We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Palacio de la Pena Cantabria

Save
Share
Calle Pena 26, 39170 Ajo Spain
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19 and is temporarily closed until 2022-04-30.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$213
View deal
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (24)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21-04-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria
Updated 21-04-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel de carácter privado. 8.000 metros cuadrados de Jardines. Finca Amurallada. Salones individuales para que nuestros clientes disfruten de un ambiento muy íntimo a lo largo de toda su estancia. Sin duda, un lugar creado para disfrutar. Al adentrarte en el hotel tendrás la sensación de que te arropa y te encontraras con lugares únicos y especiales. Disfruta de la esencia del Cantábrico en un edificio histórico pensado para los cinco sentidos. EL LUJO DE HOSPEDARSE EN UN PALACIO
Read more
Room & Suite (24)24
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Children's television networks
Car hire
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
61Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
London7798 wrote a review Nov. 2020
London8 contributions36 helpful votes
After driving 11 hours from Marbella, we were hoping for 2 days of relaxed 5 star accommodation, service and food. Other than no basic facilities the WiFi did not work. We were not able to log on for work. Despite confirming requirement to leave early as WiFi in rooms NOT WORKING, we were instructed to pay the full two nightly rate of €460. For the state of this place, this rate is insulting. I was prepared to pay for first night and requested a refund for second night. The owner refused to refund second night despite hotel being completely empty. We were the only people staying (which is no surprise) Accommodated in bedroom (upgraded shed) outside main hotel. THIS IS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL IN ANY WAY. The owner I’m sure, will reply to this review with utter rubbish, possibly to continue pretending he is communicating from the ‘reservations department’ Main issues: No room key supplied. Not able to lock doors Beds hard and small. Pillows and bedding smell of damp. No telephone for internal / external calls No bath No TV in room No drinks or tea / coffee / hot water facilities No mini bar or snacks Room smells of mothballs and death No in room dining No leisure facilities No concierge / bell hop Dishevelled manager / owner greeted and showed us room. Apparently the drawers are a feature of the room No welcome, no key left. Left to sleep in an outdoor barn. No WiFi despite insistence of owner. Impossible to connect for work. No 24 hours staff. Hotel locked and instructed to eat breakfast at 09:45 only. Horror movie decor throughout. This is a Bed and Breakfast with a restaurant attached. I paid €460 for an 8 hour stay!!!!! This place is a shocking nightmare. Hotel in a dilapidated state and looking likely to foreclose shortly. AVOID AT ALL COST and stay at a decent, proper hotel in Santander, for far less money and great service
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Chary wrote a review Sep. 2019
2 contributions
beautifully restored palacete in a bucolic setting. we had a unforgettable stay Ale was just wonderful .. she attended to all our needs w personal attention and so much love . she could nt do enough for us and attend to our requests
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandra P, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria
Responded Sep. 24, 2019
Thank you so much!
Read more
Clanmc wrote a review Aug. 2019
London, United Kingdom79 contributions49 helpful votes
I was sucked into booking this hotel as a result of good photographs and positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Some people are going to love it but only if you know what you are getting into and it's your thing. Start with 5 star aspect - that's the rating and was certainly the price. I found a definition somewhere which included the following which were not in evidence. Multilinual staff - look we are in Spain and should be able to communicate in Spanish but staff struggled. Reception open 24 hours - nope. Doorman-service or valet parking - nope. Concierge, page boy - not obvious. Spacious reception hall with beverage service and 24 hours food and beverage service - definitely not. Seemed shocked when we ordered early evening drinks and a snack and had limited ability to respond. Personalized greeting for each guest with fresh flowers or a present in the room - nope. Other guests have found owners friendly. We did not find anyone friendly. Turndown service in the evening - Didn't get. The situation is super attractive and the house itself pretty. Obviously it is a matter of personal taste but we thought the quality of beds not great and the restoration to be eclectic with a lot of clutter and items which seemed to be of very different periods and quality pushed together. The breakfast was also of only medium quality and every item is served rather than being partial or full buffet, which makes it slow and overformal. So, if you speak fluent Spanish and want to stay in a pretty but odd environment which has obviously been carefully restored by a passionate individual this may be for you. However, if you expect luxury and service of a 4 or 5 star standard for your 5 star price then you will be disappointed as we were. This is the real problem - we prefer boutique and unusual rather than chain but at this price they need to be delivering more.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandra P, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria
Responded Sep. 3, 2019
Estamos sorprendidos del comentario,se han equivocado de hotel... por que aquí, no han estado. De todas formas éste perfil de clientes que escriben así, son indignos de éste hotel. Les invitaríamos a visitar nuestro hotel pero pensándolo bien las personas que escriben con ésta inquina no se le recomienda a ningún hotel. We are surprised reading this comment,They've been wrong about the hotel ... because here, they haven't been. Anyway, this profile of customers who write like this, are unworthy of this hotel. We would invite you to visit our hotel but thinking it better l the people who write with this bad intention are not recommended to any hotel.
Read more
Kathleen C wrote a review Jul. 2018
Onset, Massachusetts1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel el Palacio de la Peña is a fabulous 400 year old restored noble farmhouse located in Ajo overlooking fields of cows and horses and the beautiful Cantabria Sea. You will rest and rejuvenate here in this magnificent estate with the loving attention of Alexandra who runs the hotel and who is the artist in the kitchen creating delicious meals worthy of Michelin stars. She is helped by the sophisticated Alfonso when on school break and he,too, is responsible to catering to your every need. If you are lucky to speak to José Manuel, the creator and architect of this property, you will understand why you feel so loved and content here. He bought this property in complete ruins and lovingly restored each stone and rebuilt this noble estate to what it is today. He drove throughout Spain and France to find the authentic stones and wood needed to restore this 400 year old farmhouse so that it would be accurate and authentic. He has spared no cost. Today it is as well a museum of antiquities yet with all the modern amenities. Furthermore, This property was at one time a stopping point for the pilgrims going to Santiago de Compostela who would bed down in the stables. In fact, there is a concha or scallop shell in the coat of arms on the corner tower. The grounds of this fabulous estate behind the stone walls are magnificent with little tables and benches beckoning you to sit, meditate, read or have a copa de vino. Come and let Alexandra, José Manuel, and Alfonso restore your soul and be surrounded by loving energy and peace. My husband and I can not thank Alexandra, José Manuel, and Alfonso for our perfect 3 days in their beautiful property. Sincerely, Kathy and Dom
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandra P, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria
Responded Jul. 11, 2018
Fortunately we have been happy with you, we felt the same while we serve you. Thank you for your visit. We wish you the best. Sincerely,Alex,Alfonso & José Manuel.
Read more
Isabell v wrote a review Jun. 2018
Longuich, Germany1264 contributions210 helpful votes
+1
Just by coincidence we stayed here for one night while traveling through the north of Spain and it will definitely not be the last time to be here. It’s a family run business with a very high standard, all rooms are individually decorated with old antique furniture. It is as Spanish as can be , we absolutely loved it.! The diner we had was fantastic , very good kitchen and the atmosphere is just superb. A little place of heaven on earth 😊
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandra P, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria
Responded Jun. 23, 2018
Thank you, it has been a pleasure to serve you. See you soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$237 - US$436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCantabriaAjo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria?
Conveniently located restaurants include Distrito 23, Restaurante Carlos III, and Labu.
Is Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Ajo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Casa-solar de Cubillas-Velez de Hontanilla (3.1 km).
Does Hotel Palacio de la Peña Cantabria have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.