We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hibiscus Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hibiscus Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hibiscus Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 140: English reviews
Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Thank you so much Robert and Adrienne for making us feel so welcome during our stay in April 2014. We had a great time visiting all the places near by and even the weather didn't stop us from doing anything. It was great to meet Peanut the Cassowary and having breakfast with the wallabies every morning was great too. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy B
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Robert & Adrienne owners of Hibiscus Lodge reply. Thankyou Steve and Mandy for such a glowing review. We have been thinking about you two a lot since you left us after the terrible weather you had while staying at Hibiscus Lodge. Cyclone Ita was a bit of a fizzer towards the end. It actually ended up in New Zealand. We...

Jona, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed a few days at Hibiscus Lodge last December. We enjoyed the beautiful house and garden very much and had some relaxing days. We liked the evening-talk-round with the hosts Robert and Adrienne and other guests. Robert helped us with our rafting adventure and our continuing traveling. Breakfast was excellent and Wallabies and a cassowary sometimes showed up. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco K
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Owners Robert & Adrienne reply. Thankyou Marco and Myriam for your fantastic review and for remembering us after your 6 month trip around Australia and New Zealand. We were thrilled to hear that you visited the places in New Zealand that we recommended. Its nice to see the real New Zealand rather than all the touristy spots. Pleased you were...

Elmshorn, Germany
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We like to thank the owners for their hospitality during our visit in november 2013. Their lodge is very nicely done up with an excellent arranged garden. It makes us sad that we could only spent a few days at this lovely place. Thanks also for the precious hints to look for the cassoways, we made it - as you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Robert and Adrienne owners reply. Thankyou Frank and Barbara for such a fantastic review. Sometimes our resident Cassowary just don't turn up when you want them to so we were thrilled , after advice from us, that you were able to find some at Etty Bay. Well done. We always try our best to give good local advice and it...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hibiscus Lodge in October 2013. Sorry for the late review! :-) We only stayed there 1 night, as part of our road trip. Robert and Adrienne are wonderful. They welcome you in their house like you are family! The house is very very clean. The bedroom was spotless, wooden floor, comfy bed; we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SummerGlasgow82
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Robert and Adrienne owners reply. Hello to our friends in Glasgow. Thankyou for your kind review. You stayed with us in October so it is great to see you did not forget us. Thankyou so much for the great selection of photos you posted. Garden looks a bit dry but is very green and lush now as we are in...

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed for two nights with our fantastic hosts Robert and Adrienne during our trip up the Queensland coast. We were made to feel very welcome - a true home away from home - and our hosts made every effort to extend their hospitality including afternoon drinks and sitting with us at breakfast. Robert and Adrienne were always there to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danela13
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Owners Robert and Adrienne reply. Thankyou Dan and Vana for your terrific review which is so generous. We both feel so passionate about North Queensland and just love telling guests about our experiences and advising and helping people on things to do. Your unexpected trip up to the Atherton Tablelands sounded great so we were only too pleased to help...

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a wonderful one night stay at Hibiscus Lodge on 20 December. The B&B is situated on a quiet street and is surrounded by a large well kept garden (with a nice pool) and adjacent rainforest. It really is a beautiful, peaceful place. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean and included a tropical fruit breakfast served on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss-Max-Power
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Owners Robert & Adrienne reply. Thank you very much for such a glowing review. What a nice surprise to hear from you both. Do hope you enjoyed your train journey down to Airlie Beach. Peanut the Cassowary was wondering the grounds at Hibiscus Lodge today. Growing very fast now and is almost pure black and his neck is turning quite...

Manchester
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a really nice stay at the hibiscus. After a long days drive we arrived to be invited for a nice evening welcome for all the guests which is a nice touch. The grounds of the property making for a lovely setting. Robert and Adrienne were good hosts and were quick to provide you advice on trips and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dippyjay
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Owners Robert & Adrienne reply. Thankyou for such a great review. Hope it is not too cold back in Manchester. Pleased you enjoyed all the animals at Hibiscus Lodge. We have quite a mini game park here now. Have 11 wallabies roaming the property now. It is so nice sitting on the verandah at night with our guests watching the...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a nice place run by nice people, Robert and Adrienne. The Hibiscus is in a quiet street away from main roads, so the nights are very peaceful, apart from the the bird cries coming from the adjacent rain forest, which plays host to a number of wallabies and their young and a large male cassowary, named Dad. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mutbilly
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Owners Robert and Adrienne reply. To our wonderful guests from Canberra. Thankyou for taking the time to review Hibiscus Lodge and for giving such a comprehensive review of our B&B. So pleased you enjoyed the wild life here at Hibiscus Lodge. Dad the big male Cassowary is still around but we also have two others now. Peanut the chick from...

Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

That was for shure the best B&B i have ever been! Adrienne and Robert are wonderful! And as one of few they also have single accomodations. I would return anytime. Thank you very much for this wonderful stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harrasser
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Owners Robert and Adrienne reply. Thank you Armin for such an excellent review. Yes trying to find single accommodation at a reasonable price is a problem sometimes both in Australia and internationally. Solo travellers find it difficult as most hotels and accommodation houses charge a double rate which is a bit unfair. Pleased you enjoyed your accommodation in our new...

Sydney
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 for a family gathering at Mission Beach. The place is very comfortable, clean, good value and quiet. Our hosts, Adrienne and Robert were great, they provided a very nice breakfast on the veranda watching the Wallabies and Cassowary. They had good advice for shopping, restaurants and so on - we would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RossSydney1
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review

Owners Robert and Adrienne reply. Thank you Ross for taking the time to review Hibiscus Lodge. Pleased you enjoyed your breakfast experience with the Wallabies and Cassowary. A rather unique experience in the world. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good time meeting your Mission Beach friends. Look forward to seeing you again in...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
8.1 km away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
147 reviews
2.9 km away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.1 km away
Licuala Lodge
Licuala Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
89 reviews
0.2 km away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
353 reviews
5.6 km away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hibiscus Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a Colonial Queenslander property set on 2.5 acres of lush tropical gardens and surrounded by rainforest yet is only a 5 minute walk the beautiful beaches .All guest rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and screened windows to keep out the bugs (both a must in the Tropics)and full ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have the latest television eqipment and DVD players along with a small library of DVD's for your entertainment.The lodge has a large swimming pool .Enjoy a delicious Tropical Breakfast each morning (included in price ) whilst watching the many native animals pass by.Cassowary and Wallaby are a must to see at breakfast.Free wifi is available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge

Address: 5 Kurrajong CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Price Range: $116 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hibiscus Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hibiscus Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay a few nights”
 of 5 bubbles 403peteh, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The front room was spacious and looked out on their lawn”
 of 5 bubbles paulajean2014, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ther are only three rooms. All seem good.”
 of 5 bubbles ginyd, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We had the room with the bath which was lovely. Our only complaint was that the hot water could have been a lot hotter.”
 of 5 bubbles cathy145, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“just ask Robert & Adrienne”
 of 5 bubbles Y2042DHchristinef, 27 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay