We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bauers Spruce Island Chalets

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Evergreen
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Bauers Spruce Island Chalets
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 11: English reviews
Start your review of Bauers Spruce Island Chalets
 Click to rate
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Local hosts were very helpful and this was perfect for a small family reunion, with an open green grass area for kids to run, and a kick a soccer ball, and they provided two bbq grills and picnic tables for outdoor group meals. We loved the playground and creek running through to fish in. There were trout waiting in the...

Thank Cindy H
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind comments. We so enjoyed hosting your wonderful family. It was a pleasure to see everyone enjoying all that Bauer's has to offer. We're glad the fish were biting and appreciate the picture of the fisherman with his catch posted to Facebook. We look forward to welcoming you back to Evergreen and Bauer's Spruce Island...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived at Bauers on Tuesday night to stay for one night. We had been travelling since June 26 and this was, by far, the worst place we stayed. The freezer in the mini fridge was so iced over we couldn't use it and the fridge wouldn't even close so none if our stuff stayed cold! The light bulb in...

Thank Emily W
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the room not being up to par. Had you let us know the evening you arrived rather the morning you were leaving we would have taken care of the issues or provided alternative accommodations. Sue Retterer

Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My daughter, grandsons and I took a day trip and ended up in Evergreen. We found ourselves in a park where the boys had a great time and didn't want to leave and return home. Since we had nothing we needed to be back home for right away we decided to find a place to stay for the night. I...

1Thank Rita F
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and especially for providing potential guests a realistic overview of Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed or two night at the Ponderosa. We were so wxcited after seekng rhe pics and reviews on the webste. The cabin was relatively clean but not at all as nice as the pics on website. The whole place seemed to not have been maintained in awhile and was in a bit of disrepair. The mattresses on the beds...

3Thank Mom3ky
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel that your family of five plus your dog were not well accommodated in our three bedroom Ponderosa Chalet, which is one of the favorites of our guests. We particularly cater to families and therefore are able to offer accommodations to your size family unlike most other lodging facilities in the Evergreen area, especially those mentioned...

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were in Evergreen recently for a wedding. We stayed at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, and could not have been more pleased with our experience! The staff was very accomodating, the chalet was everything and more that we could have wished for, and the beauty of the grounds and wildlife was truly amazing. We had a beautiful baby deer 4...

Thank Jeanie K
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review

We appreciate your sharing your experience with potential guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed not only your stay at Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets but the entire Evergreen experience. We love to share our Little Bit of Heaven. Sue Retterer, Innkeeper

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here with two other couples, so there were six adults total. The common spaces were great, and the kitchen was well equipped to handle cooking meals for the weekend. We spent time playing volleyball and washers in the large grassy area common to all the chalets. We cooked steaks on the charcoal grill one evening. Lots of deer...

Thank Ftccotraveler
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review

We appreciate your providing a review of Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets to give potential guests a feel for what to expect. Seeing groups such as yours enjoying all our facility has to offer is one of the rewards of continuing to provide lodging opportunities in Evergreen. Your comments have been recognized. I hadn't thought about it but it does seem...

Jefferson City, Missouri
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The laundry facility for all cabins (used by owner only) was attached to our cabin. Our one bathroom shared the wall with the laundry room - at 8:00 a.m. a family member took a shower and noticed a decrease of water pressure. The owner began washing laundry and couldn't help but hear our shower running on the other side of...

Thank Michele H
Cortez, Colorado
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have a reunion every two years. Our family was overwhelmed by the amount of wildlife that just walked through the property. We had plenty of room to spread out, and were very pleased with the accomodations, from cabins to studios, we had rented everything. This reunion was a year in the planning stage and no matter what the questions...

Thank Georgena R
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We were early for our check-in but they were just finishing cleaning our cabin. The manager had said that it would be about 10 minutes. He told us about a couple of places to grab a bite. Upon entering the room everything was very clean. After reading a previous review I wasn't expecting it to be that clean. My family...

3Thank George M
Reviewed 23 September 2011

At first glance, everything looked clean... However, the side of the wash basin hadn't been cleaned, neither had the exterior of the refrigerator. The dirty ice cube trays and the condition of the sink meant that I wasn't going to eat from their dishes or use their tableware. I was compelled to go out to the car to get my...

1Thank KSH1370
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review

I am sorry one of our guests found the accommodations less than expected. Unfortunately she chose to write a review on Trip Advisor rather than let us know. We would have happily found alternative accommations had she let us know of her concerns. She left without even talking with us. We were available on site during her entire stay. All...

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (17)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
View from Room (1)
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evergreen
10.1 km away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
19.0 km away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
973 reviews
17.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Littleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Highland Haven Creekside Inn
1.4 km away
Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge
5.7 km away
The Cabins at Country Road
The Cabins at Country Road
#2 of 9 in Evergreen
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small family owned resort offering accommodations for 2 to 10 people in our studio, one-bedroom, three-bedroom, and four-bedroom chalets and cottages. Fully furnished and equipped kitchens offer vacation rentals for groups of up to 40 in the Evergreen, Colorado area of the Rocky Mountains, 25 miles west of Denver.Our playground for the kids, large lawn for volleyball, badminton, etc., the picnic tables and grills, elk and deer visitors, and the pond and creek for fishing provide a fun vacation without leaving the property. But you'll also want to explore the wonderful Rocky Mountains surrounding Evergreen.Evergreen provides cultural activities such as art shows and musical presentations throughout the year. And we're only a short drive to Red Rocks Amphitheater and Bandimere Speedway as well as world class skiing, snowshoeing and rafting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bauers Spruce Island Chalets

Address: 5937 S Brook Forest Rd, Evergreen, CO 80439-7134
Region: United States > Colorado > Evergreen
Price Range: $162 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bauers Spruce Island Chalets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want the Ritz or the Weston.... this is not the place for you. This a place for people who are adventurous, like peace and quiet, are rustic, and love the feeling of being in a warm house in the woods, enjoying life and nature.”
704ritaf, 18 Aug 2013 | Read review
“We stayed in the Aspen chalet and it fit our needs. One king size bed, a daybed, and a trundle bed for two teenagers. A kitchen with everything you could possibly need for cooking, but who would cook, its so close to the best restaurants EVER in downtown Evergreen!”
jeaniek2013, 31 Jul 2013 | Read review
“I would suggest finding a good room elsewhere.”
KSH1370, 23 Sep 2011 | Read review
3 of 3