question Jul 2016
Puyallup40 contributions15 helpful votes
Does it cost to park while staying at the hotel?
Answer from Kristin B
Santa Barbara, California
Hello, Thank you for your interest in the Wayfarer. We have a $10.00 parking fee
Tom T wrote a tip Apr 2024
New York City, New York1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away. They don’t care about you. Hospitality doesn’t exist at this “hospitality” business."
Read full review
Danielle L wrote a tip Apr 2024
Laguna Niguel, California11 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here. It is a rip off"
Read full review
BestCoastTrips wrote a tip Apr 2023
Boston, Massachusetts6 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just don’t go. "
Read full review
AKD wrote a tip Dec 2022
United States163 contributions129 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request room away from the lobby"
Read full review
Steve Concialdi wrote a tip Nov 2022
Orange County, California1,047 contribution182 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is safe in front of the hotel. Breakfast, coffee & tea included."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Barbara area.
PRICE RANGE
C$463 - C$728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Waterman
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including any mandatory fees. Taxes not included. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Moxy Santa Barbara - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Moxy Santa Barbara
Which popular attractions are close to Moxy Santa Barbara?
Nearby attractions include Moreton Bay Fig Tree (0.2 km), Reagan Ranch Center (0.09 km), and MOXI, The Wolf Museum of Exploration + Innovation (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moxy Santa Barbara?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a heated pool, and a banquet room.
Which room amenities are available at Moxy Santa Barbara?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and an oven.
What food & drink options are available at Moxy Santa Barbara?
Guests can enjoy an outdoor dining area and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Moxy Santa Barbara?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moxy Santa Barbara?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Palace Grill, Finney's, and The Lark.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moxy Santa Barbara?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Is Moxy Santa Barbara located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Santa Barbara.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Moxy Santa Barbara?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Moxy Santa Barbara?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Santa Barbara County Courthouse (1.3 km), Old Mission Santa Barbara (3.3 km), and Casa del Herrero (5.6 km).
Does Moxy Santa Barbara have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Santa Barbara HotelsSanta Barbara Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Santa BarbaraHotels near Moxy Santa Barbara
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars