We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
204 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5406
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (19)
View from Room (5)

About

#41 of 56 hotels in Santa Cruz
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you’re looking for a budget friendly motel in Santa Cruz, look no further than Aqua Breeze Inn. Nearby landmarks such as the Beach Boardwalk, Cocoanut Grove, Wharf and Mark Abbot Memorial Lighthouse make Aqua Breeze Inn a great place to stay when visiting Santa Cruz. The rooms offer a flat screen TV with HBO and ESPN, a microwave, refrigerator, air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease. In addition, guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking (1 car per room). During your visit, be sure to check out one of Santa Cruz's popular lobster restaurants such as Stagnaro Bros Seafood, The Crow's Nest, and Ideal Bar & Grill, all a short distance from Aqua Breeze Inn. Best of all, Aqua Breeze Inn makes it easy to experience some great Santa Cruz attractions like To Honor Surfing Monument, which is a popular . The staff at Aqua Breeze Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
143Reviews2Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 27
  • 36
  • 16
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jen T wrote a review Jun. 2022
1 contribution
I would rate this place zero stars if I could. We arrived at 2:06pm. Check in is at 3pm. Room wasn’t ready so fine no worries. We will wait. The establishment only allows for one car to park in the parking lot which is understandable since they give us a parking pass to park on the street. We have two vehicles. We decide to stay in parking lot until we wait for our room to be ready. One of the men instantly start harassing us to move one of the vehicles. We informed them we are waiting to unload. Our room is finally ready at 2:50pm. We are still unloading and at 3:10p, the guy is knocking on our door telling us to move a car. We were still unloading. We are 4 adults with two kids so we have a lot to unload- luggage, coolers, snacks, beach tents.. I call the front office to complain and he said well it didn’t look like you were unloading- 1. My husband was while I stayed with the kids 2. Are you literally spying? If you can deal with this type of harassment then go right ahead and stay here. If not, avoid at all cost.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Aqua Breeze Inn
Responded Jun. 14, 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for writing to us about your recent stay. We are glad that you chose to stay with us. However, we apologize for your unfortunate experience regarding parking. Please know that we would dearly love to have more parking available for our guests, but, unfortunately, space around our hotel is very much at a premium. We do facilitate as many guests as we possibly can, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience that our limited parking area caused you. We hope we get to serve you soon! Best Regards, Aqua Breeze Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
b c wrote a review Mar. 2022
1 contribution
First off, I never leave bad reviews. Until now. Shower water was cold. Aqua Freeze cold. An employee saw my little dog peeing in the parking lot *IN THE RAIN* and told me to take him across the street for that. But worst of all, when I returned one day, housekeeping had *left the door ajar* after cleaning. This earns them the new name of Aqua Sleaze, and I will not be returning there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Aqua Breeze Inn
Responded Mar. 31, 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review us. Your feedback makes us happy and, we are delighted to hear about your impression and experience with us. However, we appreciate you for highlighting these issues and, we will take steps to ensure such experiences do not reoccur. We apologize for failing to fulfill your expectation, and if we were made aware of this, it would have helped us provide you with a better experience. We hope to remain your hotel of choice in this area and to give you a better stay on a future visit. Best Regards, Aqua Breeze Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Neil B wrote a review Mar. 2022
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
The heater/air conditioner unit in the room had a notice stuck to it that it was controlled by the thermostat. The thermostat on the wall was not working, it clearly just needed a new battery, so we told the receptionist who advised us it would be repaired while we were out (after we suggested it needed a new battery), upon return the thermostat was on but displayed "error" so the heating/cooling was still not working. We again told the receptionist that the thermostat was still not working, they said we would have to use the controls on the wall unit, we asked if we could be moved to a room with a working thermostat, they said that was not possible and told us the thermostat system was new and they were still working out the bugs (so new it already needed new batteries). After returning to the room we discovered that the wall unit had no option to set a temperature and would have to be either constantly on and very noisy or off which would result in another freezing night. So we decided this was not acceptable and as they were unable to offer an acceptable solution after two tries we would have to change hotels. We vacated the room and I went to reception and politely informed them we were checking out early because of their failure to address the issue and this would be reflected in reviews posted, at which another employee came out of the room behind reception. I went to leave but then wanted to add that I would expect to only be charged for the one (freezing) night we had stayed, at which point the man who had come from the back room started yelling get out at me at the top of his voice to try to shout over what i was trying to say. Totally shocking terrible way to treat customers that has only resulted in me telling everyone who will listen about the horrible experience. As a side note, when we booked through their website they had a 50% sale on their rates, which at full rate would make them one of the most expensive hotels in Santa Cruz, or maybe it was just a fake sale?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Aqua Breeze Inn
Responded Mar. 12, 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to review us. While we are happy that you chose to stay with us, we are disappointed to hear about your unfortunate impression and experience with us. These are serious issues highlighted by you, and we will take steps to ensure this does not reoccur. We will review your comments in detail and make changes wherever possible in improving and training our staff, to ensure a better experience for our future guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity of serving you. Best Regards, Aqua Breeze Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Thanks bro wrote a review Nov. 2021
1 contribution
Room 107. Shower water doesn't drain right away, standing in a drain water puddle. Don't! I repeat Don't waist your money. The "owner" is not such a good guy. I asked for an apology for a mistake on their part, the guy told me "it'll be a cold day in hell" lol nasty place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Aqua Breeze Inn
Responded Nov. 22, 2021
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are so disappointed to hear that you had such a negative experience during your stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies - you did not have a typical experience in our hotel at all. We promise to take appropriate measures regarding the issues highlighted by you. We wish you had brought this to our notice earlier as this would have helped us find a better alternative. We will make sure to highlight the issues to our management, and we hope to take steps to avoid such instances going forward. We look forward to hosting you soon! Best Regards, Aqua Breeze Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Junior G wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Don’t leave anything in the rooms or make sure you put them away very good they have untrustworthy workers in this hotel never again will I stay very untruthful and at the end I don’t get anything that I lost or replaced
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamal Naran, General Manager at Aqua Breeze Inn
Responded May 12, 2021
Dear Guest, Our housekeeping team has been working with us for more than 5 years and we have not had a single problem with them. When they do any rooms that have to be serviced they do not touch any personal items. For example, if there are any personal items on the bed they do not make it as to not touch anything personal in case situations like this arise. Our workers have no need to be taking items from guests. Regards, Aqua Breeze Inn
Read more
melaniep820 wrote a review Apr. 2021
San Francisco, California6 contributions2 helpful votes
It is 3:59 a.m., and the people in the room next door are still having a party. This started at 12:30 a.m. with blaring music and yelling, resulting in the people upstairs banging on our ceiling, thinking it was us. I tried calling the front desk to no avail. The partiers are still going. We secured alternative lodging for our next two nights, and will seek a refund for the remainder of our booked stay here. Other notes: People smoking weed on the terrace in front of kids; rooms are small but adequate and clean. I relied on TripAdvisor reviews when booking. I wish I'd read Yelp too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Aqua Breeze Inn
Responded Apr. 11, 2021
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. While we are glad you chose to stay with us, we are sad to know that your experience was not up to the usual standards. We sincerely apologize for failing to provide you with a better experience and, had we not been fully booked. We surely would have helped you find a better alternative. We hope you forgive us and give us another chance to improve your impression of us. Best Regards, Aqua Breeze Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Rena Maier wrote a review Mar. 2021
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked this hotel for 5 or us. It was our sons 17th birthday, so it was nice being close to the beach and the boardwalk. The room was a two bedroom, with a kitchen, which was nice for saving money on eating out. Price was a little high, I believe, because the rooms need major updating. It was fairly clean, and we felt safe. Had some issues with hot water the second night, around 11, and the property manager came in and checked everything, and noticed that the boiler had turned off. 10 minutes later, I had a nice hot shower. Great stay! 3 stars because the rooms were outdated, and could have used some minor repairs. Would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Aqua Breeze Inn
Responded Mar. 27, 2021
Dear guest, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted with your decision to spend such a special day with us. However, we are sorry for not blowing it out of the park for you. It is unfortunate that you feel overpaid. We do monitor our prices regularly and keep the rates competitive for the area. We will look into your claims regarding property and check the feasibility of a property upgrade. We hope you had a great tour of the beach and, we look forward to hosting you again. Best Regards, Aqua Breeze Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Randoms R wrote a review Aug. 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Very disappointed. Room is dirty and smelly. Good thing I brought cleaning supplies. You can hardly move the room is so tiny, beds are extremely uncomfortable, ac doesnt work. I opened the door and door knob broke off. Only plus is the location
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Other at Aqua Breeze Inn
Responded Aug. 2, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and letting us know that our location suited you. We appreciate it. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds like your time with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the issues you describe with the beds and the AC, and we are very sorry to hear that you had concerns related to cleanliness and odor. At Aqua Breeze Inn, we take upkeep and cleanliness very seriously, and your room should always feel fresh and clean. Our staff generally does a great job when it comes to maintaining our property and preparing the rooms for upcoming guests, so it is strange that this happened. Please know that the maintenance conditions that you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and we extend our heartfelt apologies for any failure in delivering on our commitment of providing you with a clean, comfortable, and pleasant place to stay. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us, and we have taken all your observations on board for the betterment of the guest experience. We will also have your comments reviewed by our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness are maintained at all times. Furthermore, we will see to it that our staff does a better job of preparing/airing out the rooms moving forward. We also want you to know that we have a variety of rooms available and in a range of sizes. If you were to consider staying with us again, we would be happy to assist you with the room type that might suit you the best in terms of size. It is disappointing if a guest leaves with less than first-rate experience - this is very unlike us. We know we can do better, and it would be an honor to have another chance to change your perception and restore your faith in our facility and hospitality. Best Regards, Aqua Breeze Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Ralstin wrote a review Feb. 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
NEVER EVER STAY HERE. I am writing the first review of my life. I am a 38 yr old working professional woman who travels 75% of the time and have stayed in countless hotels. I am a local SC resident and waiting for two weeks to move into my new rental. I paid in advance online for 3 nights at this place and upon checking in the owner was so incredibly rude I have never in my life experienced this kind of brash out of nowhere discrimination for absolutely no reason. He decided that he was not going to let me stay bc I was a local!?!!! He looked at my vehicle which is a nice Mercedes and then said the people in the car ( my husband and his friend) who were dropping me to check in and go out the coast for the day to gold hunt looked "too local" in his words. We are a hard-working , clean and sober family. He refused to allow us to stay and gave no other reason but that we are local and look local. I was in business attire mind you. Disgusting, disrespectful, inappropriate, and unethically immoral. I am reporting him to the BBB. I now have to go through a big ordeal to get refunded online. Please save yourself the trouble and spread the word. There are many other wonderful places to stay here in SC with lovely staff in and around the boardwalk for those coming here on vacation. It may be cheaper than others, but pay a little more for someone who understands how to do business and properly. This is beyond anything I have ever experienced in this type of environment.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
272travis wrote a review Nov. 2019
Peoria, Illinois1 contribution
We love the vintage style and great location. All the staff we encountered were courteous and friendly. We will be back everytime we need a Santa Cruz room. We're filmmakers and we stay in a lot of motels - this one was great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: 3rd Floor is best view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Breeze Inn
Responded Nov. 4, 2019
Dear Guest, To see that we were able to provide our guest with such a wonderful experience is the highest compliment we can receive. Thank you so much for sharing! Best Regards, Aqua Breeze Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$197 - US$414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aqua breeze hotel santa cruz, sea breeze hotel, sea breeze motel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Cruz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aqua Breeze Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Aqua Breeze Inn?
Nearby attractions include Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (0.2 km), Santa Cruz Wharf (0.2 km), and Boardwalk Bowl (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aqua Breeze Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Aqua Breeze Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Aqua Breeze Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aqua Breeze Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Picnic Basket, Ideal Bar & Grill, and Beach Street Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Aqua Breeze Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aqua Breeze Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Aqua Breeze Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting San Lorenzo River Railroad Bridge (1.4 km).