Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort

Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort

Weeds by pool entrance.
Traveller (1438)
Guest room bath
Room & Suite (570)
Pool
Pool & Beach (85)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#43 of 58 hotels in Santa Barbara
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Daily Resort Charge includes: Guest internet access for 2 devices; 2-hour bicycle rental; 2-hour beach chair rentals for 2; Fitness Classes; 2 bottled waters available daily at front desk; 20% discount on spa services and tennis clinics; local activities discount. Inspired by Santa Barbara's quintessential personality, the 24-acre resort offers 337 guest rooms and 23 spacious suites. Our guest room and suites amenities include 55" HDTVs, cozy seating, and a bathroom with dual vanities. Step out to your private patio or balcony for incredible views of the ocean, resort gardens or mountains. Offering multiple dining options: enjoy daily breakfast delights at The Roundhouse, or on-the-go snacks and Starbucks coffee at Java del Mar. For lunch or dinner, enjoy classic California dishes at The Set or sip your favorite wine by our outdoor fire pits with ocean views. Stay active at our three tennis courts, heated outdoor pool and 24-hour fitness center.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount Offer

Location

633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 62 out of 100
62
Santa Barbara Municipal Airport
15.1 km
See all flights
Santa Barbara Station
20 min
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles4,414 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort boasts a prime location near the beach and State St., which many travelers find convenient, despite some noting an awkward placement. While the ocean views and roomy accommodations receive compliments, service often falls short, with guests reporting slow and disorganized experiences. The resort's ambiance is seen as dated, not aligning with its higher-end pricing. Opinions on cleanliness and amenities are mixed, with added fees and maintenance issues detracting from the resort's value proposition.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Disorganized
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
4,414Reviews55Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,578
  • 1,246
  • 830
  • 460
  • 300
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
lamontravel wrote a review Aug 2020
California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here before, years ago. They have a great location that is walkable to Stearns Wharf, lower State Street, the Funk Zone, and of course the beach! Because of Covid, the gym and spa were closed, but they did have bikes available (included with the “resort fee”). The pool only had 40 chaise lounges out, which was good, and they limited time at the pool to 90 minutes. The only downside was that I had to clean my bathroom floor with the bar soap and Kleenex because it was sticky. I was rather disappointed at how dirty it was! I cleaned it several times and then went over it with tissues with just water on it before I felt it was clean enough to walk on. The sheets were clean, and everything else in the room seemed fine. The only other thing was that I had booked a room for our daughter and asked twice to have adjoining rooms. They weren’t able to do that. So, both she and we had noisy next door neighbors.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy McFadden, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Aug 21, 2020
lamontravel ~ Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your understanding of our new operating procedures during these challenging times. We certainly wish we would have know you needed housekeeping assistance while you were here. A procedure is in place for our guests to text or call the front desk immediately for service of this nature. We apologize or the problem you encountered and hope you will consider returning to the resort, if your plans include a return visit to Santa Barbara! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sevatson wrote a review Aug 2020
Denver, Colorado
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This property would probably get better reviews if it was a 3 star hotel. It's a nice 3 star hotel but a mediocre 4 star hotel. The only thing that was 4 star was the room and the service provided by the bellman. A lot of issues at check-in. The front desk sent us to a room that was not only occupied, but had a "do not disturb" sign on the door. Thankfully the key didn't work and the bellman (who was great!) radioed the front desk. We got a minor upgrade (no ocean view to partial ocean view) out of the deal but not a great first impression! The bellman was even kind enough to bring us keys to the new room. I thought all was well until I needed to run a quick errand the next morning and the key wouldn't work to exit the parking lot. They forgot to add parking access (which we paid $30/day for!) to our keys when they changed our room! As a line of cars slowly piled up behind me and I frantically tried to scan the key for a few minutes, some kind person scanned me out!

The daily free house wine for 2 was very nice. Decent wine for house too! Having to go to the front desk to get your daily allotment of water is a bit ridiculous though. I was in the furthest building so it's easily a 10-12 min roundtrip walk plus waiting in line just to get 2 bottles of water. The free water "seems" like a 4-star amenity but it'd be far more convenient to just have a vending machine on each that only takes 10 sec to walk to.

High marks on the handling of the pandemic though. Rooms had a sticker on them over the door showing they had been sanitized. Once the door was open the seal would break so that was reassuring. Hot tub was understandably closed. Never got a chance to use the pool as it was always pretty busy though. Went to the beach instead which was a great place to socially distance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Inman, General Manager at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Aug 6, 2020
Thank you for your visit and feedback. We regret the service failures you experienced and have shared them with our front desk team as your experience doesn't represent our service promise. The current health crisis has changed many ways we do business but hospitality is our team's primary job and we let you down. We hope to see you again to earn back your loyalty.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Fabiola S wrote a review Sep 2020
Chino Hills, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This weekend was the first time since the Covid pandemic that I have traveled, much less stayed at a hotel and I chose to stay at the Hilton and take advantage of my free weekend nights with my elderly parents. Prior to booking my stay, I called the Hilton and was assured that the rooms would be cleaned in a proper manner due to Covid, and that each room would have a seal to indicate that the rooms have been properly cleaned and disinfected.
First room we had, there was hair on the bathroom counter. I immediately called the front desk and we were moved to another room which I was told was still an upgrade (I'm a Diamond Member) but it smelled like mildew. I had just drove from Chino Hills, was tired and didn't want to make a fuss so we stayed in that room. The refrigerator wasn't working, so we had to have it changed. We were also on the first floor so I can hear people walking above us and the next morning I asked to have our room changed.
By 3/3:30 pm our room was changed, and Nina at the front desk assured me that the Housekeeping supervisor inspected the room personally and that the room was clean. The bellman helped me move our belongings and yet again, there was hair on the bathroom counter. This time, 2 housekeeping supervisors came, saw the hair and no one offered to upgrade us to another room and stated that if we wanted to move to another room, we'd have to wait again. Who wants to spend their vacation waiting for a clean room? Not one manager reached out to us to apologize or to see if there was anything they could do to better our stay. I got tired of moving, so I just asked them to wipe down the bathroom counter and hung out at the pool. If the housekeeping staff and supervisor can miss hair on the bathroom counter and I, the customer can see it-how clean, much less clean from Covid can the room be? Just to be safe, I wiped everything down again with sanitary wipes.
As a Diamond Member, I am very disappointed at the way the staff handled the situation and treated my parents and I. In the midst of a pandemic, this does not give me assurance in the safety of how Hilton cares for their customer's health. How clean are the rooms if 2 of the rooms still have random hairs and smells like mildew?
Hilton, you need to do a better job! People's health depends on it! And if you want people to travel and to stimulate our economy, then treat your customers better.
This was my first and will be my last time at your Santa Barbara resort. Also, your rooms are dated and needs some upkeep. You're charging $30 for parking and yet I am parking the car myself. Use the money to update your rooms.
Do better-the Hilton name should demand that!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy McFadden, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Sep 23, 2020
Fabiola S. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Hilton Honors member, you are among our most valued guests. We appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry your experience wasn't what you expected and deserved. Our Director of Rooms will be in touch and he most likely has already reached out to you. Your business is very important to us and we apologize for the frustration and inconvenience these serious issues created during your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irina Shpak wrote a review Jun 2020
New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are very spacious and modern! Thank you very much for partial ocean view upgrade! Location is great! And thanks to Patrick for all suggestions!

One thing i found disappointing, why did we pay a $30 resort fee per day, when restaurant, bar, pool were closed... beach umbrella rent was closed too and no housekeeping was provided, we had to clean our own bathroom from sand & etc... plus first night we arrived at midnight. And most of public areas seating was closed, and public area tables near the bike area were not cleaned.
And in addition to $30 resort fee, we paid $30 per night for half empty self-parking.. not a valet, i would understand if resort fee would include parking, but otherwise extra $240 to fully pre-paid room for 3.5 days didnt seem reasonable, when RESORT facilities were closed :( even the towels provided were not beach size, but regular towels for 2 out of 3 days.
If all facilities were open, then the fee would be ok, otherwise it’s not fair to charge your partners this amount on fully paid room :(
Lastly mattress in room felt a little old and too soft, maybe it’s time to upgrade those and a mosquito net has holes in it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MichaelG11700, Manager at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Jun 15, 2020
Hello Shpaki. Thank you for selecting Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort for your visit to Santa Barbara and for your kind compliments of Patrick!! Your comments will be shared with the team as we are always looking for ways to improve the resort. We appreciate your business and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Santa Barbara.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Russell W wrote a review Dec 2021
Cleveland, Ohio
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort from Dec 10 through Dec 13, 2021. The hotel property is beautiful, the lobby area and restaurant was nice. But... it was the room that left a lot to be desired.

Upon entering our room (a junior suite), my wife went into the bathroom to put out some of our things on the counter and noticed that the bathroom was VERY dirty. There were urine stains around the toilet and on the wall. Lipstick stains on the sink counter and the floor had lots of hair (NOT ours) on it. Then we looked around the room and it, too was not as clean as it should have been. Ironically, there was a sticker on the bathroom mirror stating how "Hilton prides itself in ultra sanitary cleaning procedures". Not sure where those "ultra sanitary procedures" were... certainly not in our room.

I went down to the main desk and spoke with Manager on duty, Kezai Jones. We sat in the chairs in the lobby as I calmly explained our extreme disappointment at the condition of the bathroom and our room. Kezai was very nice and sincerely apologized and promised that a cleaning crew would go up to the room while we sat at the bar in the restaurant and had a bite to eat and a few drinks. He also gave us a $50 dining credit, 2 complimentary breakfast vouchers, four additional "free house wine" vouchers, and took $150 off our bill for the room. Even though, my intent in discussing the room condition was NOT to get "free stuff", but rather to just inform them of the condition of the room and get it cleaned, his offers were very much appreciated.

The next day.... I went into the shower only to find that the temperature control knob (this was a shower that also had body spray jets and consequently, a separate temperature knob in the middle with the water temperature marked on it) did not work!! It spun and spun and didn't change the temperature (which was ice cold, by the way). Luckily, I realized that I could actually grab the inner ring and it would turn and adjust the temperature.

Again, down to the front desk to talk to a Manager, but none was available. The front desk person promised that they would get the knob repaired.

They did not get it repaired because it "needed parts that had to be ordered", and offered to move us to a different room. But, because we had MANY suitcases and were checking out the next day, we decided to stay in the existing room since I was able to adjust the temperature.

After we checked out, I mentioned to my wife that spending $650 per night, one would think that the rooms would be in better shape, cleaner, and more updated.

I think it's time for the Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort to to an introspective look around at their guest rooms and perhaps an upgrade is warranted.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you get a clean one that has a fully working shower.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy M, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Jan 3, 2022
We are very sorry to learn you were disappointed with the property and we apologize for our failure to provide you with the service you expected and deserved. We are in the business of taking care of our guests and never want anyone feeling disappointed. We hope you will continue to choose Hilton Brand Hotels and Resorts for your travel and hospitality needs and wish you well in your travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kara A wrote a review Mar 2020
Chicago, Illinois
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was perfect for a weekend getaway with my husband. The location is perfect- it’s right by the beach, there is a shuttle stop out front for the little local shuttles that take you to and from downtown, and it’s also walking distance from a ton of restaurants and tasting rooms! The hotel itself has relatively spacious rooms, all centered around a pool, and the lobby features a Fess Parker tasting lounge.

Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MichaelG11700, Manager at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Greetings karon526. Thank you for selecting Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort for your visit to Santa Barbara. On behalf of the entire team, thank you for the great review. We hope your travel plans include a return visit soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VKorn wrote a review Oct 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I hate writing reviews that aren’t fantastic, but as a one off I wanted to be honest for future travelers. First off, the staff was friendly, the location awesome, and the room was comfortable. Had this been a regular stay for a few nights I would have given four or five stars.

That all said, we booked the Hilton for 6 nights for our honeymoon destination. We splurged due to our honeymoon plans changing a few months back and we expected it to be top notch. When we arrived we had a garden/mountain view over the parking lot. We asked if they would upgrade us to an ocean view which they did, but we had to pay rather than it being complimentary.

Thankfully our travel agent arranged for a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to be brought to our room. Aside from that we didn’t have any special extras that the hotel added. The room didn’t have a romantic feel, no extra wine/food, and no bathtub etc. it was all just subpar for what we expected of a honeymoon hotel.

When my husband asked for them to try and do something special they advised that they don’t have any complimentary extras but he could pay for a bottle of wine etc.

I work for a high end, luxury safari company and am typically responsible for ensuring my clients have special stays no matter where they go. This was a fine hotel room to sleep in, it just wasn’t special in any way and was a big disappointment from the Hilton brand.

If you are wanting a romantic getaway this isn’t the place for you, but if you want to sleep in a hotel room that’s comfy and a quick getaway near the beach it’ll be just fine.

We also had a leaky AC unit in our paid for upgraded room, which was a disappointment. Their maintenance team did come fix that as quickly as possible but it still had a bit of a leak after. When they came to check it again they said it was fine and just residual leakage and will subside eventually.

Just wanted to be transparent in our experience so others can be prepared for what they will get.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy McFadden, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Oct 2, 2020
Victoriajl34620S ~ Thank you for your compliments for our hard working team. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our beautiful location and spacious guestrooms. We are very sorry you were disappointed in our service. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle S wrote a review Apr 2021
Torrance, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Understanding that we are in a time of masks and social distancing, this hotel was not offering full services.
That being said, the property was clean and even though the Amtrak Train was loud every time it passed - the hotel was quiet and great for sleeping.
While their website and signs around the hotel describe their policies for cleaning and social distancing, it was very clear that no one was enforcing any of these rules/policies.
We asked for towels and they did not come wrapped as the website said. The sign at the pool said max of 40 people w/ a maximum stay of 2 hours, however nothing was enforced.
The keyless check-in and entry is a great feature, however, some entry doors did not work and there was very limited signs as to how to find your rooms once your App said it was available.
Services for dining were very limited and thus the line for the grab n go coffee bar was VERY long every morning. Again, no one enforced social distancing, though big stickers were on the floor. The service was very disorganized and it seemed that it was understaffed. Waiting in line for 30 mins for a cup of coffee is ridiculous.
Just a reminder, this hotel welcomes dogs. And we had not seen so many dogs on the property of a hotel ....ever. They were in the lobby, in the halls (we could hear them).. .everywhere.
While this hotel is right across the street from the beach, there really isn't any shops or restaurants nearby. Everything is walkable, if you are willing and able to walk 20min one way.
For the price, I am not sure we would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy McFadden, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Apr 13, 2021
Thank you for selecting Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort for your stay in Santa Barbara. This past year has been a period of change and the management team continues to adapt to the ever-changing environment as a result of COVID-19. We are very sorry we disappointed you. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We appreciate the feedback. The Executive Team has reviewed your comments and will use this information to improve the service for our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dkeenley wrote a review Jul 2021
San Francisco, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
For $$$ a night it was not worth it. Our shower put out lukewarm water and the shower tile was cracked. The bathroom fan ran all night. The lock on the patio door broken and we could not lock it. The neighbor could have entered our room from patio. The cushions on patio chairs were ripped and had bird poop on them. All in all, the whole place needs an upgrade if you are charging these prices. Pool towels were thread bare too. Also, Hilton changed their breakfast policy. As Gold members, we used to get 2 decent full breakfasts. This trip, we received $12 per person, $24 total. The coffee in lobby was $6.00 a cup! Add a simple breakfast sandwich for another $12, and we are at $18. We had room service first morning, $68! If we had eaten in restaurant, it would have been even more. Also, we were charged $30 to park our car when the lot wasn’t even half full. Finally, there was an additional resort fee of $30 per day. You’d think the resort charge would include the parking or even a bike rental. The previous hotel we stayed at had free parking, free bikes and a continental breakfast. Overall, if you are going to charge these rates, plus a resort fee, plus parking, many things should be upgraded, including shower, pool towels, chase lounge cushions, locks and breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nancy McFadden, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Jul 28, 2021
dkeenley - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Hilton Honors member, you are among our most valued guests. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and wish we would have had the opportunity to take steps to make certain you were 100% satisfied prior to your departure. As mentioned in our response to your survey, please feel free to contact our Finance Department regarding any billing issues. They will be happy to assist you. We hope you will consider a return visit to Santa Barbara and the resort.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon S wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had been to this hotel several years ago (when it was the Fess Parker) and were so looking forward to returning but what a massive disappointment. I appreciate that hotels have raised prices because of Covid, inflation, supply and demand etc but when you are having to pay close to $1000 per night you do expect something a little special.
The positive is that the hotel has good facilities, nice pool and tennis facility and is across a road to a stunning beach but still quite a walk from the centre of Santa Barbara namely State Street. The negatives far outweigh the positives. The hotel sits on an enormous plot with a huge car park and yet insists on charging $30 per night to park your car, why? We had booked an ocean view king bed room. On arrival at the hotel after an extremely long drive, we were greeted by a very miserable front desk lady who then told us she was the Manager, not impressive. When making the reservation, I had specifically requested a bath tub which according to the website was available in King Bedded rooms . We asked whether breakfast and car parking could be included and was told in no uncertain terms, it wouldn't be. We were then sent to just about the furthest room (503) from the main part of the hotel to find that the room was basic at best, with NO bath tub. We then contacted the front desk and my wife spoke at length with the manager who again was most unhelpful explaining that most rooms did NOT have baths and even when we pointed out the reference in their website he refused to accept the error. Reluctantly as compensation, he offered us breakfast for the duration of our stay but not car parking.
In any 5 star hotel we have stayed in there has always been some nice bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc plus often bottles of water and a note pad, pen etc. Not in this hotel! All we were offered were 2 bottles of water on arrival and despite staying for 4 nights, we never received any further water. Aside from breakfast which was an average buffet, we did not eat in the hotel but with such a good pool facility and glorious weather, we were a little surprised to find that food was not available after 5pm around the pool.
We took the matter up with Hilton Customer relations who's responses were very poor always passing the matter back to the hotel. We even had an e mail confirming car park charges would be deducted from our bill but when we were presented with it on check out, car parking was charged and a very unhelpful Front Desk clerk refused to do anything, despite showing him the e mail and I had to e mail the Director if I wanted money refunded. His response took 2 days including a chaser.
This hotel has so much going for it in terms of position, facilities etc but at the prices it is currently charging, it needs to work a lot harder to get customers like me to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Inman, General Manager at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Responded Jun 23, 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we are extremely disappointed by the negative experience you had during your recent stay with us. We are working through your feedback with our team to ensure we address and coach our team through the challenges. While we cannot erase your experience, we apologize for how this experience impacted your stay. We do hope you will return and give us and our team a second chance, as all of our team continues to work hard and strive to provide an incredible experience for each of our guests. Should you have any further concerns, please feel free to reach out to us directly at sbafp_fo_managers@hilton.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joerg R asked a question Sep 2023
21 contributions3 helpful votes
Is there an opportunity for public parking nearby - instead hotel parking?
Answer from dht162
Dallas, Texas3 contributions
Don’t think so. Big hotel parking all around the hotel.
zen s asked a question Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California
Does the hotel offer mini refrigerator to the rooms?
Answer from Kristine A
Yes
zen s asked a question Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California
Does the hotel offer mini refrigerator to the rooms?
Answer from Kam K
London, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes it does :-)
Answer from Christine K
Rocklin, California22 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes, I do believe I remember them saying there are safes in the rooms,
Julie S wrote a tip Jun 2024
Ojai, California9 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not worth the price."
Read full review
Jane F wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go there. It charges like a luxury hotel, but you may be completely ignored. "
Read full review
Jenny C wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out the reviews before booking. Not all Hilton’s are created equal. "
Read full review
Robert J K wrote a tip Jun 2024
Wellington, Florida3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hotel well past it's prime!"
Read full review
Whitney Z wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring shower gel and a refillable water bottle."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Barbara area.
PRICE RANGE
C$528 - C$930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fess parker`s doubletree hotel santa barbara, doubletree santa barbara, doubletree fess parkers, fess parkers doubletree resort
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Barbara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
360
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including any mandatory fees. Taxes not included. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cabrillo Bike Path (0.7 km), Santa Barbara Art Glass (0.6 km), and Santa Barbara Zoo (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include East Beach Tacos, Santa Barbara Shellfish Company, and Santa Barbara FisHouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Santa Barbara HotelsSanta Barbara Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Santa BarbaraHotels near Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars