We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Gateway Inn

View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Gateway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Gateway Inn
 Click to rate
Torrance, California
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Folks, my review doesn't differ much from the others on file. This hotel is an old hotel - probably 20+ years that has seen little in the form of renovations. Why stay here? It could almost be said because it's the only hotel in town. Not quite true as there are two other older hotels in the center of town...

Thank herrerainv
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The whole place was scruffy. The room was dirty and the carpets and walls in the corridors were stained and greasy. The towels and bedlinen were grubby. 'Breakfast' was a muffin. Couldn't wait to get away.

Thank glen577
OGI350, General Manager at Ocean Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We constantly strive to improve and will definitely focus and bring attention on the area(s) that you mentioned.

Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here a year ago and it seemed a nice enough hotel. my how things changed in the last year. The floors were dirty, the walls need paint, the bath tub/surround needs to be replaced and the bed wasn't comfortable. Needless to say, I would have given a lower score if I could. We won't be staying there again!

Thank George B
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We stayed here cause everything else was full. The place is old but that should be no excuse to not maintain it or update the bedding. We got there and went to our room and it smelled bad like musty . The A/C was turned off and once we turned it on it smelled like melting plastic . So we...

Thank Maria C
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Staff was friendly during booking and after arrival. Booked king 'suite' here as no other room available in area. Room was old and tired. Carpet was new though commercial utilitarian. Jacuzzi tub sit up size, shower head tall enough for a 5' person. Room fairly clean, though a few hairs, spots on walls, and fixtures needed attention. Had to ask...

Thank Tonja K
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We ended up staying here as it was the last hotel with room in the Ventura area. WHAT A GROSS PLACE. We paid $163 with tax for an outdated, very filthy room with two full/double beds. I arrived to find out that the room they had reserved for us "had a man inside it". The lady got her manager to...

4Thank aw0211
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed their 2 nites room smelled. Microwave had no plate walls dirty desk dirty.poop stains on bathroom wall. When i got home i had to take shower because i was very itchy on my hair. Never staying their again.

6Thank aliciar12birth
Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

I am a budget traveler who wanted to visit Ojai but didn't want to pay the high prices for a room so I opted to room here in nearby Santa Paula. I was very happy with the great customer service provided by Mr Patel and his staff. I liked the large room that was fairly quiet and I slept well....

Thank Ugogo22
Ventura, California
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Thought we had a great deal last minute. We knew the hotel was going to be less than desirable but we needed a hotel. The front desk lady was very accommodating to us. We had the room in a matter of minutes. The next morning we left the hotel and left behind a beautiful white embroidery silk blouse by accident....

2Thank BJ O
Reviewed 15 November 2014 via mobile

The Ocean Gateway Inn is a budget motel, so it's not fancy, but it is clean, has a pool, and is located next door to the best Mexican restaurant in Santa Paula. Try the chilaquiles for breakfast, or the mixed seafood bake for dinner.

Thank CarmichaelVentura

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (13)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (4)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Paula
2.7 km away
Glen Tavern Inn
Glen Tavern Inn
#1 of 4 in Santa Paula
165 reviews
2.5 km away
Santa Paula Inn
Santa Paula Inn
#2 of 4 in Santa Paula
148 reviews
16.3 km away
BEST WESTERN la Posada Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Days Inn Camarillo - Ventura
19.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
1,047 reviews
15.3 km away
La Quinta Inn Ventura
La Quinta Inn Ventura
#12 of 22 in Ventura
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Ocean Gateway Inn

Address: 350 South Peck Road, Santa Paula, CA 93060 (Formerly Travelodge)
Region: United States > California > Santa Paula
Price Range: $106 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gateway Hotel Santa Paula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Gateway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I've stayed here a few times and all rooms are about the same.”
herrerainv, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here. It's a dump.”
  • Look at how dirty this bathroom is. Beyond words.
aw0211, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Triple check for belongings before you leave!!”
bjo2015, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I do not know if there is a good room here!. (I looked at 2). ours and friends room.”
StevenH755, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
US$77* /night
View Deal
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates