We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Richardson, Texas
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The room was great. Make sure you ask for a private bath, though. Breakfast was a little lacking. Probably the best place in Silveron to stay. On a relative basis it is a great pick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
innoftherockies, Manager at The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House, responded to this review

Here at the Inn, we offer a fruit smoothie, fresh fruit, yogurt and granola, a fresh baked good and a full served breakfast every morning. While we cannot please every palate, we do try to offer something for everyone.

Boulder, CO
Reviewed 14 August 2011

William & Amy were amazing hosts, accommodating our last minute additional guest. The Alma House is spectacular -- by far the best place to stay in Silverton.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmanthy
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My husband chanced on this B&B 2years ago and came back again last week. Both of the Victorian-furnished rooms we have stayed in were comfortable, beautiful and affordable. The home-cooked breakfast was tasty and heathy. We'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dd419
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 3 August 2011

A last minute excursion to Silverton turned out to be the best vacation we've had all year. Upon arrival we were greeted with freshly baked cookies; the Owner, Amy, was very cordial and suggested various places in town that we could eat (check out the Pickle Barrel; it's tasty). The Inn itself is wonderful; the room was immaculate and clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MadOne_NM
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The innkeepers, William and Amy, bent over backwards to make our trip enjoyable. They recommended restaurants in town, answered all our questions about Silverton, and helped us out when we had some car trouble. The food is excellent, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and we simply could not have asked for more. We will definitely be back when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wpallas
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at Alma House while vacationing with my family. Kids and grandkids rv'd their way up to Silverton, we met up in Durango. I stayed at Alma House, while they "dug in" down the street in their motor home (is there any other way for Grandma to travel?) Staying at Alma House is like being a guest in someone's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bette31310
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I chose the Inn of the Rockies after reading the great reviews. The lodging was fine - comfortable room with antiques and decorated in the turn of the century style. However, I had a very negative experience with one of the owners whose manner was accusatory and rude. I would have stayed someplace else but due to the one week...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denali_Adventures
innoftherockies, Manager at The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House, responded to this review

This guest arrived at the Inn with a pet which she had not mentioned when making her reservation. She asked if the pet could come in the building. She was informed of a written pet policy and pet fee which she declined. The owner of the Inn has a much more strict pet policy than do we (the current managers)...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Amy and William are great hosts. Rooms are comfortable, quaint, super clean at a reasonable price. The breakfast was a real breakfast and wonderful. The location is easy walking distance to "downtown" Silverton. We will become regulars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomtworoger
Albuquerque
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We visited Silverton last weekend and enjoyed our stay at the Alma House, which we'd chosen based on reviews here and the pictures (and menus) on their website. Apparently the Inn has been under new management since earlier this year, and William and Amy are doing a wonderful job. We had room 9, a suite which takes up most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Escargo1
Provo, Utah
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Amy and William made us feel right at home. We enjoyed visiting with them and learning more about Silverton, its history, what's going on now, and its challenges. They shared available space with us and and we felt like family. Breakfast was superb. We certainly will return, hopefully next summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrantSkabelund

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
0.3 km away
Teller House
Teller House
#3 of 7 in Silverton
80 reviews
23.4 km away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
23.4 km away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
21.3 km away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
859 reviews
0.0 km away
Blair Street Hostel
Blair Street Hostel
#6 of 8 in Silverton
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recommended by the New York Times, the Guardian newspaper of London, and others. Silverton's Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House is the absolute best value in luxury accommodations you will find anywhere in the Colorado Rockies. We offer feather beds, wi-fi, a large outdoor hot tub, a full served breakfast, personal attention and gracious hospitality, all within the historic home Bridget Hughes' built 115 years ago. While you may book online at various sites, we would prefer to hear from you personally as well to insure a relaxed and peaceful visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House

Address: 220 E 10th Street, PO Box 359, Silverton, CO 81433
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverton
Price Range: $160 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 was huge!”
 of 5 bubbles jessir420, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Each room is unique. 6 & 8 have a shared bathroom in the hallway. A couple rooms may have ghosts.”
 of 5 bubbles jrG963KN, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are unique, so i would go online and check out their very informative website.”
 of 5 bubbles GarryC319, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Toilets weak, no laundromat. There's a grocery store & a gas station mart. Get ice for your cooler/sink.”
  • Hotel sign.
  • Updated room 1
  • Alma house front, first two windows are room 1
 of 5 bubbles azgypsyg, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground level (3 steps) has lots of space.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelerJimTucson_AZ, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5