We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vagabond Inn - Whittier

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn - Whittier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn - Whittier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
San Jose, California
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Very affordable & clean, Dollar Store across the street, Wells Fargo ATM, a Dunkin Donuts, El Pollo Loco. Rooms are clean, showers hot & air conditioner is cold. It's a great location other food etc nearby. s

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bent1906
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Customer..We want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay at the Vagabond Inn We value our guest and we hope that we see you again soon

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Clean and updated rooms, courteous and helpful staff. I've stayed here numerous times, and have never had any negative issues. When I need a place to stay in the area, the Vagabond Inn, will continue to be my choice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardmC2013NT
WhittierVI, General Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Richard...I want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay at our Hotel. We are very Happy to know that you have been our returning guest. I will make sure to let the front desk staff know what a great job they did. We want to thank you again and hope to...

Ponca, Nebraska
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Online the room seemed normal/average. Was supposed to be a non-smoking room but the room smelled awful. It was most likely recently converted from a smoking room. The room was clean but still seemed "dingy" and poorly lit. Reserved for a week, but changed to another hotel after one night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petev205
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear customer...We want to thank you for taking the time our to post your review about your stay here at the vagabond Inn. We want to apologize for the room that you were in smelled like a smoking room. We are very sad that you had to leave and go to another Hotel. I'm sorry that we did not move...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I made reservation online for two queen beds. Night before I was to arrive, I got a phone call that I would get one bed and a roll-away because of 'an emergency." I asked for a reduction in payment in price, and was told I would have to speak to manager. At check in, I asked and the clerk said...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N6925KTstevenh
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Customer....I want to thank you for taking the time our to post your review. I want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of your stay at our Hotel. We will take action to why this happened and make sure that this does not happen again. We hope to see you again and we would give you a special rate...

Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This hotel was dated, for sure. The carpet was in drastic need of repair / re-do and the a/c was also very dated and had trouble keeping up with the heat and the TV did not work (no instructions on how to work it, either) There was constant noise at all hours. It was very difficult to sleep here, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanieg51
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Customer. We thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay at our Hotel. We are sorry that your stay was not satisfied and you had a lot of issues in the room. We value our customers and we will take action to fix these issues right away. Once we sincerely apologize and we...

Honnalulu
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Clean and newly remodled. Centeralized and ok to walk around at dark in the neibor cose by. Im military just dropong in and i will be usint them again only wished there was a way to book for a fool month but california will not allow you..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaymonc461
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Customer. I want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay here at the Vagabond Inn. We value our customers and we appreciate your review. Thank you again hope to see you soon

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

The showers are nice , bathroom as well , and bed was comfortable but smelled a little funky. Front desk was helpful and nice. Morning breakfasts was okay. Rate was okay $135 per night at 4 of July weekend. They do have a pool but i didnt go on it. I would stay again but I would stay on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1lovetrip
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear Customer. I want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay at our Hotel. We apologize for the smell of the room and we will take action to find out why. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon

Eugene OR
Reviewed 7 June 2016

I've stayed at the Whittier Vagabond many times due to its proximity to my sister's house and downtown and it's reasonable rates. Other that that, it has little to recommend itself. The rooms are reasonably clean but the walkways and stairs could use a good power-washing. The room I stayed in my last visit had numerous maintenance issues. The minute...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlesmW4846KN
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear customer..I want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay here at our Hotel. I want to apologize for the issues that you had in your room. We will take action to fix all these issues you had addressed, We are in the process of renovating all our rooms in the next...

Modesto, California
Reviewed 31 May 2016

I needed a pet-friendly place and this was the only one I found in the area. Price was okay and the room was clean. My only complaint was the smoke smell in the room even though I requested non-smoking

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 360cor
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear customer. We want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your stay here at the Vagabond Inn. I apologize for the smell of smoke in the room in the non-smoking room. I will take action to train our housekeeping to report this issue right away. Thank you again and we hope to see...

Whittier, California
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Today Saturday 04-16-16 my wife and I visited this Vagabond Inn on Whittier Blvd we encountered a very unpleasant front desk female that was not to helpful. We requested to see a room and her reply was NO. We explain to her it's our way before we pay for a room we would like to see the condition of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
WhittierVI, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn - Whittier, responded to this review

Dear customer. We want to thank you for taking the time out to post your review about your experience here at the Vagabond Inn. We want to apologize for the unpleasant front desk clerk. We had took action to correct this behavior and to train her in a professional manner, so this will never happen again. Once again we apologize...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
2.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Whittier Los Angeles
1.6 km away
Lambert Inn
Lambert Inn
#5 of 11 in Whittier
24 reviews
9.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Fullerton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
8.8 km away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - La Mirada
0.3 km away
Friendly Hills Inn
Friendly Hills Inn
#1 of 11 in Whittier
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - Whittier

Address: 14125 East Whittier Blvd., Whittier, CA 90605
Region: United States > California > Whittier
Price Range: $101 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - Whittier 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn - Whittier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Hotel Whittier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn - Whittier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms face the busy road....”
 of 5 bubbles LodiDazzles, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“More Coffee in the Rooms! ”
 of 5 bubbles mellmell, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room on the second floor was quiet despite what looked like a full house.”
 of 5 bubbles CalifCar, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the lower rooms. Easy access to your own car. ”
 of 5 bubbles EL_GQ, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the ice machine ran out of ice on sunday I had to buy my own also a motor cycle parked in a car space something should have been done about this”
 of 5 bubbles 806michaelp, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay