We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandpiper Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandpiper Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

567 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandpiper Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 401: English reviews
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed in a room with 2 Queen beds, and this room was very spacious in the main area. The bathroom was small but sufficient, and all the areas were very clean. WiFi worked well and was fairly quick. The refrigerator was either not functioning or working very poorly as it was not cold at all, and there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avaryclassylady
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, please let our front desk know if any items in your room are not working, we will try to repair or replace. Your time is important so Thank-you for writing a review.

California
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stay in lots of hotels in Santa Barbara as I have been taking overnight trips there for over 20 years. In those years I needed to stay at the Sandpiper Lodge sometimes in an emergency, if there was just nothing else available, anywhere, up or down the coast. I could tell stories about it for hours. When I married...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanghus
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We read the reviews and should of listened...rooms were musty,,they put us next to the maintenance closet, maids start cleaning and banging there carts at 600am.. walls are papar thin...we had bugs in the room near the bathroom...no manager to complain too...we left our number to call us and they never did...we called a couple of times and twice no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank franke55
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review

Hello I am very sorry to hear about you stay I am the CEO and am happy to talk to all our guests at both our hotels, our maids should not have started work before 9:00 am I will find out what happened. We do have a manager on site everyday at different times please call and ask for my...

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We found this hotel comfortable. The rooms are dated although spacious and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. The lobby area is tastefully decorated, this is where they serve a continental breakfast. The hotel is well located to get on/off the freeway. The pool area is compact and clean with a heated pool which was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michelle d
San Diego, California
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Victor Cortez (the manager on duty during my stay) robbed me over $10. We agreed upon a set price. I signed the contract and he overcharged my credit card. He is very rude and extremely crass. Don't waste your time here. The rooms are musty. The bed is hard box spring with lumps. Pillows and sheets are scratchy. Pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidwcook
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review

I want to Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. If you were over charged please call the hotel and ask for my number and I will be happy to make sure we did not over charge you. Thank-you again for your time.

Bethlehem, NH
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was a great place to stay. It was very economical for the area. The room was very big and it was clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located it a great area. Not to far from the resturants and shopping at the other end of State Street. It is not walking distance to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wlhsl
Dublin
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Welcomed on arrival by reception staff more like what you would find in posh hotel ! Motel grounds clean and well kept. Rooms spacious and clean.Lovely little bakery on corner near motel. While a distance from downtown..you would have to get a taxi..it was in a nice part of state street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank savystayer
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us Thank-you for taking the time to write a review,we hope to see you on your next visit to Santa Barbara.

Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My boyfriend and I just needed a place to stay for a night and the Sandpiper was perfect! It was so affordable and only a ten minute drive to downtown. I've stayed at some affordable places, but the Sandpiper was really clean!!! And that's important. The room was spacious and we even got an extra room attached for no extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShaGirl316
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights on our roadtrip. The room was clean and The pool area was quiet when we spent an afternoon there watching the hummingbirds taking nectar from the flowers. Downtown is about a 5 minute drive from the motel. The breakfast is adequate. Staff very helpful and friendly Great place to stay in Santa Barbara.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cazzalfc
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This was our first stop on our drive up the coast with three kids. After spending the day visiting missions the kids enjoyed the heated pool. We also loved that we had a king bed with a separate rom with two double beds for the kids. We made the reservation last minute and paid $71 with AAA discount. Continental breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (175)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (26)
Viewed
Full Two Bedroom Unit (32)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (4)
Viewed
King Room (27)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 km away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 51 in Santa Barbara
211 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#31 of 51 in Santa Barbara
638 reviews
4.4 km away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,992 reviews
0.9 km away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 51 in Santa Barbara
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Price Range: $166 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandpiper Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
21 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sandpiper Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for second floor to avoid being on ground floor. 2-bedroom units are great for families!”
LER627, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Two room suites are not all configured the same. We liked the one with bathroom located between the two rooms.”
blamboley, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go outside for a walk when staying here. Great breakfast place next door.”
haunsanderson, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“check around”
frostygail, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Inquire at checkin for quietest room and the downtown shuttle.”
traveladdict2015, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5