We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 825: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
 Click to rate
Petaluma, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was clean and tastefully appointed. They have the right perks: free WiFi, complimentary water bottles, in room coffee, toiletries, well-stocked vending machines and free parking. Location is relatively close to beach and downtown.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K9810TMjasonp
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Excelent hotel. I really recommend. Excelent room. Marvelous bathroom. Park free. No breakfast. Not close to the pier but there are some public parking close to the pier. I recommend to use the public park 1 block from pier in colorado avenue crossing 2nd street, in front of mcdonald... its is free for the first 90 minutes. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
About Hotel's Favourite Review
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Greetings from Santa Monica! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your experience was at the Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel. As you mention, the City of Santa Monica offers several public parking options in Downtown Santa Monica and the Pier area. We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our property and that...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel location is fine if you are in need of medical treatment as there is no shortage of hospital's. if you are a light sleeper then this is not the hotel for you ? Ambulances with there sirens Blasting out in the early hours of the morning. There is nothing in and around this hotel no bars no Resturant's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was clean, bit of a walk to the downtown/beach area but good value for the area. Be aware that breakfast ends a bit earlier than other Best Westerns I have stayed at, make sure to ask at check-in.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauriejmsh
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Hello from Sunny Santa Monica! It is always wonderful to receive feedback from our guests. Thank you for sharing that the Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel is one of the best full service value hotels in Santa Monica! The restaurant has temporarily closed for renovation and re-branding. During the renovation, we have been temporarily providing complimentary breakfast in our meeting...

Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent two nights at this hotel while visiting friends and relatives in the area. It was my first stay at this property but will likely not be my last. My room was large and had all of the needed amenities (including iron and ironing board, refrigerator, coffee maker, etc.). A key card is required to use the elevator to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Movinup
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting the Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel while visiting family and friends! As you mention, our location is easily accessible from many directions. Our team was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your guest room accommodations. We apologize that the breakfast service did not meet your expectations. The restaurant has temporarily closed for renovation and re...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this hotel. I visit LA several times a year on business, and I love the affordability of this hotel. It is clean, simple, and great rooms. I will say that since the IHOP shut down, the breakfast in the meeting room is really depressing. But the food selection is good, so I recommend just grabbing your stuff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Copyedster
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we truly value our repeat guests and thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel for your business travel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings. The restaurant has temporarily closed for renovation and re-branding. Regarding the location of the breakfast service, we have been temporarily providing complimentary breakfast in our meeting...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night on a Friday night. Room was a good size and was clean when we entered. We were on the top floor and didn't hear any noise from neighbors or hallways. Parking was adequate. Staff were very nice. Wifi was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tweener702
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Hello From Sunny Santa Monica! Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel. We appreciate your five bubble review and are delighted that your accommodations fulfilled your expectations. It is such a pleasure to have wonderful customers such as yourself! When your travels bring you back to Santa Monica, CA. we will be happy to assist you with...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had to go to UCLA Medical Center in Santa Monica & needed somewhere to stay. After reading all the reviews I decided to stay here. I couldn't have been happier with my stay. From the moment I checked in I felt so appreciated & informed. My dad is handicapped & the girl at the front desk was so kind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renee L
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Hello Renee L., Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel while at the UCLA Medical Center. We were delighted to read that the accommodations were a perfect match for you and your father! Our entire staff enjoyed providing you with warm hospitality and friendly customer service! Please contact us if we can ever be of service in...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is just ok. It's clean but the staff are neither friendly or rude. They're indifferent. I feel $200 per night is too much especially since the attached restaurant is closed. (We were not told this when we made the reservation.) That was one reason we chose this hotel. We had an appt at the Angeles Clinic and found...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rutht344
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at our property. Regarding refunds, the hotel will only post charges for the actual number of nights guests stay. But, the hotel has no authority to issue refunds for prepaid reservations that guests booked online. In order to get a refund for any unused, prepaid nights,...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst exploring the area. It's a little way out from Santa Monica beach (25 mins walk) but for the price a fair location with bus stops and train only a block or two away. Room was fairly basic but clean, slightly noisy from outside traffic and people going to vending machine opposite room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parkerb349
BWGateway, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Santa Monica, CA. We were glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel represented a good value for the destination. Your feedback is very important to us and we always appreciate receiving ideas on how we can improve the customer...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (145)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (34)
Viewed
King Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,055 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,677 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
525 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: $319 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay away from the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles Movinup, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We always try to book a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 6Miles01, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“get a room as far away from the street as possible”
 of 5 bubbles birthdaygirl1105, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room near elevator or vending/ice machine.”
 of 5 bubbles Andrewsk8s, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing street are quiet, so probably any room will be comfortable and restful.”
 of 5 bubbles CBarNyc, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5