The Genevieve

The Genevieve

Traveller (175)
Room & Suite (46)
The Genevieve
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 3 hotels in Santa Ynez
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Alluring, intimate, and captivating… you’re invited to a secret getaway at The Genevieve. Indulge all senses at our 20-room boutique hotel in Santa Ynez. Our hotel features The Victor Restaurant and Bar, premier event space for memorable weddings and events, a beautiful day spa, and plenty more. The Genevieve gives new meaning to the phrase “well taken care of.”
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Spa
Couples massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:SAVE 10% - IN FULL BLOOM

Location

3627 Sagunto Street, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9577
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
Santa Barbara Municipal Airport
30.1 km
See all flights
Santa Maria Public Airport
47.5 km
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles843 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Genevieve garners high praise for its exceptional service and prime location, with the lush garden fire pits and quality breakfast contributing to its luxurious and romantic ambiance. While most guests are delighted with the stylish and comfortable rooms, a few report inconsistencies in cleanliness and service. Despite occasional minor issues, the value-added wine tasting passport is a popular perk, and the hotel's overall experience is deemed worthwhile by many travelers.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Romantic
Rooms
Stylish
Value
Fantastic
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
843Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 715
  • 81
  • 34
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
greg p wrote a review Jun 2023
studio city , california10 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When in Santa Ynez think no further than the Genevieve! We have stayed there multiple times and it something you need to experience. The breakfast was over the top! The wine tasting with high end bottles and the charcuterie board was immense.

The rooms are huge with tall ceilings and the beds are super comfortable.
Amazing bathrooms that you could live in.

We cannot say enough with this property. Left yesterday but we are ready to go back soon from our home in Studio City!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kristopher McLaughlin, General Manager at The Genevieve
Responded Jun 9, 2023
Hi gregp955 - Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review for others to read. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us in Santa Ynez. We are so proud of the services we offer including our gourmet breakfast and wine hour so it is really nice to hear that we are hitting the mark. We hope you come to visit us again soon for another escape from the city. Kindly, Kristopher McLaughlin, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca Z wrote a review Aug 2020
Laguna Niguel, California173 contributions187 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spend 1 night at this Inn and had no complaints with our stay in terms of service and location. However, for a standard king size room at a price of $600 per night (after taxes), the cost did not meet the expectation of a four diamond luxury resort they advertise.

Our standard room was very clean, but the bathroom was small and in an odd location directly next to the bed. Details such as mismatched brands of shower gel, shampoo and lotion (the shower gel was an organic company, the lotion was L'Occitane) and a plastic shower curtain is not on par with luxury resort expectations.

Breakfast (included with stay) was limited with only 2 options. If there was a buffet station (pre-pandemic), it was not offered table side. Additionally, there was only a communal shared coffee station of drip coffee and hot water for tea offered. I overheard another guest saying that they had to walk down the street to a local coffee house if you want a proper cup of coffee as the Inn did not have an espresso machine, something that should be standard in any luxury resort.

As it pertains to COVID-19 safety precautions, the staff was very mindful about wearing masks and had separate bins for used vs unused pens. There could definitely be improvement in adding hand sanitizers at ALL entrances and elevator doors. I think I only saw one sanitizer at the front desk. As noted above with the communal coffee station at breakfast, this definitely did not make me feel safe touching something shared by several different guests.

In fairness, the staff was efficient and helpful and I have no complaints with the stay. However, I do not think the overall experience matched the price, hence my harsh review. You can find equally pleasant stays at other Inns and hotels in the region for easily half the price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julio P, General Manager at The Genevieve
Responded Aug 25, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Rebecca. Feedback is always welcomed, especially feedback like yours that allows us to improve upon our facility. I'd like to apologize for missing the mark in offering you an experience we pride ourselves with, I assure you we've taken your concerns into full consideration. I'd like to note that Zero bath products is the only brand used for the hotel at this time and we are working to source elevated shower accessories. We've purchased additional hand sanitizers and have distributed them accordingly throughout the property. We do offer Espresso, Americano, Cappuccino, and Mocha - as well as Mimosas. However, we are not able to expand our complimentary breakfast offerings at this time. Once again, I truly appreciate your feedback. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly with any further questions or concerns you might have, I'd be happy to address them with you. I hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future so we can make it up to you. Kindly, Julio P. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
caileycavanaugh wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely love the Santa Ynez Inn. We have stayed twice now, and will certainly be back again. The Inn is well situated in the small town, walking distance from restaurants and tasting rooms and only a short drive to many lovely wineries in the area. The ambiance of the Inn is apparent from the moment you arrive - an upscale, relaxing retreat with beautiful vintage furnishings. The rooms are all very well appointed, with incredibly comfortable beds, plush sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, and music playing throughout, the bathrooms are sparkling, and the public areas (parlor room and courtyard with twinkle lights and fire pits) are so inviting. Each morning the Inn provides a hot breakfast that is delicious and generously portioned, and there is a wine hour and separate dessert hour in the evening. We love using the Inn's Tasting Passport to try some local wineries during the day, sitting by a fire pit in the courtyard with snacks and sips during wine hour, and walking to dinner in town in the evening. Between the location, the ambiance, and the amenities, the Santa Ynez Inn is the perfect weekend getaway!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer M wrote a review Jun 2020
Mission Viejo, United States36 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've stayed at the Santa Ynez Inn at least five times. It has a very classic feel. Very elegant and romantic. They serve made-to-order gourmet breakfasts to die for. The staff has always been very helpful and friendly. Our June 2020 trip was no exception. The hotel was spotless throughout. The room had been sanitized. We felt very comfortable being there. The Tasting Passport they offer adds great value to the cost of the room. We recommend checking in early to receive it, then head out to the wineries. Note that most require reservations at this time, though they seem to allow walk-ins when space allows. The inn offers a great central location to the surrounding wineries and there are several restaurants within walking distance. We highly recommend this hotel for couples.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry P, General Manager at The Genevieve
Responded Jul 9, 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We consider ourselves lucky to host guests like yourselves. I'm thrilled to hear our accommodations hit the mark for you, especially during such heightened times. I hope we're able to welcome you back again the next time you're looking for a getaway. Kindly, Julio P. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TerryF wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Inn needs some work if they want to maintain it as a 5-star property. The bathroom needs remodeling to get rid of the dangerous deep jetted tub/shower combo. The rooms need more power outlets for charging phones and laptops, and someone with a good eye for luxury amenities needs to look critically at each room. Whether it is enough soap dishes in the bathroom or somewhere to hang a towel so that it is convenient when one gets out of the shower, little irritants add up when one is paying premium rates.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Genevieve
Responded Apr 22, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Feedback is always welcomed, especially when it allows us to improve upon our facility. It saddens me to hear that our accommodations and amenities didn't quite hit the mark for you, but rest assured that we will look into your concerns to address them. Kindly, Kristopher McLaughlin General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ElanaB1026 wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
One would imagine that going to a quaint inn, would mean that automatically the service would be fantastic. The service was horrible. The kitchen was slow and the food that came out was all cold. There was never enough food at the breakfast or dessert hour. My husband and I stayed in a room where there was only one bath towel. And when we would call downstairs to ask for another towel no one would pick up. when we ask to speak to a manager the front desk would say that there was no manager on site. The staff was rude. I would never recommend this place to anyone. None of the outdoor fireplaces were on even though it was freezing outside. What's the point of having two fireplaces outside in your courtyard if you're never going to turn it on? We spent a lot of money for one night and we're super disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SYI_Team, Public Relations Manager at The Genevieve
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to improve on our facility and guest experience. We'd like to apologize for your less than stellar experience and that we failed to offer you the service we pride ourselves with. We'd like to note that we do not turn on the fire pits when there is rain in the forecast, as it was during your visit. However, rest assured we've noted your concerns for future reservations and are addressing them with staff. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly if you have further questions or concerns. We hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time you're in our area. Kindly, The Santa Ynez Inn Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davidbtraveller wrote a review Apr 2023
Wakefield, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed for two nights with my family, we had two of the Couture rooms at a cost ex tax of $799 per night per room.
The hotel is NOT a boutique hotel in its current format it’s a Bed and Breakfast with a restaurant next door that to be fair is decent enough but not 5 star.
Upon arrival there is no bell boy, you can borrow a trolley to unload your vehicle ! You are given your key but not shown to your room, the rooms are big and clean but the linen is tired and the towels well used. There is no turn down service and no fresh towels unless you pester.
The wine tasting and cheese offered is basic, cheap packet cheese and hams on the side with a bottle of red and white on a table, not a tasting.
Don’t be sucked in by desert hour like we were, there is a plate of cookies! Additionally the whiskey tasting doesn’t exist, I made the mistake of tasting the whiskey in the decanter in the lounge and it’s cold tea!
The staff were ok but clearly have no leadership or passion for the ‘boutique hotel’ they supposedly work in.
If you get it on a deal at $200-300 a night then it’s fine but at $799 plus tax it is total robbery. The website is misleading in all its descriptions so take it with a pinch of salt.
The gourmet breakfast is actually self serve melon and a few pastries or pancakes or 2 eggs with bacon or ham.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ok on a deal but don’t pay any more than $300 a night
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greg B wrote a review Aug 2021
Los Angeles, California306 contributions247 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 4 nights at the Inn and got superb service. From our arrival, to the evening social hour, housekeeping and breakfast, everyone was friendly and professional.

The room was spotless, well appointed, and spacious (we had a deluxe room so ours may have been bigger than most). Bathroom was huge.

Breakfast consisted of a choice of some kind of pancake or French toast, an egg dish (such as eggs benedict or some variation of it) or vegetable omelet. There was also a buffet with terrific granola, yogurt, fruit, muffins, Danish , several juices etc. Service was terrific. They were friendly and helpful (even gave us some sightseeing help)

There is also an evening social hour with several local wines and a spread of a few hors d'oeuvres (stuffed mushrooms, deviled egg, canapes etc), lots of cheeses, dried fruit etc.

The evening desert hour had only some cookies. I was expecting something a little fancier given how they did breakfast and the social hour.

NOTE: you do pay an amenity fee (ours was $35 a night) for parking, wifi, breakfast etc so you are essentially paying for all of it on top of the room rate.

There was plenty of parking, and the hotel was full from what I could tell.

Wifi worked well and was fast.

The grounds are not quite as big as it seems in the photos but there is a large area surrounded by trees and bushes that has several fire pits, and areas to sit and relax. very nice. But disappointing there is no pool. We happened to be there when the temperature was over 100 so we really could have used one.

Santa Ynez is a rather small town, even though the population is only a tad smaller than Solvang and Buellton (4,000 vs 5,800 and 5,000 respectively), even though those towns seem so much bigger. The town is essentially about 3 blocks long. So I assume people live around the town. But there are a dozen or so restaurants to choose from in the area you can walk to. We enjoyed every one of them and appreciated the fact we could just walk to them.

Solvang and Los Olivos are basically about 10 minutes away and Buellton just a bit further. So you have a quiet town to stay in and a short ride to lots of activities and shops.

I would highly recommend the hotel as a good place to say in the Santa Ynez Valley.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julio P, General Manager at The Genevieve
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We consider ourselves lucky to have a guest such as yourself. I truly look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you're in the valley. Kindly, Julio Penuela General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CAgirlqt wrote a review Jan 2022
Los Angeles, California747 contributions91 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 4 nights in a very spacious ground floor room #106. Semi private patio, king bed and large bathroom with whirlpool tub and massive shower equipped with steam.

Breakfast was included along with wine tasting at 5:30 and dessert at 8pm. Also included was a group of wineries where a tasting was free to patrons of the Inn. This was an additional $35 per night called an amenity charge.

The Inn is a bit tired but very pleasant. Upon arrival we had to request glasses for the master bathroom and additional coffee pods for the coffee maker as well as coat hangers.
Although the floors in the bathroom are heated only half of the floor was heated. In addition there was a unpleasant smell of sulfur coming from the sinks. We reported this.

It’s possible that due to the pandemic and staffing issues that explains these shortcomings. However, the Inn does not have a technology to permit streaming on the large screen TV.

Our charges at check out were $3500. This of course does not include having lunch or dinner during that four day period.

Staff was very pleasant and accommodating during the entire stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is very convenient and free.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jritter2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came for our honeymoon and it was perfect. The room was beautiful. The entire atmosphere was romantic and relaxing. The amenities provided were the best. A gourmet breakfast every morning, wine hour with meats and cheeses to pair with the wine, dessert hour, the turn down service, beautiful music piped into your room, and the tasting vouchers were the best. I don't want to stay where else.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Santa Ynez Inn Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Genevieve
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Jenni, thank you very much for such a kind review. It was a pleasure to host you for your honeymoon and that we were able to help make your trip memorable. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience overall, most notably our amenities! We look forward to welcoming you both back the next time you're in our area. Kindly, The Santa Ynez Inn Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Ynez area.
PRICE RANGE
C$378 - C$707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
santa ynez hotel santa ynez
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Santa Ynez Inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Ynez
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Genevieve - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Genevieve
Which popular attractions are close to The Genevieve?
Nearby attractions include Santa Ynez Valley Historical Museum and Janeway-Parks Carriage House (0.1 km), Carr Winery Santa Ynez (0.2 km), and CrossHatch Winery (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Genevieve?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at The Genevieve?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Genevieve?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Genevieve?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Genevieve?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brothers Restaurant at the Red Barn, S.Y. Kitchen, and Trattoria Grappolo.
Is The Genevieve located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Santa Ynez.
Does The Genevieve offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Is The Genevieve accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Santa Ynez HotelsSanta Ynez Hotel DealsHotels near The Genevieve
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars