We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Classic Inn

Save
Share
7545 W US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-9343
Lowest prices for your stay
US$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-28
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-28
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$130
Hotels.comUS$130
eDreamsUS$130
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (2)

About

#15 of 15 hotels in Salida
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal budget friendly motel in Salida does not have to be difficult. Welcome to American Classic Inn, a nice option for travellers like you.

Spiral Drive (3.2 km), located nearby, makes American Classic Inn a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Salida landmark.

As your “home away from home,” the motel rooms offer a refrigerator and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to 24 hour front desk and express check-in and check-out while staying at American Classic Inn. In addition, American Classic Inn offers a hot tub and barbeque facilities, which will help make your Salida trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Salida's popular ribs restaurants such as The Bounty, The Fritz, and Wallbangers, all a short distance from American Classic Inn.

Should time allow, Salida Hot Springs is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

American Classic Inn looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Salida.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Game room
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Hiking
Skiing
Billiards
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
51Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 11
  • 5
  • 9
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Guillaume wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We just stayed in room #2 at the American Classic Inn (3 beds including 2 bunks) for one night, and were not happy at all with our stay. Some members of the staff are rude, they treat guests poorly, and their overall quality and hosting standards are lacking. There are many hotel/motel options in Salida, and we really regretted picking this one. Shortly after getting access to the room, we realized that one of the beds (top bunk) wasn’t done — they had put folded sheets on top of the bed for us to put on ourselves. Not cool for a $150 room. Some of the bedsheets were also overused and had holes in them — again, not cool. Checkout is at 10am in the morning (versus 11am in most places). They don’t provide any breakfast options (unlike almost everyone else at this price point). After checking out at 10am, we went to grab some pancakes nearby. There was a long wait to be seated, so we took them to go and came back at the American Classic Inn at 10:30am to eat them on the outside tables in the back of the parking lot before getting on the road. Even though there was nobody around, they would not let us eat our breakfast there because it was past 10am. Not only that, but they acted really rude about it. After we politely asked if we could take 15 minutes to finish our breakfast, they escalated the situation right away and told us that we could either book another night or that we were trespassing and that they would call the cops on us if we didn’t leave immediately. Super rude and completely unnecessary. We’ve stayed at dozens of hotels/motels in the region, and have never been treated so poorly. Pretty sad experience all around, definitely won’t be back. Our advice would be to do yourself a favor and stay away from this place. You will likely have a better experience anywhere else. FYI: I posted this review on Google earlier this evening, and the hotel, while acknowledging our stay, responded with flat-out lies to justify their appalling and horrible behavior. They made a pathetic attempt to portray us as bad guests in a completely dishonest way, which speaks volumes about who they are. Buyer beware.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from American Classic, Innkeeper at American Classic Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Guillaume, We are aware that you only chose our facility due to the fact that many other locations were either sold out or too expensive for your last minute travel plans. We were happy to provide you with one of our last rooms. However, had we known that you would treat our property and staff with disrespect throughout your stay, we would have saved the room for someone more appreciative, as we could have easily sold it. You forgot to mention a few things in your review: You were 20 minutes late checking out - something that our staff kindly overlooked. You left multiple towels in an uncleanable condition and they had to be thrown out. You lied about the overall occupancy of the room - probably cost related. Then, almost 2 hours after check-out, you pulled back onto the property and unpacked yourselves into our common area to eat breakfast (never asking if it was okay). Our common areas are for registered guests only - and paying for a one night stay does not allow you to stop by and use it as you see fit. You left behind trash in that area and and were overall disrespectful and entitled. Keep in mind that booking engines like Airbnb allow hosts to review their guests and one-sided forums like Google are known to only portray one individual's opinion. At least our response proves that our staff only tried to enforce motel policies that for some reason you didn't think applied to your motorcycle group. Next time you visit Salida, we hope you are more respectful of the property that hosts you - and please be advised that you have been flagged as a bad guest at our three locally operated facilities.
Read more
Arlenss wrote a review Apr. 2021
9 contributions
We really enjoyed our visit to Salida and this motel was great. It's not fancy but an older motel that has been recently updated. Our room had cute furnishings, the bed was great, we slept well. The room was not spacious but we could move around easily. The place was quiet during the night. The check in person was very pleasant. Parking was right at your door. We will definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from American Classic, Innkeeper at American Classic Inn
Responded Apr. 16, 2021
Thank you for your considerate review and perfect rating! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our uniquely stylish mid-century motor lodge! We have recently renovated so that all of our rooms include retro touches and our staff works hard to ensure that your stay is comfortable and memorable! It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we appreciate your courteous visit! We look forward to seeing you again next time you come through Salida!
Read more
Mountain Phil wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
Quaint, clean and modern. Checking in at american classic was the best decision we made! Very courteous staff and efficient check in and booking. Great location for a walk into town and perfect for your stay in salida. Cheers friends
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from American Classic, Innkeeper at American Classic Inn
Responded Mar. 8, 2021
Thank you for your considerate review and 5 star rating! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our uniquely stylish room! Cleanliness is one of our main priorities and our staff is always looking for ways to make your visit enjoyable and memorable! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we appreciate your courteous stay + recommendation! We hope to see you again next time you visit Salida!
Read more
Valerie S wrote a review Feb. 2021
Richardson37 contributions23 helpful votes
CLEAN!!! Flexible furniture. The bath/dressing area is creatively and efficiently laid out. I love the deaconsbench with hooks for my luggage, the little plant, the lightweight chairs, the BAT PHONE, the color scheme. None of it is EXPENSIVE, just well-chosen. Another reviewer mentioned the light in the window, maybe the sound of the heater, there might have been more interesting snacks BUT DON’T CHANGE ANYTHING if it makes the price go up. I wish there were one in Golden, Leadville and BuenaVista, too. I will be back, with friends.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from American Classic, Innkeeper at American Classic Inn
Responded Feb. 17, 2021
Thank you for your thoughtful review and 5 star rating! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our uniquely stylish room and retro touches! Cleanliness is one of our main priorities and our staff is always looking for ways to make your visit enjoyable and memorable! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we appreciate your courteous stay + recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Salida!
Read more
Skibunny12345 wrote a review Oct. 2020
COLORADO SPRINGS3 contributions
Stay away. These people are troubled. We left our kids in one of the Two rooms we rented with a 14 year old in charge for an hour while we watched TV next door. And the crazy owners called the police on us and told us we had to leave because we had unregistered guests in the room and our dog went into the unauthorized hypoallergenic room. I told the lady twice upon Check-in that three boys would be in the room. The lady offered a refund and then the man said no refund because we broke the rules ( of both rooms? Or just the one?). We will be disputing the charge. It was 8:00 at night when they kicked a peaceful family of 5 out on the street. What a joke and pathetic customer service. The police were very nice and said this was how these people operated these days. I have stayed in Salida for 40 years and this was the poorest experience I’ve ever had. And now my kids are totally freaked out. Thanks a lot.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from American Classic, Innkeeper at American Classic Inn
Responded Oct. 14, 2020
Guest's who follow motel policies and are respectful of our property do not have any issues being accommodated here. It is only those individuals who agree to our house-rules at the time of check-in, yet unapologetically disregard them once they have access to their rooms. After realizing that a single King room wasn't large enough to accommodate your family of five, you came to our front desk and admitted that you needed another room because you had too many people. Later on, after being explicitly told that your second room was not a designated pet room, you attempted to put your pet inside the larger room type with your children. We have you on surveillance walking the pet into the room. As for the matter of leaving children unattended, you admitted to staff that it was your intention to leave the kids alone in the room overnight while you stayed with your husband on the other side of the property. This is a matter of security. When your young children wake up in the middle of the night scared, confused, and unaware of their surroundings and they open the front door, they are now OUTSIDE and may not be able to locate you. By bringing a pet into a room that is not pet-friendly you brought to our attention a handful of other issues. It is not our job to argue with guests. It is our job to uphold motel polices. We agree to accommodate you based on the mutual understanding that you will respect our house-rules. We gave you a courtesy warning about the pet and yet you still felt that you were in the right to tell us how to operate. Your bad attitude was what resulted in Salida PD overseeing your removal from the property.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ranch House Lodge
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoChaffee CountySalida
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about American Classic Inn
Which popular attractions are close to American Classic Inn?
Nearby attractions include Riverside Park (2.5 km), Monarch Mountain (2.5 km), and The Bungled Jungle (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at American Classic Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at American Classic Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at American Classic Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at American Classic Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to American Classic Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little Red Hen Bakery, Sweetie's Sandwich Shop, and Moonlight Pizza & Brewpub.