We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kilima Kiu Manor

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Kilima Kiu Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lunch party for my nephew and his friends in celebration of their recent college graduation. Great service and attention to detail. The staff were professional and the food was surprisingly spot on! Kudos to the proprietors!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nzuki W
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Dear Nzuki, Thank you for your positive review and also for visiting us at the Manor. It was great hosting all of you during your nephew's graduation party and we are glad you all enjoyed your visit. Thank you and we look forward to having you visit us again soon. Kind regards, Kilima Kiu Manor

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend was going through a tough time and needed a quiet place away from everything. When i told her we take a drive down Mombasa Road from Nairobi, she was skeptical. She demanded to know where i was taking her and s vaguely stated machakos. I could see horror in her eyes....after we passed the machakos turn off..her curiosity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for writing to us such a positive review and for visiting us at the Manor. It was great hosting you and your girlfriend during the weekend and we are delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us. Our apologies for the meal disappointment, we have addressed the issue and we will ensure in improving our service....

Nakuru, Kenya
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We visited as two families in Sept 2016 with kids from 2yrs to 15yrs. The price-tag is high so our expectations were high. The house and the interiors are indeed beautiful. the bedrooms are beautiful and the beds terribly comfortable. The in-room tea, coffees, chocolates, soaps etc. are all excellent. The general management & training is not great, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChaniaTSC
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Hi, First and foremost thank you very much for visiting the Manor, we know that as a traveler in Kenya you are spoiled for choice so we don't take it for granted that you chose to spend your weekend with us. And thank you too for your review. Our goal is always to make every one of our visitor's stay...

Nairobi
Reviewed 28 August 2016

A friend recommended this location for a girl's get-away weekend and the prospect of being holed up in the Ukambani mountains did not sound too exciting but were we not pleasantly surprised? What I loved most about Kilima Kiu is that it is a lovely home that has been opened to the public and therefore not pretentious nor commercially designed........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miriam K
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Dear Miriam, We thank you for having stayed with us at the Manor and also for writing to us such a positive review. It was great hosting you and your friends and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Kind regards, Kilima Kiu Manor

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I was very happy to stumble upon this beautiful gem with it being just one and a half hours from Nairobi city made it even more perfect. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful with spacious rooms, very friendly staff and top notch food. I went with my husband and son and we all loved it. I suggest you add activities for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruthzame
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Dear Ruth. Thank you for visiting us at the Manor and writing to us such a wonderful review. It was great hosting you and your family at the Manor. We are delighted that you had a great stay at the Manor in our spacious rooms and enjoyed our tasty meals, the great service from our ever-friendly staff and also got...

Nairobi
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed at the Kilima Kiu Manor this month and had a wonderful experience. The manor is very homely and the staff are friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. We were celebrating my daughter's birthday and i was touched at the efforts they put to ensure that she had a memorable experience. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarabe
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Dear Jarabe, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write us such a wonderful review. We are grateful that you chose to celebrate your daughter's birthday with us. Hosting you and your family was great and we are delighted that we made your stay memorable. Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Kind...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Perfection! Kilima Kiu epitomizes serendipity! Thank you for having us. It's a gorgeous getaway and perfect for couples! Hence why my boyfriend and I have made it out anniversary celebration spot this year! It's a nice drive from Nairobi! Easy to spot wildlife in the road too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kui K
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Dear Kui, Thank you for taking time to write us a positive review and visiting us at the Manor. It was great hosting you and your boyfriend, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Kind regards, Kilima Kiu Manor

K
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We booked the hotels 6 rooms for a weekend getaway and we were not disappointed. This boutique hotel truly understands great service and attention to detail. My children had the opportunity to watch cows being milked, horse riding, harvesting vegetables. The meals were exquisite and the pool is heavenly overlooking the hills and valleys. The rooms are spacious and each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regina G
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Dear Regina, Thank you for writing to us such a wonderful review and visiting us at the Manor. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Manor and loved the great service, tasty meals and the spacious rooms. We are also glad that the children enjoyed the various activities we offer. It was great hosting...

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent place, You get to milk a cow and when leaving they give a basket of vegetables, the attendants are extremely freindly, the swimming pool needs to be heated and the menu needs to be have more variety and introduce nyama choma. Loved it and I will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kagacha
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Hi Kagacha, Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. Hosting you was a pleasure and we don't take it for granted that you chose to stay with us. We will definitely take your suggestions into consideration as we are constantly trying to improve our services. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again soon

Reviewed 12 July 2016

A boutique hotel (IMO better than many 5 star hotels) that has everything you need for a quite getaway. 3 course delicious meals, evening tea and great service from friendly but well trained staff. Activities such as horse riding and hiking at no extra cost was great for my young family. PS. Where do you get a fridge full of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omar Yusuf M
KilimaKiuManor, Manager at Kilima Kiu Manor, responded to this review

Dear Omar, Thank you for writing to us such a wonderful review and visiting us at the Manor. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and loved our tasty meals, great service from our friendly staff and also the various activities that we offer at the Manor. We thank you for having stayed with...

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machakos
0.0 km away
Alba Hotel Meru
Alba Hotel Meru
#1 of 5 in Meru Town
112 reviews
0.0 km away
Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels
28.1 km away
Villa Machakos Guest House & Conferencing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Maanzoni Lodge
Maanzoni Lodge
#2 of 15 in Machakos
89 reviews
0.0 km away
The Kyaka Hotel
The Kyaka Hotel
#6 of 15 in Machakos
8 reviews
27.6 km away
Zeroes Resort
Zeroes Resort
#4 of 15 in Machakos
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the serene Malili area in Kenya, this charming reservations-only boutique hotel is only 80km from the capital Nairobi along Mombasa road. Since its handover to the current owners, Kilima Kiu Manor has undergone significant transformation from a regular ranch house to a fantastic getaway. We have taken time to develop exemplary hospitality standards in the hope that you will find your stay with us both relaxing and memorable. From bubbly champagne breakfasts to delicately customized dinners, we promise nothing but the best for that discerning traveler. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilima Kiu Manor

Address: Konza, off Mombasa Road | 7km From Malili Town, Machakos 90100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Machakos
Price Range: $415 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilima Kiu Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kilima Kiu Manor staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Kilima Kiu Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would suggest a room in the house.”
 of 5 bubbles ChaniaTSC, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are equally big but choose the rooms that have the view of the swimming pool.”
 of 5 bubbles ruthzame, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I loved each and every room.”
 of 5 bubbles ceciliakavenya, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms all with the view and balcony are only 3 are the best; huge windows and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles annekili, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“an intimate place so all rooms should be fine”
 of 5 bubbles Lah717, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay