We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 128: English reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

Cheap, bear bones hostel with no extras. But it offers a warm bed and is relatively clean. Staff are friendly but a little overbearing. Not too many food options that close but well located especially for the NFL. Would stay again if just needing a bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammydee93
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. We strive for clean, safe and economical accommodations and it seems that is what you experienced. I am glad when a guest has a good experience, so thank you for writing about it.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 23 November 2015

My friend and I stayed in a 1 bedroom room for four nights while visiting Denver to see a show at the Red Rocks. Honestly, I'm not sure I would stay here again during the warmer months. (We stayed here in late July.) They have a protective plastic cover on the mattresses which made it impossible to sleep. Your body...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan M
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Yes it can get hot in the summer in Denver Colorado, due to your comment and others we have changed the protective covers on the mattresses so it is not as hot. You are correct that we do not have AC, the building will not fit it, and we also are doing our part to...

Provo, Utah
Reviewed 20 November 2015

I had high hopes for this hotel/hostel (decent website, great location, decent reviews) but was sorely disappointed when I arrived. Once you leave the lobby the place looks pretty shoddy (which was fine, I don't need much) and the noise level (even in private rooms) is pretty high. I had seen one review that had mentioned bed bugs so when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garrett S
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your experience. It seems that the staff completely fell apart in taking care of the guest, a new desk clerk unfamiliar with handling guest concerns only made the situation worse. Thank you for recognizing the maintenance personal because he exemplifies what we strive for in guest services. Again I am sorry for your experience.

Banff, Canada
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

This place looks decent, the room was clean and comfortable. The bunk beds creaked and shook so much you would have thought they would self destruct upon any movement but other than that no hard complaints on the facility. Most people i met here seemed to actually live here and not by choice - so the atmosphere was uncomfortable. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz H
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, The bunk beds do creak a bit but as you found out they are sturdy and do the job well. As far as drinking we do follow the Denver City code for consuming alcoholic beverages in public, and since you were in a bunk bed in a dorm room you are in public. If...

London-Brighton
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Location is perfect, 10 mins walk to 16th street mall, 5 mins walk to the museum quarter to include Denver Art Museum. Stayed for 3 nights, had my private room with double bed, quiet spacious with its own sink, study desk and cable TV. Bathroom and toilet are shared but I never had to queue, they're standard & clean. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luv2ravel
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You are exactly the type of guest we strive for, the one that sees our value and doesn't mind the quirks that make us unique, and keep us a great value in the heart of a very expensive nights lodging in Downtown Denver. Rooms facing the rear of the building...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 30 September 2015

The good: the hotel is over a 100 years old; located just blocks away from the DAM, The Denver library, the Colorado History Museum, among others; the room is cheap, clean and very simple, staff were nice, and within walking distance of good eating places: Dj's Cafe, Burgerfi, and Brennan's Pub. The Bad: There is a nightclub directly across the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Almaz A
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for a balanced review. I am glad that you enjoyed the location and all that we have to offer in the surrounding neighborhood, it can be both culturally vibrant with a million things to do, and it can also be culturally vibrant with things that are not your speed and I understand that. That diversity is what makes...

Memphis
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We loved this place for its location, in walking distance from great food, art, history and views. Airport shuttles or buses are convenient. I will warn though, it isn't for everyone: it is primarily a hostel, and very basic. Heat in the winter but no air conditioning in summer (there are fans in every room though). No maid service during...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary N
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, your review shows that you are exactly the type of value minded customer we strive to attract and please. Because of the value pricing of our Hotel/Hostel we are not like the pricier chain's, and we don't have the frills that one may or may not use, thank you for recognizing that. I hope that your travels are...

Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

This accommodation is more hostel than hotel, so if you are expecting a hostel, you will be fine. The rooms are sparsely furnished but they are clean. My room was a bit noisy that is to the air conditioner outside, but it was a continuous noise so I could sleep. I probably would have given this a more negative review...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth B
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, yes we are more of a Hostel than a Hotel and we provide an economical stay thus the opening of windows to let a fresh breeze in the room. I will let the staff know that you found them helpful, that is what we strive to provide. Thanks again for choosing us for your stay in Denver Colorado.

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

If you want to be treated like garbage, go to this hotel. The night lady screamed and cursed at us while my 5 month old son was sleeping strapped to me. When we told her she was rude and that our baby was sleeping, she got in my face and screamed more, then threatened to call the cops and told...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank babylovefamilytime
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, that is a scathing post. I really do not know how best to respond. I would like to know what the simple misunderstanding was that led to this was. I will investigate as best I can.

Ohio
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We booked a private room (unfortunately only had the shared bath option). We had tours planned all day so didn't want to spend above a 100$/night just to sleep in.. Yes sleep is all we wanted. Out of the 3 nights we didn't get a wink of sleep on any of the nights, because of loud thumping music blasting from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ambience B
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that some of your expectations went unmet, this is not what we strive for. I see that you found us clean, convenient, and a good staff, as far as the nightlife, and the heat I am sorry that those items were less than what you expected. We are working on those items and hope to have...

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (19)
Viewed
European (20)
Viewed
Female Dorm (30)
Viewed
In Suite (20)
Viewed
Shower In Suite (21)
Viewed
Six Bed Dorm (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Ramada Denver Downtown
#99 of 156 in Denver
1,311 reviews
Comfort Inn
#77 of 156 in Denver
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Timbers Hotel
#100 of 156 in Denver
313 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#56 of 156 in Denver
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 11th Avenue Hotel and Hostel caters to travelers from every corner of the world. We strive to provide a clean, safe and economical place to reside while visiting Denver. Our goal is that you will not find a better value for the same money anywhere else. We have male and female dorm rooms to provide a bed for your head and a locker for your valuables at very little cost to you. If you are looking for a more private room, try our European Rooms. These are private rooms with a double bed and a common shared restroom in the hall. If you want a private restroom, our ensuite rooms are for you. These provide a double bed and a private restroom. We have a community room for you to meet fellow travelers going hinder and yon, and being in the heart of Downtown Denver, we are within walking distance of almost everything. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1112 Broadway, Denver, CO 80203
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Capitol Hill
Price Range: $48 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
11th Avenue Hotel Denver
11th Avenue Hotel And Hostel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to be away from street”
barbaraash19, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hostel Dorm is very clean!!”
uglyduckling3456, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Free parking on street after 5 pm”
iseult72petunia, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from the main road!”
Pawlok, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you're on a budget, go for a dorm room”
JemSC123, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5