We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monarch Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monarch Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Monarch Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I recently stayed here for one night so I could ski Monarch mountain. The staff were all very friendly! I ate dinner at the restaurant on site. Chili and corn bread both very good. The room was spacious and extremely clean. I was supposed to stay two nights but had some "kid drama" I had to go home to take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barb B
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Barb, Thank you for your kind review, and I'm glad we were able to exceed your expectations! We hope to see you again soon at the Lodge!

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 12 February 2016

There's not one thing I can say bad about this lodge! The entire staff was so friendly and helpful, I truly couldn't have asked for a better stay with my three kids and wife. We will be making this our family vacation for many years to come, can't wait for the next trip there!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanine704
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review!! I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon at The Lodge!!

colorado springs
Reviewed 11 February 2016

This lodge is the place to stay if you want ready to go skiing. It has a shuttle to take you to the Monarch Ski This resort is a very friendly place to stay and the rooms are clean. The staff and management really aim to a please, but it is an older property with some of the disadvantages that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tripsister
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon at The Lodge!

Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

This place is a classic old ski lodge. Not fancy or posh, but friendly and fascinating. It recently reopened and the new owners are obviously not able to do all improvements at once, but that's OK because they seem motivated to keep lots of the old world charm of a ski lodge. It was clean and convenient. The pool was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grantave
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We're continuing to remodel, and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Lodge!

Highland Village, Texas
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We were pulling a travel trailer and broke down right in front of Monarch Mountain Lodge. They allowed us to pull into their parking lot and stay in our camper over night while our car was being repaired in Salida. Every employee we talked with was extremely nice! We loved the amazing grounds with waterfalls right in back. They allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camille S
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I'm glad we were able to make a challenging situation a bit easier for you. Thanks for your kind words, and we definitely hope to see you this summer at the Lodge!!

Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend and after reading other reviews, was a little hesitant. Our stay however, was worth every penny. The rooms were nice and just as nice as staying at a Hampton Inn. The only complaint I would have is that the beds kind of sank in towards the middle. Other than that, great!! The bathrooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jessoat
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon here at the Lodge!!

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 18 January 2016

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed the restaurant, only open for breakfast and dinner though. Although we didn't use the pool or hot tub, we checked them out and they seemed very nice and clean, wish we would have taken out bathing suits with us. The only complaint was the terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anna C
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! With the hotel being in a remote area, wi-fi does present a challenge. We hope to see you again soon here at the Lodge!

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 5 January 2016

My family stayed over New Year's weekend: two adults, two tweens, and a 50 lb. dog for two nights. We had a clean room with new, comfortable mattresses. Some of the finer details are older (such as bathroom tile) but we fully understand it's been an amazing work in progress. Our view was out over the parking lot, but it's...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patricia F
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review!! We look forward to seeing you again later this month!!

Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

My family and I went up before Christmas, they were slow. My wife and kids had a lovely meal. The burger was fantastic and the servers were amazing. Milia and Emily had such great energy. In the middle of our family dinner a lady in a white jacket turned on rap music. I don't know if she worked there or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments! I do apologize for the loud music. Next time you're planning on a stay here at the Lodge, contact me before-hand for a special offer.

Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 4 January 2016

My family stayed at this lodge for 3 nights. The staff was so wonderful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and the view was spectacular! The food was excellent. Lift tickets on site with a 3 minute drive to the mountain. Can't beat this place for location. Pet friendly. Pool and Hot Tubs were great after a long day of skiing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank josette h
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review & I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon here at the Lodge!

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monarch
24.8 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
26.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
26.0 km away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
67 reviews
23.1 km away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
24.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monarch Mountain Lodge is in the heart of the Rockies and surrounded by the San Isabel National Forest. Re-opened in Feb. 2015 Under new ownership, the guest rooms have been repainted, re-carpeted, and refurnished for a more modern feel. We've also put brand new tile in our lobby and restaurant, and fresh carpet in common areas. We are just 4 miles from the Monarch Mountain Ski Area, and given our unique location, the possibilities in terms of outdoor activities are virtually endless. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monarch Mountain Lodge

Address: 22720 W US Highway 50, Monarch, CO 81201-9406
Region: United States > Colorado > Monarch
Price Range: $131 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monarch Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monarch Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Mountain Hotel Monarch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monarch Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Monarch Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring your own food!”
 of 5 bubbles jldono2, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views, close to Monarch Mountain”
 of 5 bubbles afuchsFox, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony totally worth it (view to the mountain)”
 of 5 bubbles 154vin_ciusg, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor are the pet suites and very convenient to the pool, hot tubs and arcade.”
 of 5 bubbles Angiedaweeze, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't expect much amenities ask for top floors on the backside of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jenp1104, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5