Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

The in room spa
Traveller (286)
Room & Suite (286)
Pool & Beach (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Exclusive member rates
C$251
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#8 of 11 hotels in Sonoma
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in Sonoma,CA, the Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Now! Stay 3 Nights Get 10,000 Bonus Points!

Location

550 2ND St W, Sonoma, CA 95476
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Metropolitan Oakland Intl Airport
66.9 km
See all flights
Sonoma County Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,601 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center garners praise for its cleanliness and tastefully renovated ambiance, with many guests enjoying the charming fireplaces and courtyard views. Its prime location is a hit, offering easy access to nearby dining and historical sites. While the service and room experiences are varied, with some guests encountering unprofessional staff and noisy construction, others report spacious and clean accommodations. Despite its merits, some travelers question the value, pointing to the high prices and less impressive amenities.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,601Review11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 653
  • 579
  • 198
  • 79
  • 92
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rachelemarsden wrote a review Jun 2023
4 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I wrote a review yesterday it posted with 1 star it should have been all stars ⭐️ we stayed june 13 to 17 of 2023 and had the best time ever the staff was awesome and hotel was clean and super accommodating and the location is the best!!! The review was titled fun in the Sun!!! It was a birthday party and family reunion and Father’s Day celebration and we were supper glad we stayed at the best western it’s always the best!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary V wrote a review Feb 2020
McKinleyville, California829 contributions361 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted something within walking distance to the Sonoma plaza and the Best Western is in a very convenient location to do this. Even though it's on a bit of a busy street, the rooms are tucked back and were completely soundproof. Our room was spacious and clean, the staff said "Good morning" to us as we passed them in the halls, and the hot tub/pool area secluded and inviting. Breakfast was a huge spread of delicious fresh options and the room was spacious. The Krug conference center looks like a great place to hold a small meeting - 3 conference rooms from what I could see - all in a building across the parking lot from the main hotel. I would stay here again and recommend this to anyone staying in this area. Prices are a bit higher than you would pay in Santa Rosa but its proximity to wineries, great restaurants and other interesting parts of Sonoma is worth it. Thank you to Paul for his special attention to our reservation - and to all of the staff for making it such a pleasant visit for us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Michael M wrote a review Feb 2020
Lee's Summit, Missouri1,248 contribution101 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted a place to stay in Sonoma the first night we were there. We were getting in late and moving to our rental house the next day. We picked the Best Western on price and were pleasantly surprised. The room was nice and the breakfast was a full hot breakfast with fresh eggs not powdered. The pool area looked inviting. We would stay here again on our next trip to wine country.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael2243 wrote a review Feb 2020
Stockton, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In Sonoma, there are traditionally some overly priced hotels with not much amenities offered. I stayed here for business purposes but fell in love with this place. They have a heated pool and spa right outside your back patio. All rooms I stay at here have a cozy little fireplace with a free Duraflame log to lite. The cleanliness was exceptional as I found no visible trash left on the property nor in the room. The pricing is a great value for what this place comes with, and it is conveniently placed near the heart of Sonoma for shopping and eating within walking distance. The bed I slept in was very comfortable and had no issues going right to sleep. The only recommendation I would make is to update some appliances (microwave, and lighting), and the couch. These were not in bad condition but could be a little more modernized. The overall experience was wonderful the staff and the breakfast were very satisfying. Look forward to staying here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth W wrote a review Jan 2020
Canmore, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed there Jan 17/20 in one of their suites. I think it was 316, but am not sure.
The property has many things going for it, but we will never stay there again. The room has a fireplace with one of those fire logs. Just light it with a match they supply and it will soon become engulfed. Also handy by are instructions that say, amongst other things, “do not move the log”. We did not.
We were woken up by a fire alarm and the phone soon rang. They sent somebody up and he arrived about 15-20 minutes later. During the interval. I had become affected by the smoke and felt sick. I opened up the front door and lay down outside the room. The fresh air felt good. The employee arrived and stepped around me. He did not ask how I was, let alone ask if I needed medical help.
I was not drunk.
I hear him talk to my wife and blame the improper placement of the log on housekeeping. Nonsense. This was a training issue. When he left. I had managed to sit up, but I was still outside. All he said upon leaving was “good night”.
When we checked out the next morning, I, I calmly expressed my displeasure to the male employee on duty. “Sorry” is all he could manage at first. Then he offered “to take a few bucks off”, which was 20%. For
Maki me sick and stinking up our room? Entirely inadequate. Isn’t this the state where people sue for whatever? They should have at least offered to refund 100% of what we paid. We will not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kendall C, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear elizabethwV2859JV, I am sorry for the event with the fire log last Friday night. I looked through the notes in your reservation and spoke to the staff that was working as well so that I could better understand what happened. As I was told, the log the and grate were too close to the opening of the fireplace. Our staff has been trained on this but unfortunately mistakes do happen and having the log so close the front of the fireplace can cause smoke to enter the space of the room. The front desk said that when you spoke to them they immediately offered to send someone to your room which you initially declined. At some point our assistance was accepted The gentleman who came to your room told me that when he arrived you were out in front of the room lying on the tile. He said he asked you if you were ok and you dismissed him. At that point he point he thought you were ok and wanted him to leave you alone Then following morning you were offered a %25 discount which you declined. I have gone ahead and applied the discount anyway. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced Best Regards Kendall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William S wrote a review Apr 2020
Needles, United States11 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff was not welcoming and did not attempt to address needs of guests. The hotel is not disabled friendly as it does not have an elevator. Hotel staff was stuffy in demeanor and consequently assigned guests to the worst room location which was difficult to traverse as the room was very distant from parking area and difficult to transport luggage. As this property is located in the Wine Country of Sonoma guests would expect better treatment and a welcoming attitude which was sorely missing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kendall C, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Responded May 9, 2020
Dear William S I am sorry that you felt that our staff was not welcoming and friendly. Due to COVID 19 our lobby is closed and we are doing all transactions through the walk up window with masks on. Having half of our faces covered makes it difficult for both parties to effectively display emotion. We are doing the best we can under the circumstances that we are all facing. We did honor your reservation and gave you the room type that you booked. I'm sorry if that was not a good fit for you. I do hope that despite the room not meeting your needs you would be willing to try staying with us again perhaps another room Best Regards Kendall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mjqt8484 wrote a review Jun 2020
Elk Grove, California2 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I made an hotel reservation on Thursday June 25th 2020. I stayed at this hotel two previous times. On this date my wife felt ill and had to cancel day of the hotel visit. I made this reservation with 20000 bestwestern points. I called the hotel to see if someone sick during a pandemic could cancel I was notified nothing He could do and points would be charged.

I called coperate bestwestern and they stated they would send email to site about the situation.

On Monday June 29th. The hotel refunded my points. but charged me 125 dollars. management stated under new policy they could cancel points and charge my credit card. Management also informed me it not their responsibility to inform guest they could cancel points and charge at their privilege at rack rate. I was my responsibility to keep up with change in hotel policy.

I stay in 50 to 90 hotels a year this worst service I seen with keeping guest safe with sick guests. (There is a pandemic).

Management was rude and chaged the rules and ignored corparate. I have disputed charges with Cooperate and American Express if you care about your safety stay away until pandemic is over. They forcing guest to arrive even if sick.

I will follow up on the results on this dispute.

Johnnie Powell
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kaylabythesea wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Courtyard is beautiful. And rooms just need a little upkeep and deeper cleanings. Especially now every inch of rooms should be scrub between guess and some of the dust I found in places is a long time of buildup and worries me.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kendall Comfort, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Responded Jul 22, 2020
Dear Kaylabythesea Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm happy to hear that you were able to spend sometime relaxing in our courtyard. I wanted to let you know that we take cleanliness very seriously ( particularly during this time) and I have had a conversation with our executive housekeeper to re emphasize the importance of cleanliness in our rooms . We understand how much that means to guests during this time. We hope that you will still consider staying with us again Best Regards Kendall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jdwyer3rd wrote a review Jan 2020
Saint Louis, Missouri1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Best Western has a rustic, romantic feel. There are fireplaces in the rooms and the first log is free. We spent time in the hot tub. Great pool/fire pit area. Good free breakfast.The best was Ron at the front desk helped us with a surprise early check-in at 10 am before our 10:30 wine tour bus arrived. We'd expected to have to wait until our tour ended at 5 pm to check in. Thanks, Ron! Also, this hotel is in a great location near the square in Sonoma with easy walking distance to the area's best restaurants and a few blocks of the fabulous Sonoma Market.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kendall C, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear jdwyer3rd, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers about your stay with us here in Sonoma! I'm glad Ron was able to check you in early and you were able to get your things into your room before heading out for the day to go wine tasting! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I hope that the next time you choose to visit wine country you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again for your nice review! Best Regards Kendall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Floyd H wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My complaint with the Sonoma Valley Best Western goes beyond anger. I feel like a robbery victim. Be aware of their cancellation policy; no exception is given for unforeseen events.

In our case, a reservation was made and paid for in advance to the Inn before a medical emergency occurred (surgery). Additionally, a state-wide ban was issued by both governors of Oregon and California due to a spike in the pandemic in December/January 2020-21.

Numerous attempts were made to cancel the reservation via phone and e-mail, but there was no response from the manager, Jack. I was ignored. There was no offer to do the right and honorable thing and either refund our $673.00 or postpone the reservation.

We are a retired couple with years of travel ahead of us. As a result of this wretched experience, we won’t be staying in any Best Western again.

This policy means they could have rented our room and doubled their profit.

Wow! What a racket!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kendall Comfort, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Responded Apr 16, 2021
Dear floyd953, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very sorry for your experience. I do remember you calling back then several times. When I look back in your reservation I see that we do have a credit on file for you. I am so very sorry that someone did not contact you to let you know that. I am not sure what happened and I sincerely apologize.I did want to let you know that we did not in fact turn around and re sell the room. Covid restrictions were still in play during that time. We had very very minimal occupancy. In looking back through the details I see that you booked a non cancellable reservation. We did go ahead and hold your deposit for a future stay valid until 12/15/21 of this year. Again, I apologize that that was not conveyed to you. I can only attribute it to over extremely short staff and possibly an over site. I sincerely hope that you will book again with us soon and we look forward to having the chance to meet you in Sonoma face to face Sincerely Kendall Comfort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Michael M
Lee's Summit, Missouri1,248 contribution101 helpful votes
In February they were.
Answer from crystal543
Mesilla Park, New Mexico48 helpful votes
I don't think the hotel has transportation.
Julianna B asked a question May 2018
Redondo Beach, California28 contributions9 helpful votes
Does your hotel offer any airport shuttle services? Or do you have a company you could refer our group to?
Answer from Michelle S
Regina, Canada96 contributions24 helpful votes
This hotel i believe did not offer shuttle. We rented a car. Its a easy drive out to Sonoma with google maps.
Colin Y asked a question Feb 2018
Reading, United Kingdom106 contributions32 helpful votes
Is there a bar at the hotel?
Answer from gingrannie
Cambridge, Massachusetts167 contributions33 helpful votes
No but you are a short walk from downtown
PattiVS wrote a tip Feb 2023
Pleasanton16 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request directly with the motel for balcony upstairs facing the back."
Read full review
NorCalKimmy wrote a tip Jan 2023
Ripon, California194 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Jan 2023- pool and hot tub closed for months"
Read full review
petefamx5 wrote a tip Nov 2022
Omaha, Nebraska154 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay at the Krug if possible. Outside entrances to rooms and pool area."
Read full review
731rebeccae wrote a tip Nov 2022
Martinez, California8 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here! Better options available in the Sonoma/Napa area. I pickup my Napa/Sonoma wine club wines every couple of months. They lost"
Read full review
WJDMSP wrote a tip Sep 2022
Champlin, Minnesota141 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a room on the top floor to minimize the noise."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sonoma area.
PRICE RANGE
C$254 - C$496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus sonoma valley inn & krug event hotel sonoma, best western plus sonoma valley inn and krug event center, best western sonoma, sonoma valley inn, sonoma best western
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSonoma CountySonoma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center?
Nearby attractions include Sonoma Plaza (0.3 km), Mission San Francisco Solano (0.3 km), and Sonoma Valley Visitors Bureau (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Scoops Homemade Ice Cream, Cafe La Haye, and LaSalette Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Is Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Sonoma.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Sonoma HotelsSonoma Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SonomaHotels near Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars