We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
433 West Montecito Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-11
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-10
Agoda.com
US$122
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-08
Hotels.comUS$167
TravelocityUS$167
AlgotelsUS$349
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (315)
Room & Suite (80)
Dining (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A charming seaside escape in Santa Barbara California, with classic Mediterranean flare, lush gardens and a variety of relaxing features.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary welcome drink
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
922Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 463
  • 325
  • 92
  • 33
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amanda M wrote a review Dec. 2022
Weston, United Kingdom139 contributions142 helpful votes
This place is fantastic! We turned up very early and we were checked in and given our room early by the most helpful gentleman, who took time to explain where everything was in Santa Barbara. Our room was great, clean and had everything we needed. I could have cooked a 3 course meal in the kitchen! The welcome bottle of bubbly was a lovely touch. We enjoyed the happy hour in the early evening and the breakfast the following morning would put some big hotels to shame. The local restaurant list was helpful too. We would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Dec. 17, 2022
Good day Amanda. Thank you for staying with us at the Inn by the Harbor. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's feedback like yours that give a true look into what our hotel has to offer for future guests. I couldn't be happier that our agents were able to take care of you so quickly. We always love we our guests get to take advantage of the many free amenities that we have to offer, we hope to be seeing you again in the near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth D wrote a review Oct. 2022
2 contributions7 helpful votes
I've struggled with writing a fair review of this hotel/motel. The desk clerks are delightfully friendly and helpful, the pool area is carefully landscaped and the harbor is a short walk away. A sprightly fish statute spouting water graces the entranceway. However, similar to putting lipstick on a pig, none of these bubbles and babbles compensates for the fact that it is barely above a Motel 6, with a room rate that exceeds lovely hotels I've enjoyed in far more expensive areas. The rooms are very outdated and dark. We shared a bathroom with thousands of persistent little ants who played on our toothbrushes and other items left on the small bathroom sink and shelf. The bathroom itself is quite small and also outdated with historical dirt parked in several crevices. Overall, it is clear that the owners are making an effort, but it is marginal compared to the changes necessary to justify a $300 nightly rate. As for the lovely desk clerks? Any other hotel would be fortunate to have them as employees.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are many other places to stay in Santa Barbara
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Nov. 1, 2022
Good day Udelfel66. Thank you for staying with us at the Inn by the Harbor. On behalf of the staff, please accept our dearest apologies for the things that came about during your stay. These are not normal things that usually happen, but now that we have been made aware of this we have quickly acted to fix this. We value all feedback that our guests leave us and we thank you for the information you have provided about our rooms. We have continued our remodel of our guests rooms and you will be happy to know that your concerns are taken seriously. We hope that you will be able to give us another chance in the future once our rooms have been completed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laura g wrote a review Oct. 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom50 contributions14 helpful votes
This was our first visit to Santa Barbara so really having no idea where would be best to stay, we took a punt on the Inn by the Harbour after ready lovely reviews. We could not have been happier. It was in a great location, around 15 mins walk to State Street and was just so lovely. The complimentary happy hour was a nice touch and the rose wine - delicious! With the property surrounding the pool, it was really wonderful to have each room have a patio style door out to the pool side of the hotel which was full of beautiful tropical plants - it felt like a little oasis. Complimentary breakfast was served in the lobby and you could take it outside if you liked. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean, Free parking on site was a bonus. We loved our visit to Santa Barbara and the hotel was exactly the right choice - wholeheartedly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Oct. 18, 2022
Good day Laura. Wow, such a great review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn by the Harbor, feedback like yours really help give a great look into our hotel for future guests. We make sure that ever little detail is perfect for our guests. I couldn't be happier that you were able to take advantage of our many free amenities during your stay. These are always great perks that our guests love time and time again. We hope that we will become your new home away from home! Cheers.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SandG P wrote a review Oct. 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom57 contributions29 helpful votes
Great small hotel in good location. Good selection at breakfast and free wine after 4pm and coffee all day. Lovely pool with towels. Walkable to town. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean and comfortable. Bed was a little soft but slept well as quiet and dark. Complimentary bubbly!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 5 minute walk from the Brewhouse bar which does great food and drink
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Oct. 18, 2022
Good day Sandgp15. Thank you for staying with us at the Inn by the Harbor. Such an amazing review will surely be shared with our staff. We firmly believe that we have the best hotel staff in the city and this shows time and time again. It's great to hear that you enjoyed you bubbly, these little treats are always exciting to hear guests feedback. We hope to see you back on your next travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Summer Lee wrote a review Aug. 2022
Gateshead, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
The room itself was perfect for a short stay, with access to a kitchen and a complimentary bottle of bubbly in the fridge. The walking distance to the beach and the pier was lovely. The service was very friendly and made yummy, fresh cookies ! Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Aug. 28, 2022
Good day 986summerp. On behalf of our team HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Thank you for choosing the Inn by the Harbor for this special visit. It's the little details that you point out which gives future guests a true look into how we run our hotel and the experience one will have. It's great to know that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we have to offer during a stay with us. We hope to see you again soon on a future visit back to Santa Barbara.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lou8931 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Colchester, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for 2 nights last week and from the second we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. Lovely big accommodation with comfy bed. Nice touches with happy hour (free wine!) and snacks, which went down well with some afternoon sunshine by the pool. Great location for all the local restaurants etc - also the free use of bikes was a nice perk. Really glad we chose to book here for our Santa Barbara stay. Many thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Jul. 23, 2022
Good day Lou8931. Thank you for booking with us at the Inn by the Harbor. Thank you for the feedback about your stay, it truly makes us happy that you were able to enjoy yourself while staying with us. I'm glad you were able to take part in the many free amenities that we have to offer for our guests. Our Wine Happy Hour is one of our most popular features. Next time you're in Santa Barbara, we hope you stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher wrote a review Jul. 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia6 contributions13 helpful votes
We found this charming little hotel last minute as we were road-tripping through Santa Barbara. It’s a wonder that it wasn’t fully booked up in advance! Although not right on the water, it is only a five minute walk to the harbor. It has a couple of wonderful features. First, it is quiet and solidly built. Second, the internal long courtyard is filled with trees and plants - a lush botanical garden to enjoy. The staff is super friendly and there is a continental breakfast. We have taken many road trips during the COVID era; when other properties fall short, this place satisfies!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed in July, which is considered high season. Prices were fair and in line with other...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Jul. 23, 2022
Good day cachristophe. We would like to thank you for booking with us at the Inn by the Harbor. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us. During this time period we do happen to sellout and I'm very happy we were able to get you in. We are happy that you were able to take part in many of our amenities that we have to offer for our guests. We hope that on a future visit back to Santa Barbara, we will see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sfvisitor wrote a review Jul. 2022
Seal Beach, California63 contributions66 helpful votes
If you’re expecting an inn, you will be disappointed. But if you come expecting a budget motel, you may be pleasantly surprised. We usually stay at inns or suites, so we were a little let down by the worn carpets, hodge podge interiors, and musty shower curtains. And I swear our bed was a double and not a queen. But we totally appreciated the motel’s extra touches — the nice continental breakfast buffet, the sparkling wine in the fridge, the cute courtyard, the wine happy hours. And bottom line, SB is an expensive place, so it was nice to have an almost affordable option!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Jul. 13, 2022
Greetings sfvisitor, I'm sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay with us. Please know that our team is considering your comments and will be scheduling a deep clean in each of our guestrooms. We depend on honest feedback such as yours to help us make improvements and better serve each of our guests. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we hope you consider visiting us again so that we can show you our true meaning of our hospitality.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angel wrote a review Jun. 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I am baffled by the good reviews. This was basically a motel 6. The room smelled mildewy, the bed was itchy, there was a horrible smell in the bathroom that would come and go, everything was very outdated and worst of all you have to share one long balcony with other guests so anyone can walk by and just look in the glass door to your room all night. I made sure to lock it at all times! There was a very run down trashy looking apartment building right next door. I gave a star because the people were so friendly but I would absolutely not stay here again. Can’t believe I paid as much as I did!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Jun. 11, 2022
Good day A971HHjes, and thank you for booking with us at the Inn by the Harbor. I first want to say that we thank you for your feedback and value all guests opinions. We try our very best to make sure that each guest has an amazing stay, and you mentioned most feedback always seems to be great. We are sorry that your most recent stay did not reflect what you were expecting. We hope that you will be able to give us another try during a future stay so we can make sure it is what our guests come to expect.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
McGillC wrote a review Jun. 2022
San Antonio, Texas23 contributions13 helpful votes
It was our first time to Santa Barbara, driving from Texas. Found this nice Inn on Trip Advisor and we were upgraded to the suite by the pool with two bedrooms and full kitchen. Hot tub was so nice; used the washer and dryer on the premises and the flowers are beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Liz Rodriguez, Other at Inn by the Harbor
Responded Jun. 6, 2022
Thank you McGillC, for staying with us at the Inn by the Harbor. Coming all the way from Texas to spend some time in our beautiful city is always such a thrill. We are very happy that you gave our hotel the opportunity to serve you during that time. It brings a great smile to all of us knowing that you were able to take part in the many amenities that we have to offer. We hope that on any future visit back to Santa Barbara, that you choose the Inn by the Harbor!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$172 - US$355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn by the harbor hotel santa barbara
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Inn by the Harbor - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Santa Barbara, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn by the Harbor
Which popular attractions are close to Inn by the Harbor?
Nearby attractions include Jamie Slone Wines (1.2 km), Santa Barbara Maritime Museum (0.7 km), and Santa Barbara Harbor (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn by the Harbor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Inn by the Harbor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Inn by the Harbor?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn by the Harbor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn by the Harbor?
Conveniently located restaurants include McConnell's Fine Ice Creams, The Black Sheep, and Toma Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn by the Harbor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inn by the Harbor?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inn by the Harbor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn by the Harbor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Santa Barbara County Courthouse (1.6 km), Casa del Herrero (6.3 km), and Old Mission Santa Barbara (3.4 km).