We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Matterhorn Mountain Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Matterhorn Mountain Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Salida, Colorado
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Matterhorn had good reviews so I phoned to reserve and was surprised it was $99 for one for a room with no fridge or micro - most expensive room my whole six-day trip. When I checked her confirmation email, it was quoted at $109. I immediately phoned: "Oh, sorry, we don't usually have singles, so...." When I got there, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laird-O-Salida
matterhornmountain, Owner at Matterhorn Mountain Motel, responded to this review

While we are very sorry this guest could not find one thing he liked about our historic, retro property, I am unable to apologize profusely as most all of our guests leave refreshed, rejuvenated and smiling. We see many guests enjoying the lovely view from the outdoor furniture every evening. Yes, the shower stalls are small as the space we...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I've stayed here every summer for years and as usual it was quiet, clean and convenient. My only complaint is that for some reason this year the staff fogged the room with stinky "air freshener" just before we checked in. Besides smelling bad it triggered an asthma attack. The irony here is that people come to Lake City for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RBC78731
matterhornmountain, Manager at Matterhorn Mountain Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again. We apologize for your discomfort upon checking in but we had to use deodorizer in your room prior to your arrival as the guests that checked out had some stinky feet after hiking the Colorado Trail. We were unaware that this commercial deodorizer recommended for hotels could cause an asthma attack as there...

Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here while mountain biking the Colorado. We pedaled in from Slugmullion Pass and were welcomed with a complimentary glass of wine. WOW! Nice touch. There were complimentary sodas and water also. Our room was perfectly clean and comfortable. The owner and manager were very helpful for about town recommendations. We were not allowed to keep our bikes in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jana S
matterhornmountain, Owner at Matterhorn Mountain Motel, responded to this review

We offer complimentary wine, water or soda upon check-in because we know it is a long drive to Lake City, or in your case, an even longer bike ride on the Colorado Trail. We have lots of visitors coming off the trail and want to insure their stay with us is a pleasant one after all that hard work to...

Calhan, Colorado
Reviewed 26 July 2014

When staying in Lake City this motel is a great choice. Quiet, clean, well appointed with parking right out front. This is a clean, charming location right near the middle of historic Lake City Colorado. A good value, with warm attentive service and with a great view. Within walking distance for eating or drinking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raylutz40
Illinois
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Quiet, spotless motel. All guests speaking in low voices. No kids around, no rowdy groups. Complimentary chardonnay at check-in put us in a right mood. It is an amazing place. Regina and Mark were wonderful.Thank you, Terry, for making our San Juans experience so memorable, and for creating a place where one can unwind after full days spent in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leave_no_trace
matterhornmountain, Owner at Matterhorn Mountain Motel, responded to this review

Thank you again for choosing the Matterhorn while in Lake City. All of us also enjoy the peaceful location on the mountainside in the middle of town where we can walk to almost everything. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again in the future!

Kentwood, Louisiana
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This was my second time staying at the Matterhorn. I had my son with me and we had a blast. We were hiking and jeep riding for a few days and this is a perfect base for exploring the area. The alpine loop is three blocks away. Town is easily walkable. Rooms are basic but clean and well cared for....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TangiTraveler
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Terry was very quick to respond to my inquiry and helpful setting up my reservation. Fairly last minute on my part but she was able to accommodate my requests. Nice clean room on the end. Very quiet despite the normal Lake City summer bustle. We arrived late to find our room waiting for us. We'll definitely stay here again when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 14erDave
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were riding the Colorado Trail and staying at motels each night. Lake City was right on the route. We had made reservations ahead of time not knowing anything about the place. It turned out to be a great place to stay. The room was comfortable and the staff was AWESOME. Wine at check in. We even had shampoo AND...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micki H
matterhornmountain, Owner at Matterhorn Mountain Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I also think we have an awesome staff at the Matterhorn who often go out of their way to make our guests feel welcome. After hiking the trail, we do know you enjoy those little extra amenities and we are happy to provide them. See you on the trail and thank you again! Terry

United States
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited Lake City to do some prospecting. Apparently the owner of this motel hangs out in the visitor center of this tiny town to fill up her rooms, (without disclosing) haha, well, she hooked us, cause we rented the last room. The rooms are clean, have coffee a stall shower, flat screen tv, free wifi and boxed wine is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna3387
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came into Lake City via a dirt road mountain pass from Rt 114 knowing nothing about Lake City and were tired and hungry. What a nice town! There was a marathon of some sort going on so we were concerned about lodging but our first choice the Matterhorn had a room due to cancellation. Very clean and comfortable room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JZRIV

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake City
31.1 km away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
140 reviews
31.1 km away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
92 reviews
31.3 km away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.0 km away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
302 reviews
31.1 km away
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ouray Chalet Inn
#4 of 15 in Ouray
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Matterhorn Mountain Motel & Cabins is located in the heart of Lake City's historic district, walking distance to restaurants, coffee shops, retail shops, arts center, parks, Henson Creek and Lake Fork of the Gunnison River. Wilderness begins behind motel, frequent wildlife sightings. Updated, clean & comfortable rooms. Queen or king beds, kitchenettes. Non-smoking property. Pet-friendly (accept dogs under 35 lbs in pet-friendly room only). Amenities include hot tub, wifi, flat screen TV, coffee service, hair dryers. Reservations recommended. Accommodating Lake City visitors since 1949. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matterhorn Mountain Motel

Address: 409 Bluff Street, Lake City, CO 81235
Region: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Price Range: $103 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Mountain Hotel Lake City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Matterhorn Mountain Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have kitchenettes, which we had last time. Some rooms are pet-friendly which was good for us.”
 of 5 bubbles lokiniko, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear equal except for configuration such as number of beds and kitchenettes or not.”
 of 5 bubbles MarthaC375, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“all units are very nice!”
 of 5 bubbles julius_s57, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Not all the rooms have a kitchenette. If you need one be sure to ask for it.”
 of 5 bubbles RBC78731, 24 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a kitchenette - it comes with 4 burner stove and oven, microwave, toaster, coffee machine, refrigerator, pots, pans, glasses etc. etc. Keep in mind that a dinner in one of the local resaturants will run you at least $20 per person and do math.”
 of 5 bubbles leave_no_trace, 25 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5