Pepper Tree Inn

Pepper Tree Inn

Вид с балкона - отсветы заката на озере Тахо
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (76)
Third floor view
Pool & Beach (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#3 of 3 motels in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located across the street from Lake Tahoe, Pepper Tree Inn is conveniently located in central Tahoe City, just a hop, skip, and a jump from restaurants, shops, trails, museums, the beach, the slopes, and many splendid view points. Our 7-story building offers exquisite lakefront views and a glimmer of Tahoe’s endless wonders and outdoor adventures. There are a variety of room choices including standard, lake view and our panorama rooms that offer you a magnificent view of the lake and the surrounding summits. All rooms include high-speed Wi-Fi and those extra amenities to make you feel welcome.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Kids stay free
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

645 North Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Reno-Tahoe Intl Airport
48.3 km
See all flights
234Reviews4Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 83
  • 40
  • 20
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
B d A wrote a review May 2024
Athens, Greece
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comforable, accessible, wise counsel not keeping food in the car because of the bears. Did not have breakfast because departed by civil twilight. Though street exposed it was quiet aand salubrious. Ease promenading along the lake before sunrise. Excellent restaurant suggestions. A robust, solid and serene motel cum hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christo99 wrote a review Apr 2005
Hamilton, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We experienced the worst service from ever in a hotel - starting with the reservation the man was rude and unhelpful on the phone. On arriving at the hotel his attitude hadn't changed - more of those pesky guests wanting to check-in again. However the room was very nice - obviously refurbished. Beds comfortable and nice decor. Only issue was with the heater - only had one setting - LOUD. Fortunately the rooms were warm enough without it. Bring your own powder for the guest laundry. When we enquired, we were rudely referred to the laundromat down the road. Surely not too much to offer laundry powder for sale? You can even get those dispensers so the staff don't have to be "bothered" with pesky guests asking for it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2005
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean T wrote a review Oct 2017
St. Helena, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location for first time visitors to Tahoe City ! We were on the 4 th floor so we could see some of the lake ( which costs more)but our view was of the elevator and water pipes , people waiting for the elevator were directly in front of our door and windows which required us to keep the curtain drawn. That said we were out of our room most of the next day !
Thanks for the tasty breakfast options! We will stay again but ask for a higher floor away from the elevator shaft !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Horses79 wrote a review Jun 2021
California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the Peppertree Inn for our Anniversary trip. The place was so COVID paranoid, that you had to call a number to tell them you have arrived and they give you a code for a lockbox to get your room key! No housekeeping services were available. If you wanted more towels or amenities, they said to text them and they would deliver it outside your room. I texted this morning at 9:15 am, before we left for a hike. We got back to the room at 6:30 pm, and NOTHING was delivered! Also, no ice machine on premises and no one in the office to help with issues. Also, place did have a swimming pool, but it is currently being filled in. Will not be staying here again!!! I asked for a credit for the poor service, but the night worker said it wasn't up to him. What the heck???
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from kaitlyn gullixson, Marketing at Pepper Tree Inn
Responded Jun 14, 2021
Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Although we are taking COVID precautions very seriously, the lockboxes are utilized when the hotel is short staffed, as many businesses in the Lake Tahoe basin currently are. All our staff are working overtime to provide our guests the best experience possible so I apologize that some of your requested items were missed. I'm sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. Please don't hesitate to contact us should you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hostel_lover wrote a review Jan 2022
Chicago, Illinois
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After booking on hoteltonight.com at least 24 hours prior, I received no communication from the hotel regarding the check-in process. When we arrived after hours, there was a sign with a number to text for checking in so we texted and waited, and waited, and then called the front desk number, texted again, called Hotel Tonight and finally texted again in total desperation. I received no help from anyone and ultimately ended up sleeping in my car with my family and dog and huddled together for warmth in the freezing temperatures on New Year's Eve. To this day, there has been no acknowledgement from the hotel to my text messages. We were in such desperation that when another guest came back to their room and saw us, they offered us water, bathroom and their cell phone number in case we needed to warm up. Yeah, that bad!!!!

I read the previous reviews but I'm pretty easy and flexible and figured - "how bad can it be?" A downright horrible nightmare if you can't check-in!!!!

Don't use Hotel Tonight for booking and don't stay here! Learn from my mistake and the mistakes of all the others. Trust the bad reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Not sure since I didn't see a room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlyn Gullixson, Owner at Pepper Tree Inn
Responded Jan 10, 2022
Hello again. Since this is your second review for the same experience, I will copy and paste the response I already posted to your original review. Hi Neal. When a guest books a room through HotelTonight, we are not provided with any contact information for the guest. When you had not arrived at our lobby closing time, we made multiple attempts to get in contact with you, even contacting HotelTonight directly to provide them with all the information for your late arrival box, which they assured us would be passed along to you. We received no after hour calls to any of our three posted numbers, as we would have been able to get you checked in immediately if we had. When HotelTonight contacted us to request a refund for your room the following day, we accommodated the request, no questions asked, although we did everything on our end that we could to ensure you were taken care of. It seems that your issues lie with HotelTonight and not us directly and hope that you'll take up your concerns with them instead so issues like this can be avoided in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grayda wrote a review Sep 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel, as just a place to lay our heads for one night. I took my sons to zipline, and didn't want to drive 6 hours in one day. What a mistake booking this place. Upon entering our room, (which I was given a key for, not the key card, because the door wasn't locking properly) my sons first found pills under the desk. I have no clue what they were... The bathroom sink was smeared with something, and it was incredibly warm in the room. NO AIR CONDITIONING!!! I should have asked when I booked, my fault. When we settled in, the tv didnt work. Picture was fine, no sound. I called to have it fixed, no one called back. I would not stay here again. The staff was pleasant upon checking in and out. But wonderful staff can't make up for nasty rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay here. Pay a little more, and stay somewhere that wants repeat guests.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlyn Gullixson, Marketing at Pepper Tree Inn
Responded Nov 2, 2020
Hi Grayda, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at the Pepper Tree Inn. As new owners, we are working hard to improve the property as well as the guest experience. We have big exciting renovation plans in the works, so stay tuned for those. We hope you’ll give us a chance to redeem your Pepper Tree experience and come visit us again one day. Thank you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EMI wrote a review Apr 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for one night 3/19/19. I inquired about staying the next night but decided not to. I checked out by the checkout time, 11AM. I just discovered the front desk agent charged me for the second night! I now have to go through the hassle of disputing the charge. I have not received a call back from management. And BTW, the hotel was closed (due to Coronavirus) the night they are charging me for. Horrible Customer Service for mediocre accommodations!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlyn Gullixson, Marketing at Pepper Tree Inn
Responded Nov 2, 2020
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at the Pepper Tree Inn. We're sorry to hear about the negative experience you had during your past stay. As new owners, we are working hard to improve the property as well as the guest experience. We have big exciting renovation plans in the works, so stay tuned for those. We hope you’ll give us a chance to redeem your Pepper Tree experience and come visit us again one day. Thank you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhys J wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel in taboo cit6. Amazing views from restaurants opposite. Loads of walks near by and we felt very safe. Lovely room and very comfortable. We would stay again. Room was very clean and warm on arrival. Reception staff very welcoming
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret P wrote a review Sep 2022
Paris, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I wanted to thank Summer at the Pepper Tree Inn for her incredible customer service. There was a misunderstanding about a cancellation and she fully honored the cancellation. I can’t wait until we can make the trip to Pepper Tree in the future. Our friends have stayed there in the past and LOVED it. Many thanks again for the kind and understanding staff!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Traveler wrote a review Jul 2020
Queens, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
No ac. Pool broken. Did I mention rooms have no ac! Very misleading website. We were put on 7th froor. Elevator broken. They never let us know. Nasty service. This place makes the holiday look like the Waldorf Astoria. Never ever stay here. Dirty, cigarette butts all over outside our room. It is about 100 in our room right now...no ac. View is ok. Not good enough to ever endure this rat nest again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t stay here. Dirty, no ac.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kaitlyn Gullixson, Marketing at Pepper Tree Inn
Responded Nov 2, 2020
Hi Jeremiah, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at the Pepper Tree Inn. As new owners, we are working hard to improve the property as well as the guest experience. We have big exciting renovation plans in the works, so stay tuned for those. We hope you’ll give us a chance to redeem your Pepper Tree experience and come visit us again one day. Thank you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
steinbn asked a question May 2017
Rocklin, California5 contributions2 helpful votes
Is this a pet friendly hotel?
Answer from Pepper Tree Inn
Tahoe City, California
No. Sorry
Zhongyuan D asked a question Apr 2016
4 contributions
is there a hot tub in it?
Answer from deb5biker
Concord, California82 contributions22 helpful votes
I don't think so, but call them at the front desk.
Answer from PTI-Managers
Tahoe City, California5 contributions1 helpful vote
I think I know what you want and the answer is - sorry- no- we do not offer "extended stay" special rates. We are so busy and booked during the summer months, it is cost-prohibited for us. I can offer no advice for cheap extended stays in the Lake Tahoe area as it is a resort community. Sorry- The Management
sparkyfromLA wrote a tip Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California, United States37 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unless you want the Grizwalds vacation, don’t stay here!"
Read full review
hostel_lover wrote a tip Jan 2022
Chicago, Illinois5 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure since I didn't see a room"
Read full review
Grayda wrote a tip Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here. Pay a little more, and stay somewhere that wants repeat guests."
Read full review
The Traveler wrote a tip Jul 2020
Queens, New York5 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here. Dirty, no ac."
Read full review
MJMJONCape wrote a tip Oct 2019
San Ramon, California17 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick another hotel...email me for nearby suggestions that are much, much better!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tahoe City area.
PRICE RANGE
C$133 - C$268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pepper tree hotel tahoe city, pepper tree motel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLake Tahoe (California)Tahoe City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Pepper Tree Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Pepper Tree Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Pepper Tree Inn?
Nearby attractions include Commons Beach Park (0.4 km), Tahoe Art Haus & Cinema (0.3 km), and Bluestone Jewelry (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pepper Tree Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Pepper Tree Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a view of a nearby landmark.
Is parking available at Pepper Tree Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pepper Tree Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Christy Hill Restaurant, Rosie's Cafe, and Jake's On The Lake.
Is Pepper Tree Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Tahoe City.
Are there any historical sites close to Pepper Tree Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hellman-Ehrman Mansion (4.2 km).
Does Pepper Tree Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Pepper Tree Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Tahoe City HotelsTahoe City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tahoe CityHotels near Pepper Tree Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars